Anyone want to get into a blog war with us?

I’m impressed with how Evan got a ton of traffic from ticking off people like Budgeting in the Fun Stuff.

Is there anyone who would like to get into a fight with us?  We can totally pony up drama for hits!

Ooh ooh, I have an idea– Any dog lovers out there?

Well.

Cats rule!

Dogs drool!

Dogs bark and drool and smell bad.  You have to go home and let them out and they get all sad if you don’t pay attention to them.  Why would anybody have a dog when you can have a cat?

Disagree?  Blog about it and link back here.  I promise we’ll come to a compromise agreement after we’ve had a lively discussion.  ;)

24 Responses to “Anyone want to get into a blog war with us?”

  1. Budgeting in the Fun Stuff Says:

    HAHAHA! Cats suck and make me wheezy. Dogs are sweet and stupid (well, my Pug is…) and meet you at the door like you are made of bacon. :-)

    For what it’s worth, I only linked to Evan once and never used a computer with an Alexa toolbar to visit his site, lol. :-)

  2. Evan Says:

    I have over 350 posts, I have been blogging for 2 years on Thursday…do you really think I wrote this one post for traffic? and from BFS? How the hell would I know that her husband was a teacher and that she would have gotten mad. I don’t think she even ever commented on my site. To top it all off, I don’t think her traffic is that much greater than mine (it is a bit according to alexa rankings, but not by much).

    As you expand beyond 2 months of blogging, and you grow your site you may find that could have unintended consequences like this too.

  3. Evan Says:

    Just checked my stats….

    Since July 22nd when BFS hit the publish button I have seen only 30 some odd visitors lol. That is less than a third of what my site has see this morning and it is only 930am

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Good good, feed that anger, Evan! Blog about how mad you are at us. (Be sure to link back.) :)

    Er, I mean, YES, we TOTALLY think that you wrote that post to get BFS to send traffic your way. She RULES.

    ETA: We’ll take those 30 odd visitors.

  5. Evan Says:

    You could get those 30 odd visitors, write something that someone likes or dislikes.

  6. Financial Samurai Says:

    Huh?

    What’s all the commotion about?

  7. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Make that 31-odd. Looks like we just sent Evan one. And BFS got five. Obviously people want to see pictures of the pug.

    However, they will have to wait until Wednesday. Pictures will appear on http://www.liverealnow.net .

    ETA: Pug pictures are now up: http://liverealnow.net/lets-talk-pets-and-other-unexpected-expenses/

  8. Budgeting in the Fun Stuff Says:

    I know I don’t know y’all but I think I am in love with your snark. :-)

    Nope, I doubt Evan got much help from me and I got very little from his actual site, but I did get a ton of link love from the fact that people got interested and linked from their sites (*wink, wink*). So, thanks!

    Yes, the Pug pics are going to just draw everyone in…*evil laugh*. :-)

  9. dkkd Says:

    dogs can lick their balls. dogs rule.

  10. Donna Freedman Says:

    Right now, it’s a cat that’s drooling: I’m housesitting and my niece’s cat is dripping saliva. Looked it up and it could be illness, gum disease — or happiness. Yes, some cats drool when they’re happy.
    Not too bad except when she shakes herself and cat hair and kitty spit fly all over the laptop. Yuck.
    Oh, and if you want to shake people up, try writing something like this:
    http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/CollegeAndFamily/RaiseKids/why-you-cant-afford-a-dog.aspx
    Currently 1,183 comments are listed. You should see the ones that got deleted. Yikes.

  11. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Donna– don’t tell anyone, but one of our cats drools when she’s happy too.

    New record for hits yesterday. I think this experiment was a success. Thanks everyone for your participation!

  12. Welcome Yakezie members! « Grumpy rumblings of the untenured Says:

    [...] the post you’re interested in: Anyone want to start a blog war? Whose side are you on?  The forces of good (cats) or drool (dogs)?  Do bloggers just do these [...]

  13. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Note to self: controversy produces a spike, but things die down again after a couple days.

  14. Evan Says:

    It is because you produced nothing of value, and did it in a dick-like way (i.e. assuming that I wrote a post to gain .0001% readers over a week’s time).

    If you wanted traffic you should interject with your opinion, rather than just say two bloggers are discussing an issue.

  15. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Oh, Evan, honey, did nobody on that Yakezie group to which you complained about us point out the tongue-in-cheek humor that you are missing? All the other folks who commented obviously got it.

    Or is your calling us dickish and say we produce nothing of value still just playing the game? It is difficult to tell over the internet. A winky face would help.

    Keep being angry though, it brings us hits every time you say something nasty to us. People like drama. Unless all those hits from yesterday and the day before were just you checking up on us, which is possible. Please keep complaining about how awful we are and linking back in your complaints so everybody else can see.

    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve only looked at your blog once… when BFS linked to it and you responded in the comments. I’m not sure if #2 has ever seen your blog. So you got at least one hit from a controversial post being blogged about by another blogger. Availability heuristic, sure. But we’ll take what we can get at this point.

    ETA: In case our opinion wasn’t clear, we are PRO-cat. Cats smell nice and they are clean and soft and cuddly. But not too cuddly.

    ETA#2: Neither of us has a penis. (I’m pretty sure… I haven’t actually checked #2, but she seems to identify female.)

  16. Budgeting in the Fun Stuff Says:

    Does anyone else see the humor of a lawyer disliking how teachers have it made or the fact that the same lawyer is now sparring it out with two untenured professors? I think this is giggle-worthy…

  17. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    He’s a lawyer? Oh man, I thought for sure he was just out of college based on his posts. Now I feel bad because he’s probably like Sheldon on BBT.

    Evan, honey, I’ll spell it out for you. Nobody really thought the only reason you posted about how teachers have it made was so that BFS would read it and link to you. That would be silly. This whole post was a joke and an experiment to see if Google’s recommendation to start a little controversy would provide comments. It did, though we thought it would be controversy from dog lovers. After you got angry, we should have explained it straight out since obviously you weren’t getting the tongue-in-cheek part, despite increasingly broader hints.

    However, that does not excuse your passive-aggressive posting about how much cooler your blog is than either BFS or us. Personally, I think we have plenty of interesting substance and it’s really jerkish to imply that we do not. Yes, thank you for pointing out that we’ve only been around for a couple months and you’ve been around Forever. It is not very classy to point out that the little people are indeed, little people. The penile adverbs are also inappropriate. I do thank you, however, for whining to your Yakezie group because they are pretty darn cool and I think most of them that visited had never heard of us until you complained.

    • Evan Says:

      I have never seen big bang theory so I had to look up the reference lol, not really a huge fan of CBS shows but I recently just started watching How I Met Your Mother with The Wife…NHP rules.

      My blog is not cooler than anyone’s blog. I have a semi-anonymous personal finance blog, where I bitch about taxes and talk about estate planning, I think that is the opposite of cool, and my friends let me know all the time.

  18. Revanche Says:

    Can we all get back on track here? About the dogs and cats, please? I’d like to complain about the lack of photos to back up this “cats rule” thesis.

  19. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Revanche– Complaint noted. Stay tuned tomorrow for PICTURES.

  20. Some people should not be SAHP: A deliberately controverisal post « Grumpy rumblings of the untenured Says:

    [...] But something we’ve noticed recently… not all people are cut out to be stay at home parents (SAHP).  Obviously both of us fit into that category, one because there’s no kids, and the other because she knows it deep down. Also we thought the blog could use a little controversy– it’s been a while since our last big debate. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

