Saturday link love!

I like Dr. Crazy’s new discussion format for these big issues.  But commenting seems like extra work to me!  A good read though.

One of us loves this post on shoes and the other finds it horrific, preferring posts like this one which the other finds horrific.

Nick at step away from the mall had several excellent posts this week.  I’m highlighting this one on not tapping into your 401(k) during bad times.  (I had an interesting conversation with Fidelity this week with the representative lamenting how I couldn’t get a loan on their 403(b) and me explaining how that is a good thing.  We are still allowed hardship withdrawals.)   I encourage you to check out some of his more recent posts too!

I am so glad that the Boxcarkids lady got into a new trailer park.  This one sounds much better and more stable than the ones she had been at before.  Check out the saga starting with this post.

A Gai Shan Life with a vivid reminder on the importance of flossing.

Money Reasons on dream homes.  It’s amazing how what we thought we wanted changes over time.  Do we lose our dreams or just get new ones?

Female Science Prof articulates something that has been bothering me.  What’s with all the suffering academic bloggers?

Someone needs to anonymously send my in-laws this link from Squirrelers on how kids can have fun on the cheap.  You know, like without sending a Wii months away from any holiday giving.

This post on nature vs. nurture from edgeofthewest is something people in my field need to read, along with Failing at Fairness and Why So Slow?.  It’s crazy how many in my profession demand proof for everything, but have some sort of selective blinders when it comes to gender issues.

5 Responses to “Saturday link love!”

  1. Money Reasons Says:

    Thanks for the mention!

    For me, I think my dreams start out as huge mountains, but reality slowly errodes them away to a more affordable rock that I can buy…

    When I was a young child, my dreams were from the heart, pure, magical and very unrealistic. Now that I’m older, my dreams have price tags associated with them. Most are just beyond my current financial reach, but entirely possible in a decade or so.

  2. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    For me I think I only thought of the pros and not the cons… No thoughts of drafts or cleaning (or dealing with cleaners) or upkeep etc. Or how I like being cozy close to my immediate family now. As a child I wanted to be able to hide– as a parent I want to be aware of where the children are.

  3. Squirrelers Says:

    Thanks for including me in your roundup. Feel free to show your inlaws the article:)

  4. Nick Says:

    Thanks for the mention!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

