Sometimes I feel like this is my life

http://xkcd.com/386/

There are way too many people who are dead certain that they are 100% right even though they know nothing on the topic except what “feels” right. It hurts. It makes me sad.

But I have to remember, I can’t save everyone. I can save some portion of my students. I can talk to reporters. I can occasionally insert words of wisdom on someone else’s blog… but I’m not getting paid to explain theory X or empirical evidence Y to random strangers on the internets who probably won’t listen anyway. Especially not once they find out I’m a girl (shockers!… when that tidbit of info came out on the Chronicle forum people started treating me differently…with less respect). Time is valuable and no matter how wrong people are on the internet, my sleep is more important.

4 Responses to “Sometimes I feel like this is my life”

  1. Molly On Money Says:

    I live in a town where mysticism and misinformation flourish. It ranges health remedies to diets to how your life is being destroyed because your house is not facing the proper direction. I try to take it in with a bit of humor but it can be trying at times.

  2. Rumpus Says:

    This post reminds me of why I don’t let any politics get discussed in my classes. Misinformation is extremely difficult to cure/combat, especially when the person is convinced that they aren’t misinformed…and so any disagreement anyone may have with them is ideological, not factual. I have a hard enough time convincing them of the facts in the textbook that were demonstrated by countless people for the past hundreds of years.

  3. Money Reasons Says:

    I know what you mean! Some people put out their belief and refuse to see the issue from a different angle! They are doomed to believe that their way is the only right way until they die. For example, “Golf is stupid” they may exclaim, but at the same time they haven’t ever played it before!

    I read a lot of statistics (love them actually), but lately, Sam @ Financial Samurai has made me question some of the statistics (or should I say propaganda) that I read. While some sources are better than others, none are bulletproof because of the many, many variables! What might be true in New York, might not be necessarily true where I live…

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    MR– I’ve played mini-golf– does that count?

    Sam @ Financial Samurai sure is good at stirring up controversy. I sometimes wonder if he believes half the things he posits. They do make for interesting posts!

    Rumpus– I totally hear you on that.

    MOM– I hear you on that too! Hopefully no blue children in your town, though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

