What am I soon about to have been reading lately?

AKA, Library Haul.  These are books that I just got from the campus library, which soon will be my “I’m reading these lately”.  Having a library at your workplace is one of the perks of academia.  I figure, they sure as hell don’t pay us, so I might as well take advantage of all the perks.

I wandered in for one thing.  This is why I need to order from the card catalog online, because I end up with more books than I can carry across campus.  I came out with two things for work, and also these (what can I say, I was near the short-story section):

Something I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You: Thirteen Stories by Alice Munro

I Know You Are But What Am I? by Heather Birrell

Frederica by Georgette Heyer. I’ve never read anything of hers. This one has a plain brown cover.  heh.

ETA:  I managed to get through it pretty quickly.  So wonderful!  The first chapter is rather thick going but once the titular Frederica shows up, the book turns into the most delightful romp.  It’s like Jane Austen but much funnier.

The Wimsey Family, by C. W.  Scott-Giles:  The fictional history of fictional detective Peter Wimsey’s ancestors

Nerve, by Genevieve Field and Rufus Griscom

Lirael by Garth Nix. I liked Sabriel, so I’m trying more of this author. (#2 says:  I have all three of these– DH bought them in a box set.  I will get to them eventually.  Still trying to finish off Surfing Samurai Robots, ‘cuz that’s about where I am mentally right now…)

also, Mister Monday: Keys to the Kingdom, Book 1 by Nix.

How They Met and Other Stories, by David Levithan. I love his other stuff.

Finally, Xanadu, Vol. 2 and Xanadu 3, edited by Jane Yolen.

Plus, of course I have some other things to read, too. Weekend, here I come!

#2 says:  My current University library books are all for work.  I’ve got… Finding Flow, Cults, Brainwashing, a book about designing video games, some books #1 recommended on how to be a good worker-bee…  I really hope this project gets off the ground because this stuff is probably not generally useful to my field of study (other than the workerbee stuff).  I don’t ever browse though… it’s too hard to get to the library so I do all my ordering online.  I did recently order (from the uni library), read, and enjoy The Brontes Went to Woolworths , as recommended by Dame Eleanor Hull.

6 Responses to “What am I soon about to have been reading lately?”

  1. Everyday Tips Says:

    I am hitting the library tonight and need to find something to read. I think I am going to try something completely new. Therefore, I don’t know what I am going to read next! :)

  2. Donna Freedman Says:

    I just received a copy of “How to Survive a Garden Gnome Attack.”
    Admit it: You wish you were me. (Or a garden gnome.)

  3. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    Ohai! I totes has to read the Wimsey bk kthxbai


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

