Welcome Get Rich Slowly Readers!

Please, leave comments and say hi!

Posts you may find of interest:

Why I’m in no hurry to become a millionaire.

Why you should read Your Money or Your Life.

Optimizing isn’t always optimal. Satisfice– it’s nice!

What’s your cooking system?

Don’t *just* prepay the mortgage.

It’s ok to buy a new car, or a used one.  This one doesn’t have the predicted 200+ comments yet– please spend some time explaining your point of view!

We have a lot of “stop feeling guilty and relax” posts… here’s why we think they’re popular

Our most commented on post is really just a series of questions on how balanced personal finance bloggers are allowed to be, but the comments are incredibly thought provoking.  So read it for the comments even if the post is kind of post-lite.

There’s a lot more personal finance posts in here (generally on Mondays, but here and there throughout the week), please poke around and enjoy!  We’re very excited you’re visiting.

11 Responses to “Welcome Get Rich Slowly Readers!”

  1. Molly On Money Says:

    Congratulations! It’s a great post over at GRS!

  2. First Gen American Says:

    I went over, read and commented. I liked the article…although it did give me flashbacks to some very slimy salesmen experiences I had when I was shopping.

    I by the way agree with you about buying new (if you plan on keeping the car a decade or so).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We tend to keep our cars until the cost of repairing is greater than the cost of buying the same model that isn’t broken (if that makes sense).

      I’m reading Influence right now for work, and the chapter on commitment and consistency is very eye-opening (also flash-backy). There’s a lot of sleezy things they do.

  3. Jacq @ Single Mom Rich Mom Says:

    Congrats Nicole! I really did enjoy the post – it felt like I was right there with you beating down those slimy salespeople. Vicarious thrills!

    I’m with First Gen, I like buying new vehicles and I need reliability more than anything. I’m willing to pay a premium for that. And then I get attached to the darn things (the devil I know) and don’t want to give them up.

    I really enjoyed your other articles you link to here – thanks for bringing up the oldies but goodies. I wish I’d found your blog when you started writing instead of having to troll through your archives. Do you have a widgety thing that shows related posts someone might like that are related?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      WordPress comes with that widget, but if you don’t have a lot of posts, it will recommend posts from other blogs. I’m not sure about getting one that does just ours. #2 is really our technology person and she has a cold. :(

  4. Money Reasons Says:

    You post at GRS was both a bit scary and very funny at the same time! I’m glad the accident wasn’t bad from an injury standpoint!

    Excellent job!!!

  5. Bryan Says:

    Hi Nicole,

    We are about to venture into negotiating for a new car based on your post. We already did our test drives since we were trying to decide between three cars; we settled on the RAV4. If you don’t mind, I have a few questions about your process:
    How did you get the email addresses for all of the dealers in your area? Did you just find the email for the GSM? I can find all of the dealers on the Toyota.com site but that seems like I will have to email them all individually using their preset form. Is that how you did it? And then did you collect the email addresses from those that responded to pit their prices against one another? This all makes me apprehensive since I just don’t trust car salespeople at all. Did you ultimately walk in with a check for the car (from the Credit Union loan)?

    Not sitting in that chair dealing with a salesman sounds too good to be true, but we’re giving it a shot! Thank you!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’m pretty sure we got that info from the Honda site. Once we got a number, we emailed everybody again. We sent individual emails, but you could try mass emailing. My worry with mass emailing would be that they might contact each other.

      We kept emailing individually until someone dropped out.

      We had an agreement with the credit union, but did all the check work the next day. Basically they couldn’t transfer the money to our account until we’d agreed on a car, but it all worked out smoothly.

      • Bryan Says:

        I have been compiling email addresses of the General Sales Managers for our local dealerships. I will send individual emails. I really hope that this works. Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

