Non-stinky Linkies

Anne Bronte was awesome and so is this comic strip.

Seriously?  Using test bank questions is lazy and short-changes students?    My stats book has some clever and thought-provoking suggested exam questions, and I USE them.  And my tests are better for them.  (For the sections where their questions aren’t so great, I do come up with my own.)  And, perhaps even worse, I put a HOMEWORK question on the exam, usually one that most students missed the first time around.  Boice says let others do the work for you (especially when it increases quality), and yea verily, I DO.

In the line of not pretending that we’re all holier-than-thou profs, Dr. Crazy has a nice commentary on the ranting professor that’s been going around the internets.

I know we said we weren’t touching the monetary worth of MFA programs with a ten-foot pole.  But, it’s ok if Scalzi is holding the pole.

Oh Hyperbole and a Half, you CRACK ME UP.

Everyday Tips starts off a new series on dumb things people do. This will be a nice complement to Squirrlers Squirreling gone wild series.

Frugal Scholar explains why many of us don’t use coupons.  And no, it isn’t because they don’t make them for anything we buy (though that is also often true).

We were on this week’s Carnival of Personal Finance hosted by Simply Forties.

And as always, check out Money Reasons’ Saturday comic strip.

We’ve both been kind of bowled over by trying to get everything ready for the week before Thanksgiving and the last bit of class that comes right after (plus service etc.)  There’s a ton of stuff we’re missing!

15 Responses to “Non-stinky Linkies”

  1. Everyday Tips Says:

    Thanks for deeming my link not to stink!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. undine Says:

    I don’t use coupons because they’re all for prepared food and other things I don’t buy.

  3. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Hyperbole and a Half is totally [censored]en hilarious! The latest one that you linked is very insightful about dogge psychology. Everything for them is about the here and now.

  4. frugalscholar Says:

    Wow–thanks for the mention. As for test bank questions: many textbook companies are creating and grading on-line tests. Too much of this and administrators and legislators might wonder: why do we need teachers?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Perhaps #1 would like to say something about this point — there is a lot of stuff to say — but #2 here is just too effing wiped out from this week to get into the fray. And there’s enough fray at my own school to deal with someone else’s. However, if you want to start an insightful and well-argued discussion here in the comments, please feel free!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        #2: Are tests really what teachers are there to provide? Tests and grading? I thought teachers were supposed to help students to learn and think critically. The only point of a test is to get a student to study. A good test will bring together ideas across the course. My stats textbook comes with some excellent questions that help promote that ideal. So I use them. My exams are not 100% text book test bank questions but I see no reason not to use good exam questions that are specifically tailored to the textbook I’m using.

        In some other countries and in our university-level military academies, professors are there solely to provide teaching and the entire assessment portion of the learning experience comes from general exams with general graders. They still need the professors there because most kids can’t teach themselves from the textbook.

  5. Valerie Says:

    I have to respectfully disagree on coupons. I had this coupon experience for awhile (forgetting coupons, expired coupons, etc) until I decided to try some simple organization with my coupons. Coupons save us a buttload, even though my husband and I are borderline health-nuts who are definitely on the low end of processed food eating. (We cook from scratch almost every night!) We use them quite a bit at the drug stores, and we also use them at the grocery store. We use coupons regularly for non-sugar cereal (i.e. cheerios), spices, milk and soy milk, yogurt, sour cream, frozen vegetables, canned tomatoes and beans, and baking items (i.e. sugar, flour). We throw out the coupons for all the crap we don’t eat (like tv dinners and crazy colored sugar fruit roll up things).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I did an experiment the other year when GRS was pushing the coupons and swore that coupons for whatever I bought were available online. I did find coupons online for the milk we bought, but nothing else. Our grocery store has stopped carrying that milk (we’re buying store-brand organic now), so we’re back to a whole lot of effort for not much use. I think coupon availability must vary by geographic region. (Our newspaper and mailed insert coupons are 100% things we would never buy.)

      • danserval Says:

        Good point. Only some of my coupons are newspaper inserts.

        I actually just made my grocery list for tomorrow, and I have newspaper coupons to use to peanut butter, cheese, king arthur flour, frozen vegetables, evaporated milk (baking), mccormick’s spices, total cereal, and aluminum foil. online or other randoms for greek yogurt, cream cheese, strawberries, and coke zero. (We don’t have a store brand organic milk, only “hormone free”, so we use coupons for the name brand and soy milk, as well, all from online).

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Our middle of rural nowhere doesn’t even sell many of the above. I refuse to buy Horizon milk, the only name-brand organic they stock, so the fact that Horizon has coupons doesn’t matter.

        There are good sales for Thanksgiving even without coupons. It’s a good time to stock up.

      • danserval Says:

        ah, the places we live, thanks to the location of universities!

  6. Rumpus Says:

    Must close browser and step away from the computer. Some links may be too funny for popular consumption.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

