RBORant

  • Dear people on Etsy:  I don’t think “upcycled” means what you think it means.
  • Dear people on Craigslist: “vintage” and “antique” are not quite the same as “old and gross”.  Likewise “shabby chic”.
  • Canvas grocery bags shrink a lot in the wash.
  • Even if you have decided you don’t want the job, it is probably not a good idea to go to the dinner pre-drunk and start with the f-word every third sentence (even if you’re CPP!).  Bonus points for not telling your dinner companions what you think of them before dessert comes.
  • Not a rant:  But I kind of like being busy but not stressed.  (It’s the busy and stressed or not busy and stressed that I hate!)
  • DC sings “Why why why why” to the tune of frere Jacques.  Hir favorite word, even when spoken not sung.
  • Ranting against negativity is astonishingly negative.
  • A relative paid for a year of storage.  Finally he went to the facility to take stuff out… and he ended up just tossing it all because he didn’t want any of it anymore.  It was all junk he was storing for no reason.  (Well, junk and the comic books DH had forgotten he’d lent him and had wondered what happened to… that was a nice reunion)
  • I hate it when famous people scoop me on research I’ve been working on for a long time.  I’m so fricking slow.  I hate it.  Hate.
  • But I’m lazy and that sucks too.
  • As do teaching
  • and service
  • and people who try to guilt trip me into thinking there’s something wrong with resenting the massive amounts of time the aforementioned two sucks take
8 Responses to “RBORant”

  1. Everyday Tips Says:

    My rant would be about holiday drivers. I thought this season was supposed to bring joy. Instead it brings out the insanity of all the other drivers. I saw one guy get out of his card and screaming at another guy, in traffic.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That’s scary!

      Yesterday while driving home, traffic was moving at 35 mph on a 40 mph 8 lane road and there was a red light up ahead with cars stopping. Because my brakes are not as good as the brakes on an F150, I left a generous 2 car lengths in front of me because I was going to have to stop anyway. The SUV behind me honked and honked and finally passed me on the right, ducking in and out of the right lane like a jerk… and then immediately stopped at the red light. Eventually I pulled into the left lane to make my turn and noticed I was way far ahead of the impatient SUV, as traffic in the main lanes was still going at 35 mph.

      I also have a rant at JD from Get Rich Slowly. Countries are not people! You tax and don’t spend when times are good. You spend and don’t tax when times are bad. It’s the opposite of people. Governments live longer than people. When you’re an expert, don’t talk about things like an expert when it’s a subject you don’t know anything about.

      Disclaimer: I love JD at GRS, but he hit a pet peeve, and as he is someone who holds a lot of sway on money matters that is especially irritating.

  2. First Gen American Says:

    My rant is that I realize now why I put off all those annoying little errands til the end of the year..because they take forever. It took 2 days and probably 4 hours to get my oil changed and new tires put on my car. I hit 3 places, no one had the tires in stock. Actually quite a few things have been stocked out lately. I feel bad for the last minute shoppers as they’re outa luck on a lot of things.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Ha! I got my tires replaced day before yesterday. It is definitely errand season. Just got back from a 2+
      hour errand running trip…

      And another crazy driver tried to pass me on the right in my lane 20 miles over the speed limit when the two lanes were merging into one lane. It was scary! What is WITH people?

      • First Gen American Says:

        People are definitely on edge. I hope to spend as little time out as possible from now til after the holidays. I had a lady yell at me for blocking her way to the shopping carts as I was trying to put my kid in the carriage. It literally took less than 10 seconds, but she was ready for a fight. I ignored her and she looked like one of those crazy people yelling in the air.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        At the grocery store yesterday some older lady cut in front of us at the pastry counter and bought the two last of two different desserts (one of which we wanted). She was kind of mean about it too.

  3. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Don’t be such a [censored]en tight-asse. Just because people say [censored]e a lotte doesn’t mean jack [censored]e!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

