Fine, fine: a very special link love.

I think Bardiac has read my mind.

The super-haters make a bad name for the regular-haters from Roxie’s World.

Thoughtful money analogies from Mutantsupermodel.

Congratulations to eemusings!

Academic readers!!!  Small Steps for Big Change has been offered the chair position at her school and NEEDS YOUR ADVICE.  I’m inclined to say no, but I’m also not that experienced.  (It’s a university that doesn’t give tenure too, just 5 year contracts.)

Grading. We hates it.  From Proflikesubstance.

We sort of got addicted to I Love Charts.

A neat older article on four year olds in kindergarten.

Frugal Forties with a rant on people who fool themselves with no-spend challenges.  Some folks spend a heck of a lot more than we do in regular months with lame justifications during their no-spend challenges.

This here is why we are feminists. We usually try to stay away from religion and politics on this blog, because that’s not the kind of noise we are making here. But come on.  A group of men and boys allegedly gang-raped an 11-year-old girl, and then passed around photos and videos of it.  As if child-rape and public degradation weren’t bad enough, the media have to be evil about it.  Why is anyone, anywhere, in any context, reporting things like:

how could their young men have been drawn into such an act?

“It’s just destroyed our community,” said Sheila Harrison, 48, a hospital worker who says she knows several of the defendants. “These boys have to live with this the rest of their lives.” [Right. The BOYS have to live with the outcome. Sure.]

Also,

They said she dressed older than her age, wearing makeup and fashions more appropriate to a woman in her 20s. She would hang out with teenage boys at a playground, some said. “Where was her mother? What was her mother thinking?” said Ms. Harrison, one of a handful of neighbors who would speak on the record.
[Hey, we can blame men's behavior on multiple women at once! Score!]

This sickens us.  Frankly, we blame the patriarchy.

Also, don’t forget to Spring Forward this weekend! As if I needed to miss more sleep right now. ARGH!

15 Responses to “Fine, fine: a very special link love.”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    If she takes the chair position, there is a decent chance she will be killing her research program.

  2. bogart Says:

    I guess I am grateful that there exist cellphones that video, and people dumb enough to record themselves (allegedly) engaged in brutal and criminal acts. But, oh, how horrible. Yes, I too, BTP for this sort of thing … not sure what else to blame.

  3. First Gen American Says:

    Ugh. I heard about that horrible story, but I didn’t realize people were blaming the girl. How sickening.

  4. Frugal Forties Says:

    Thanks for the link back to my rant. ;)

    The rape in Texas just makes me incredibly sad. I lived in that part of Texas for a long time and I still have family and friends there. I used to drive thru Cleveland at least once a week, if not more.

    I agree that the NYT piece was incredibly poor journalism, but unfortunately that part of the state is also full of people who truly think that way (one reason I no longer live there). I guarantee you that there are preachers in various churches there who are talking about the poor young men who were “led astray” by Satan in the form of a young girl who dressed beyond her age. It’s truly heartbreaking.

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Thanks for the link =)

    That kindergarten piece is a twisty one for me. I was the youngest in my class (August baby). I didn’t really care or notice until about 4th or 5th grade when all the other girls started developing and I totally didn’t. Not only was I the youngest, but I was a late bloomer. I endured a LOT of torture because of it.
    All three of my kids are summer babes (two in June, one in August). Funny enough, the oldest (August) is back a year not because we chose him to be but because the PK 4 class was full when we decided to stick him in school. So we put him in PK 3. The kindergarten at the school is TOUGH and he was no way ready for that. Well he’s kicking butt academically. We’ve not really done sports. After he’s done with second grade, they’ll consider skipping him forward. I’m personally glad we took this route but we’ll see how it pans out. The other two are the youngest. My daughter had a vicious time in PK3 but is now exceling. The baby has no idea what’s going on ;) Should be an interesting thing to watch unfold. At least as far as my daughter is concerned, I have the benefit of knowing what it’s like to be the youngest in a class and not hitting puberty when everyone else does if that pans out.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

