My (1990s) roots are showing

Apparently I accidentally talk about butts when I’m lecturing.

For example, last semester I made a statement, waited for the students to write it down, and while they were writing I wanted to qualify the statement and added the caveat, “But there’s a but at the end… which is where butts usually are…”  There were giggles.

Not as many giggles, though, as there were the other night in my class when I got all punchy.  Again, I made a statement which was not the whole story (will I ever learn?).  I said, “There’s a big but here.  I like big buts.  And I cannot lie…”  Lots of laughter.  Well, once I had started it, I felt the need to continue.  Sometimes I find myself in the middle of a sentence that I know sounds bad and the only way out is to deliberately make it sound worse.  It cheers my ancient granite heart that the students of today still caught my cultural reference from oh-so-long-ago.


(Sir Mix-a-Lot is against silicone implants!)

#2 whines:  My students don’t get my 1990s references.  I had to dig up the Log song from Ren and Stimpy on youtube because they thought I was crazy when I started singing it.  They still think I’m crazy, but at least they know I didn’t make it up.  They’re also starting to not get some of my Colbert Report references that students got when I first started teaching.  I’m getting old.  Butt it adds to my charm, right?  Oh, and generally about one person per semester gets my super nerd jokes… like the one about fighting the gazebo… or when I quote Adam from MythbustersPatience, how long will that take?  That sort of thing.

Have you ever said anything very awkward in front of a group of people?  Of course you have.  Tell us about it.

17 Responses to “My (1990s) roots are showing”

  1. Everyday Tips Says:

    It is good that the talents of Sir Mix-a-lot are timeless. My kids all know the song too because if it comes on, the radio has to be turned up louder!

    I don’t think what you have said is awkward at all. I would have appreciated it as a student because God knows I had a hard time paying attention in class.

    I know I have put my foot in my mouth about a billion times, but I don’t have a good story popping into my head. I will come back if I remember one.

  2. First Gen American Says:

    The irony is that none of the girls in the video actually have big butts.

    I don’t think I could be a lecturer. I’m sure I’d have way too many quotable things that’d get me in trouble.

    I’m doing a little math here. What year were your students born…90′s right?

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    I like the Jonathan Coulton version:

  4. Spanish Prof Says:

    Big awkward moment:

    As you know, English is not my native language. My first semester at my current (and religious) institution, I teaching a language class and we are talking about sports. I say (in English): “I don’t do extreme sports because I’m a pussy”. Silence…Silence…Giggles…And I hear a female student say in a low voice: “She said pussy…(more giggles)”

    How my age is showing:

    In 2002, as a TA, I told my class that I had seen Nirvana in concert, live, in Buenos Aires. Half the class had no idea who Nirvana was, a few were impressed, and a student commented: “That’s so cool. My uncle told me he saw ‘The Doors’ live. Did you see them too?” I had to explain her that Jim Morrison was dead before I was born.

  5. Lindy Mint Says:

    You guys sound like my husband. He teaches night classes and is forever saying strange things in his punchiness. But his students love him nonetheless.

    Speaking of age, he teaches a Rock History class, and has recently started having students who had never heard of Kurt Cobain.

  6. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Sir Mix-A-Lot is badass!!

  7. julier Says:

    After chatting with my undergraduate minion, it was time to get back to work so I told her, “it’s time to make the donuts.” She looked at me like I had 3 heads.

  8. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    Yesterday I was trying to talk about Caxton, but one of my students had just mentioned Chaucer. “So, when Chausston published . . . no, I mean Caxter . . . arrrgh . . . ” That’s a pretty mild example. But pretty typical.

  9. Molly On Money Says:

    Lately anything that comes out of my mouth is perceived as embarrassing and awkward to my kids. I’m not even allowed to dance to the music at the grocery store (oh yeah, I do it anyways). My kids really try and hold me back, I tell ya!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

