What have we been reading lately?

Lots of Georgette Heyer.  She continues to be AWESOME.  Couldn’t get into False Colours but enjoyed The Tollgate after reading Charity Girl!  Loved The Convenient Marriage (which is very similar to, but somewhat different from, April Lady).  Why Shoot a Butler? is ok, but the main character is kind of a jerk.

Pride of Baghdad by Brian K. Vaughan  (click on book covers for linky!)

In the Stacks: Stories about Libraries and Librarians edited by Michael Cart

My Point… and I do have one by Ellen DeGeneres

Wolf Hunting by Jane Lindskold.  I came in at the middle of this series but I like it quite a bit.

the Bernie Rhodenbarr series by Lawrence K. Block

I Shall Wear Midnight by Terry Pratchett.  Tiffany Aching’s deepest and darkest and most enticing book yet.

PG Wodehouse populates my kindle.  The juvenalia is awful and was deleted (I already read it once in libraryback and it wasn’t worth it) but there’s still a few gems in his early stuff.

Once again… don’t let me go to the library alone!

23 Responses to “What have we been reading lately?”

  1. Jacq @ Single Mom Rich Mom Says:

    This is the year when I read all of the free books that I got when I bought my kindle. I appear to have stalled at War and Peace. Very disheartening to read for 1/2 hour and only go up in completion by 1-2%.
    Others on the go:
    Made to Stick
    P.D. James novel
    Drive
    Naked, Drunk and Writing
    In the queue:
    Laura Lippman’s backlist (just became acquainted with her this year)
    And some publisher contacted me to do a review of Geneen Roth’s new book on money for ze blog. Which should be interesting since I don’t really read financial type books anymore. I still feel kinda like I should review Early Retirement Extreme’s book on early retirement, but it’s kind of got that War and Peace thing going on too.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I STRONGLY recommend the Mary Roberts Reinhart selections. I’ve been reading a lot of cheesy early 20th/late 19th century romances. And children’s books. And Booth Tarkington. :)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I read the Early Retirement Extreme book. I feel no compunction to review it.

      I also stalled out on War & Peace. Other people tell me it’s good but I just don’t see it. I read about 40% of the way through, which in my edition was over 500 pages, and then I just couldn’t make myself care anymore.

    • Kathryn C Says:

      I love made to stick!
      simple, unexpected, concrete, credible, story…….that’s all I think about when trying to communicate something. dorkyness is seeping out of me now.

      Nake Drunk and Writing sounds good….adding to my wish list.

  2. Linda Says:

    I’m so far behind what “everyone” is reading. My last book (The Alienist) and my current one (Freakonomics) were published at least 10 years ago. But I’m reading on the cheap and relying on a library system where new books require long waiting lists or buying stuff that’s less than $9 from the ebook stores. (I also have a strong contrary streak and if I think something is immensely popular it must be dreck; it took me quite a while to give The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo series a try and it was riveting!)

    I love your book posts! They turn me on to new reads and help me maintain a healthy reading wish list. Thanks!

  3. Frugal Forties Says:

    I’m a huge GH fan… love her work.

    The Bernie Rhodenbarr books are great too .. if you like those, try Lawrence Block’s Matthew Scudder novels. They’re very different in a lot of ways – grimmer – but the quality of the writing and the stories are fantastic.

    If you like GH/history romance kinds of things, check out Jean Plaidy who also wrote under the names Victoria Holt and Philippa Carr. Her Jean Plaidy stuff is all based around various royal dynasties in England and is pretty historically sound, although fictionalized in detail, of course. Her stuff as Philippa Carr is more true fiction set in historical periods in England. She’s prolific under all her names, so if you can find her stuff, it’ll keep you busy for a long time! :)

  4. Frugal Forties Says:

    Oh and if you can find it, my all time favorite Heyer Regency is The Unknown Ajax. The two main characters are my favorites of hers.

  5. Everyday Tips Says:

    I am currently reading a book with Edgar Sawtelle in the title, and Half Broke Horses is waiting for me…

  6. julier Says:

    I just finished reading the Hungry Monkey by Matthew Amster-Burton, and now I am cooking my way through the recipes. I have loved all the ones (3 so far) that I’ve tried.

    I’m currently working on Tortall and Other Lands, which is a collection of short stories by Tamora Pierce. Over all it rates a solid – meh.

    Next up? The new Tiffany Aching book. And then? Well, I’m currently waiting for all of my favorite authors (Laurie R King, Gail Carriger, and Jacqueline Winspear, to name a few) to publish something new. I will either have to find some new favorite authors or resort to reading journal articles for work.

  7. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    I could write a book called “In The Stacks”.

  8. First Gen American Says:

    I’m reading pride and prejudice and zombies. I believe it was based off of one of your book recommendations. Fun.

  9. ABDMama Says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! Clearly I have a lot to learn from you. How do you find the time to read so much? I’m up on a deadline, but have Franklin & Eleanor By: Hazel Rowley and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay By: Michael Chabon on my shelf right now.

    Always love to get new recommendations, so looking forward to reading your blog. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

