We love RBOC

  • It is scary when you pick up your phone and the person says “Hi, I’m calling from the State’s Attorney General’s office” and then one of your colleagues suddenly appears at the door looking nervous and frantically gesturing at you.
  • Turns out ze had a statistics question.  But I thought I was seriously in trouble… I’m like… but state income tax isn’t due yet… And that’s not the right office anyway…
  • A highlight for the week:  They fixed the lever on the toilet near my office so it now flushes with minimal rather than maximal effort.  Previously it had to be at exactly the right angle and pressure.
  • One of the secretaries asked if I was pregnant.  I hope she doesn’t know something I don’t know (update:  she didn’t).  In retrospect, I probably should have waited until she left the break room before taking a second free sandwich.  (I accidentally left my lunch and snacks at home in the kitchen, so I was stocking up for my afternoon snack and I’d missed my morning snack.)
  • How can a kid safely get through babyhood and toddlerhood without ever sticking things where they don’t belong, then suddenly decide to stick a bead up hir nose?  (And yes, I know I did the same thing with a pea at this age, but that doesn’t make it any less stupid.)  And why decide to discover this right before bedtime?  Guess we’ll find out how much general anesthesia costs in an emergency room …  Update:  The anesthesia itself wasn’t expensive, but the entire experience $1300 for us, $3000 bill to the insurance company.  (And yes, this is the first year I’ve had the high deductible insurance.)
  • The patriarchy ticks me off.  I would please like my senior male colleagues to stop telling me I need to have another baby, especially in front of job market candidates.
  • Also, if I dislike a candidate, it is not because I need to, “soften up.”  Thank you very much.  Just because said (tall white male) candidate fawned all over you (and somehow, coincidentally over the entire search committee), doesn’t mean I was the only person who thinks he was an asshat.  Because I wasn’t the only person he was an asshat to.  The fact that the only people he was an asshat to are females and minorities not on the search committee, maybe, just maybe, says more about the candidate than it does about females and minorities.
  • Shedding = extra kitty love.  And little leftover kitties made of nothing but fur.
Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 17 Comments »

17 Responses to “We love RBOC”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    Mine stuck a screw up his nose during a timeout in his bedroom. It was his form of rebellion..then it got stuck, then the ER..Luckily it stopped all oriface games and wasn’t serious. Mine only set my back $50. My friend’s kid had something lodged in his ear for god knows how long. They didn’t find it til his annual exam.

    Yup, seems like all kids do it.

  2. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    The patriarchy ticks me off. I would please like my senior male colleagues to stop telling me I need to have another baby, especially in front of job market candidates.

    That is absolutely disgusting. And I get that people are gonna be f***en pigges, but how can they be so motherf***en *ignorant* as to not know that you can’t say shitte like that?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah. At some point I will bring it up with one of them, but I’m still steaming about the needing to soften up comment. Seriously, the guy was (and probably still is) an asshat. Thankfully he was lying about us being his only option and ended up using our offer as leverage to add something like 30K to the salary at the place he did take. A move that convinced some other folks that perhaps he actually is an asshat and we had a narrow escape. (As one of my colleagues put it, “He would have brought much needed diversity to the department, as we have zero representation of the a**hole demographic.”)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Another random thought. I actually like my department chair MORE after serving on a search committee with him and eating countless job applicant meals with him. His behavior is professional and appropriate. No illegal questions, nothing inappropriate about anybody’s personal life, just lots of talking about statistics, food, restaurants, academia etc. Very pleasant… and we came up with a collaborative teaching thing during one of these meals (my students are doing a project for him right now as a class assignment).

        In contrast, it’s going to be a long time before I will want to actually seek out time with the folks who are supposed to be my faculty mentors because I am so sick of their inappropriate work behavior.

        Job searches can really bring out the worst in people, but happily that is not universally true. The difference in this case at least is level of professionalism.

      • Debbie M Says:

        I laughed aloud at that diversity quote.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        So did I! And I was glad it was not me who was saying it.

  3. Dr. Sneetch Says:

    Mine swollowed a penny. Got a nice xray of it too. Watched the poop super carefully for days. Never saw it. Did it come out? Is it still inside? Don’t know.

  4. Spanish Prof Says:

    Talking about patriarchy:

    Luckily, the only time where the issue of having children comes up is when I go to the OB/GYN, and she keeps insisting that if I want to have children, now is the time (I’m 35). None of my colleagues says anything about it.

    Last night, my husband and I were talking about frat boys and sorority girls. The institution where I work doesn’t have them (great thing), but where I did my PhD was huge on it. I was telling my husband that I don’t know why, maybe because patriarchy has somehow subtly colonized my unconscious, but that as a TA, I always got along better with frat boys than with sorority girls. It was almost instinctual on my side, I just could not stand sorority girls. I learn to get along fine with frat boys. No idea why.

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Mine also swallowed a penny and it came out on Dad’s watch (ha).

    Next time one of them tells you how much you need to have a baby remind them they need to schedule their annual prostate exam. At their age, it’s essential!

  6. SonyaAnn Says:

    My son swallowed a penny, good news I had no idea about it until I found it in his diaper. At least, I didn’t have to sweat that one!
    Lots of crazy stuff going on!

  7. An Aimless Dose Of Random | Minting Nickels Says:

    [...] post was inspired by Grumpy Rumblings’ RBOC (Random Bullets of Crap), 101 Centavos‘ Random Tips and Notes, and the everyday random stylings of the wonderful Meg [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

