Monthly challenge update: old and new

So the monthly challenge for May was to clean and organize my house FOR REAL. I’ve been posting updates along the way, and it’s been going pretty well.  It helped that the semester was winding down; so, though there was some craziness, there was also some time.

Originally this challenge had been scheduled later in the summer, but things got moved around for an exciting reason: my longtime partner is moving to Blighted Town!  Hooray, we will be together again!  I can’t even TELL you how happy we are.  He’s going to work remotely at his current job while living with me.  It only took a few years to make this work out, augh.

What this means, though, is that I have to move to a bigger place in Blighted Town, as he won’t fit in my current place, especially with two home offices to account for.  We’ve already found a big place to rent, but you know how moving is: craziness.  That’s why I’ve spent May trying to organize, clean, and cull stuff, so there is less to pack in the next 6 weeks.

Next up is June, CSA month!  Deliveries actually started in late May but since I’m on a half-share, I will get them every other week throughout the summer and early fall, not every week.  The first delivery I had, I managed to use it all (largely by cooking it down and freezing it in lunch-portions for later).  This is good, as it gives me more time to complete the goals!

#2:  Still drowning in tenure-related activities.  And there’s a small conference I’m going to in my specific field subset after my tenure-packet is due.  I sent in a partly-done paper figuring it wouldn’t get accepted (because my much more polished work that has placed well never got accepted) but I’d still get an invite… and uh, it got accepted.  If I can pull off not looking like an idiot this will be great for my career, but if I can’t it could be deadly.  But I’m totally looking forward to joining #1 for the money challenge later this summer.  I have a ton of odds and ends I’ve been putting off!

24 Responses to “Monthly challenge update: old and new”

  1. eemusings Says:

    WOOOOT! I am so happy for you. I start a new job next week that will give me normal hours and allow me to actually spend time with my partner, so to a lesser degree I totally feel your joy right now.

  2. Molly On Money Says:

    YEAH! I know from experience how sucky it can be to have your partner far away. I think moving is the only ‘real’ way I can get rid of my stuff. I need to move! Good luck!

  3. leightpf Says:

    Yay for your partner moving to your town!! Good luck with the move, but it’ll all be worth it once your partner is there!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It will. That’s what I keep telling myself. I hope it keeps me calmer and less crazy than the last time I moved (away from partner!). Packing is horrible but it’s for a great cause!

  4. bogart Says:

    Yay! Delightful news. Congratulations on becoming a one household household.

  5. hush Says:

    Hooray for long-term partner’s move to Blighted Town! “Reee-uu-niii-ted and it feels so goooood….”

  6. KH Says:

    Whooo hooo! Congrats on finally getting to be in the same location at the same time! :) I lived the long distance relationship thing for many years and I know how draining it can be.

    Sympathies on the moving though. Moving sucks. Every time I do it, I swear that it will be the last time. I’m 7 years into my current place and so far it’s stuck. :)

    Good luck with the tenure stuff and the presentation. I knew from the beginning that I never wanted to go into academia but every single one of my high school and college friends has fought or is fighting the tenure battle. I know how involved, time consuming, and frustrating it can be.

  7. Everyday Tips Says:

    That is great that you two can live together! That should make your life so much easier!

    Good luck to both of you on your quests to get everything done.

  8. frugalscholar Says:

    My husband and I lived apart for a few years. Looking back, I can’t believe we did it.

    It will take a lot longer than a month for me to organize my house. I’ve been plugging away at it. i usually leave this task unfinished–alas.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I usually do too. I try and try, but every time I move I end up with one of those boxes that never gets unpacked (though it does get opened! it just contains… mysterious and weird things).

  9. Practical Parsimony Says:

    Looking back at goals–you will try to floss four times a week? that gunk needs to come out once a day in order for it not to turn to concrete-like plaque, I am told. I floss at least a half dozen times a day, maybe more. Okay, you don’t have to be me, but set those goals higher. Oh well, just floss the ones you want to keep. Congrats on the paper acceptance. Some of my best papers were rough drafts. Well, that is what grad school teacher said…LOL.

  10. Practical Parsimony Says:

    LOl grad school profs

  11. Jacq Says:

    Yay you! Cleaning and organizing and decluttering is hard. Moving is such a good opportunity to get rid of stuff though.

  12. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Aw yay for cute happy lovey-dovey news. :)

  13. First Gen American Says:

    I’m so excited for you. Long distance blows. It feels like being in perpetual limbo. I’m so happy for you both.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

