Linksies

CNN has been pretty awesome this week.  Two articles here, one by Granderson on how the abortion debate is trivializing rape and another by Steiner discussing how the Parents Television Counsel is reinforcing the patriarchy.

We totally stole the link to these adorable kitty pictures from CPP.

This discussion at Historiann is a model for incredible comment threads, with a variety of well-thought-out responses.  Once again, we continue to love Historiann.

Blaming the Patriarchy meets women in the labor market:  a low-level summary of a study that finds that long-distance commutes may be related to increased divorce rates (for what seem to be structural and patriarchy reasons, though I admit to not reading the whole thing).

We may have already linked to this onion article on how we’re running out of grown-ups.  It’s hard being an endangered species.

A friend from Boston sent us this.  I wonder what the story behind the Boston Tea Party would be.

Cat Havens.

The second bullet point here made me LOL.

Apparently we’ve broken some threshold of popularity.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

Can you tell we’ve been super busy this week?  It’s hard to believe it’s summer…

 

Quick challenge update:  June’s challenge is eating healthy things, aided by my CSA.  In support of my goal, let me tell you the delicious dinner I had tonight.  (Actually none of this stuff was from the CSA is it is the off-week on my half-share)

Lemonade.  Grapes.  Berry mix: strawberries, blueberries, raspberries & blackberries.  Tasty crunchy cracker-thingies.  And delicious cheese:  cheddar with white wine, garlic, and parsley in it.  Nom nom nom!

8 Responses to “Linksies”

  1. Historiann Says:

    Thanks for the link and the compliment. I am kind of conflict averse, so I am suprised that you see that thread as a “model,” although it’s not as food-fighty as some threads I’ve hosted. Interestingly, it’s not just motherhood in general but lactation in particular that seems to inspire the strongest reactions among readers.

    • Cloud Says:

      I haven’t had time to come read the comments yet, but I just read the post and think it is great. I love the quote about not leaning back and balancing responsibilities you don’t have yet. It is a good one. I think a lot of the good “luck” I’ve had with regards to balancing my career and motherhood stems from the fact that I have a strong career and was at a place where I had enough power to get the accommodations I want. Also, I have the money to buy some extra time at home.

      I look forward to reading the comments and maybe joining in later.

      • Spanish Prof Says:

        I thought it was a fascinating thread of comments, but I also found it rather depressing. The “intense” reactions that the diverse positions arose exemplified for me why it is so difficult to achieve positive change in the U.S.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That is very true. There is a lot of conflict among net-posting mothers; in fact, we’ve had a little of it here on our blog. But I like your blog. (whoops, this is a reply to Historiann)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        (Because obviously she doesn’t like anybody else’s blog ;) That’s ok, because *I* like them!)

        Also: Not just conflict between net-posting mothers! We just had a huge discussion about how some white male dads are asshats on forums. The patriarchy has been seriously pissing me off today. Seriously.

  2. Z Says:

    That cat is so cute.

  3. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    KYOOT KITTEH EXPLOSHUN!!!1111!elebnety!!!11!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

