RBOC

  • The world seems a little brighter when you have a heating pad.  You know, if your back had been hurting before and stuff.
  • Is one little COL increase so much to ask for?  (Apparently yes.)  ETA:  Two COLAs, please, one each for #1 and #2.
  • Please learn to use email.  Phone tag is not going to work.
  • I spoke truth to power at work the other day.  That was kind of weird.
  • I think we may have to buy new dishware and glassware soon.  DH and DC have had a bad week in that respect.
  • There’s a big name person in my field who introduces himself to me every time we meet.  This wouldn’t be so bad if I hadn’t spent a summer working for him.  At least he’s always impressed with my work when he introduces himself.  Not impressed enough to remember it the next time we meet though.
  • Health insurance out of pocket costs doubled this year.  I hate these real wage cuts.
  • DC’s favorite stuffed animal is the one we got for ~$1500.  Ze calls it, “bead bear” in honor of the event and cuddles with it every night.  Dog, bear, and little bear have all been set aside.
  • Wooeee we sure spent a lot on credit cards last month.  Thousands of dollars of conference fees, airfare etc. for the summer.  It’ll be reimbursed but man do we need that $$ cushion.  (Yes, we can use the university card, BUT new rule says we need permission for the trip before use and it takes a month or more to get permission, so by the time we get permission the airfare costs have skyrocketed.  So we go the pay and reimburse route instead.)
  • My eyelid is twitching uncontrollably.  I really hate when this happens.  Rrrrrr. (#1 says, me too).
  • If you enjoy exercising in 100 degree highly humid weather, well, bully for you.  That does not mean that everybody should or could do it.  There’s a reason the South didn’t grow much in population until the invention of air conditioning.
  • DC’s learning and growth is what DH calls a “punctuated equilibrium.”  All of a sudden we wake up (late) one morning and DC is an inch taller and can do money, time, and addition and subtraction with regrouping as if ze had never had any problem with it.  (Also potentially a new attitude problem of not listening to teachers.  We’re hoping it’s a phase.)  How did that happen?
  • Run DMC says, don’t be a hater.
  • A lot of my most stressful bad dreams take place in airports, where I am trying to catch a plane but being stymied by ongoing hurdles.  I wonder what this says about me.
24 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Linda Says:

    I love my heating pad, too. I think every woman needs one.

    Re: dishware. I gave up a few years ago and bought a bunch of Corelle at the outlet store (just the plain white stuff). So far only one of the serving bowls has been broken by an (ex) roommate. Now I know why my mom stuck with Corelle; it’s nearly indestrucible.

    Re: stressful dreams (and exercising, too). I had a dream last night where someone called me obese. :-( I guess my subconcious is telling me I really need to lose some weight. I must fit in more exercise somehow.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Our current stuff is Target Home Brand. It’s pretty and it wasn’t made in China (we bought our dishes when it seemed like everything coming out of China was coated in lead), but it shatters upon dropping and no longer seems to be in print. The outlet mall sounds like a good idea for replacement.

  2. Foscavista Says:

    If you are requesting COLAs, please make that three!

  3. MutantSupermodel Says:

    God, yes, email. No more phones!
    Perhaps Big Name Person has some sort of Alzheimer’s?
    Eyelid twitching usually has a lot to do with caffeine.
    I can relate to Punctuated Equilibrium. Sounds like Eldest.
    My stressful dreams are almost always fights with Ex. Like huge nasty all out screaming and shoving matches. Some even get physical. Crazy part is we never fought like that. Ever. I wanted to sometimes but it basically never happened. There’s a cool website that does some neat dream interpretations. I think it’s DreamMoods.com or something.

  4. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    Big Name Person might also have that thing where you can’t recognize people’s faces.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Or names… (since that’s what is on the program, the slides, the papers, and his payroll!)
      Somehow I doubt that. He’s pretty good at recognizing guys’ faces and older female faces who work at top 10 institutions.

      Some sort of dementia is more likely, given other facts.

  5. Everyday tips Says:

    Intoo dream about teeth falling out and crumbling teeth. Actually I almost always have bad or stress related dreams. Violence is very prominent unfortunately.

    Inherent had an eye twitch in ages, but I did hate it when I did get them.

    COL increase?? Ha! We have all but given up on those. Husband hasnt had a pay increase since he started his new job three years ago. I got a pay increase because I negotiated a higher rate when I went back to the same job after a nine month hiatus. Otherwise I never would have gotten a raise.

    Why do glasses seem to break in phases?

  6. Everyday tips Says:

    Argh I should never submit a comment without reading it first when i am on my iPad. Please forgive how incoherent my previous comment was.

  7. Spanish Prof Says:

    Heating pads are awesome. As for the conference reinmbursment, my school is worse. You have to submit your requests for the year at the beginning of the academic year, before the money runs out. Nevermind that most of the times, you haven’t been accepted yet. For example, I applied for a conference that takes place in May 2012. I will know whether I’ve been accepted or not in October 2011. By that time, I will have to be lucky to see if there is any money left in the pot so that the school can pay for my conference. Grrr……

    By the way, did you see the post I dedicated to you?

  8. First Gen American Says:

    My health insurance went up this year too. I now have a cash deductible that i have to hit before anything gets paid and I picked the lowest possible deductible plan (ie higher weekly costs). Anyway, I had a bunch of receipts from my PT that I thought I’d submit towards it and they were like…oh no, that’s “out of network” you can’t use that towards your “in network” deductible. You mean I have 2 deductibles? Yup. So YTD I’ve paid in about $4500 in deductibles and insurance premiums and I still haven’t gotten didly squat in return. And this is supposed to be a “good plan”

    I personally have a lot of dreams where someone is trying to kill me and I have elaborate and creative self defense tactics, like using a chair lion trainer style as a shield from someone shooting arrows at me. Throwing butcher knives at people…stuff like that. It’s very disturbing. I also have dreams where I see my kid(s) dying/drowning,etc…and I can’t get to them in time to save them. Those are my least favorite and most disturbing.

  9. Cloud Says:

    One of the best things about the time I took 4 months off to travel: my bad dreams stopped being about missing work deadlines and started being about missing buses.

    Apparently, I just take what ever is in my brain when I go to sleep and dream about it.

    My weirdest dreams ever were when I was studying for quantum chemistry.

  10. Molly On Money Says:

    Maybe ‘big name in my field’ dude suffers from a mild form of prosopagnosia?

  11. Trish Says:

    My very wealthy aunt, married to my mom’s brother, always introduces herself to me. Sigh.

  12. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    My eyelid is twitching uncontrollably. I really hate when this happens. Rrrrrr. (#1 says, me too).

    AHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah, thatte shitte is kind of annoying. But a nice strong gin martini will settle itte right the f*cken down.

  13. Debbie M Says:

    I like putting things on my own card and getting reimbursed. Then I get all the rewards.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

