I said a link chicka link

When etexts are not the same as the paper versions from quodshe, and the lying liars who say they are.

Broken logic bone explains so much about my life.  From girl on the contrary who apparently individually replied to at least 200 comments on this post.

I like this post about broccoli and morality from Wandering Scientist.  It made us have to have broccoli with cheese for dinner.

There’s a Do Nothing But Read day coming up on August 6th!  I’ll be doing it — will you?

Historiann discusses a lame WSJ article wherein a woman unwittingly shows the world that she is married to a douche and allows the patriarchy to turn her into a victim.  It’s also about whether or not you’re failing your precious jerk of a husband if you don’t take his last name.  (Not if he’s failing you if he doesn’t take yours.)  I am so glad I A.)  didn’t marry a douche, and B.) not only subscribe to the tenets of our about statement (put in place to avoid the Sandra Tsing Loh effect), but thus far have not felt the need to invoke them other than jostling a few joy posts around on occasion.  We may rumble grumpily, but we balance that out.  Related women’s history network link on naming traditions totally stolen from the comment section.

CNN had a great article about a Hispanic mother being mistaken for her daughter’s nanny.  The mother board I used to be on used to be full of these, “Is your child named X with a nanny who looks like Y?” and then some damning thing like OMG talking on the cellphone at the playground.  I don’t know about you, but the playground is one of the few places I can go without DC demanding my attention!

Normally I don’t like how-to-parent stuff, but this website is like reading my mother’s mind.  Also, toddlers won’t try to learn from you if they suspect you are daft.  Ha.  (Would it be horrible to say that second article reminds me of my dad?)

An excellent rant from we are respectable negroes about a kind of dumb NPR segment suggesting we add more electronic geegaws to class and don’t try to make our college students learn anything that’s not a soundbite.

Accountant by day reminds us that sometimes your extra energy should go to your main job rather than your side job.

7 Responses to “I said a link chicka link”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Accountant by day reminds us that sometimes your extra energy should go to your main job rather than your side job.

    No wai! You should totally monetize this blogge! It’ll be easy-peasy and the next thing you know, you’ll be as rich as Ariana Huffington.

  2. Cloud Says:

    Woo hoo! And now I sit back and watch my site traffic numbers spike….

    Seriously, thanks for the link. I seriously don’t know why anyone eats broccoli without cheese sauce. (OK, I do, but the cheese sauce way is always better!)

    I like the accountant by day post. It is very true!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I like beef and broccoli too. (The Chinese-American version.) That was actually what got me eating broccoli for the first time.

      As you would already know if blogger hadn’t eaten that comment earlier this week…

  3. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Here’s a good line from that Accountant By Day post:

    The problem is, making money from your hobby almost always requires a bigger time commitment than you are currently making to the hobby.

  4. drvirago Says:

    Thanks for the link! And also for the embedded half-allusion to Al Franken.

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I aim to do nothing but read all day as much as humanly possible so August 6 should be no problem. Besides, I have a tower of books that needs attacking.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

