Moar video games

I have written before about enjoying video games even though I don’t play them.  In that post I said Kingdom Hearts was pretty.  Well lemmee tell you, those days seem to be over because I can’t stand whatever new/current version of KH my partner is playing right now.  Here’s what’s been going around the #1 household lately, in case you care…

Bastion: pretty decent.  Highlight is the musical score, which the composer describes as “acoustic frontier trip-hop”, which is really very accurate.

More fun than that: Infamous 2.  (Still not on my all-time high list)

Games like Vanquish bore the hell outta me.

Alan Wake: Are you SURE Stephen King didn’t write this game?  A writer encounters zombies.

This video is AWESOME:
pitching a video game to Cookie Monster

(unrelated but: new podcast I’ve been enjoying recently: Dead Robots Society.)

#2 is hoping her partner will get Portal 2 one of these days.  Sure, she can listen to the new ending credits song on Youtube, but is that really the same?  #1′s partner has beaten Portal 2 and gifted a copy of the original Portal to me so I can improve my terrible video-game skills.  This was a triumph.

Do you play video games? What are your favs?


(#2 likes to listen to her partner sing along)

19 Responses to “Moar video games”

  1. Molly On Money Says:

    I think the last video game I played was pong…when it first came out.

  2. Debbie M Says:

    I am playing Backyard Monsters, a Facebook game. I know I cannot be trusted with games, but this is one where, after a while, there’s nothing you can do and you have to wait for stuff to finish happening, so you can’t just sit there playing for hour after hour after hour. It turns out that I can, nevertheless, still waste too much time on it.

    You build these cute little machines to create building materials (twigs, pebbles, putty, and goo) that help you build cute little weapons and cute little monsters. The machines and buildings look like they are made out of tin cans and stuff. As you make the machines bigger, they are not quite so cute anymore, but still super cute. And you organize everything in your yard to be defensible because even if none of your neighbors attack you (for your resources), there are still wild monsters, and once your stuff has been damaged, it takes a while to repair, during which time it’s not doing its job.

    It’s all out of control–we can have outposts now (multiple backyards!) and I have a chart showing at what level each thing is in each backyard and at what time a worker will finish with something and become available to start on something new.

    **

    I used to enjoy watching one of those blood first-person shooter games where you could set the blood on high so that when you killed someone, way more blood came out than could ever actually have fit inside them.

    And when I do allow myself to play the kinds of video games you can play for hours on end (like when I retire), there’s a really fun one I can’t remember the name of right now about a little boy who gets sent to a summer camp where not all is what it appears. He goes around talking to people and collecting things and of course doing hard stuff like walking on logs and fighting bad guys until he figures out what’s going on. It’s a kid’s game where some of the lessons are actually useful in real life. I’ll try to remember to look that up when I get home.

    And the other game I’m drawn to is Plants versus Zombies which you can play on iPhones, etc. You plant various types of plants in your garden (some cost more sunshine than others) and they have various resistances to the zombies. And there are a million levels (although my boyfriend has gone so far that everything is too easy for him, so he handicaps himself by seeing if he can still win without using the best plants).

    What I really need, though, is more hobbies that don’t involve sitting in a chair.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’ve heard that plants vs. zombies is cool, but never played it. Oh Popcap games, you are so good at time-suckage. I did actually beat a game called Puzzle Bobble in grad school when I should have been writing giant papers. Only game I’ve ever actually beaten. I used to not be able to trust myself with Bejeweled, but they keep changing it so that now it’s not that much fun anymore.

    • Rumpus Says:

      I liked the demo of Plants vs Zombies. But yeah, I should probably get a treadmill so I can play more games and not turn into a couch potato.

    • Debbie M Says:

      The cool summer camp one is PsychoNauts.

  3. Linda Says:

    I don’t play any video games but I did attend Jonathon Coulton’s concert in Chicago a few months ago and heard him perform the Portal song live (for those who don’t know, he wrote the song). It was a quite a geeky crowd; as my BF said, the amount of outstanding student loans in that room must have been astronomical. ;-)

  4. julier Says:

    You can get a free 1 h demo of Plants vs. zombies from Big Fish Games. I generally find that the demo is sufficient to fill my needs without becoming a giant time sink. I try to avoid them because I tend to focus only on my video game to the exclusion of everything else.

    I love adventure games. Favorites include The Longest Journey and Grim Fandango. Hidden picture games are also fun, but I tend to lose patience with them after a bit.

    And the, of course, there is Kingdom of Loathing (www.kindgomofloathing.com).

    • Rumpus Says:

      Grim Fandango was excellent. Kingdom of Loathing is one of those games that can suck away a lot of time.

      According to my students the latest popular game is Minecraft. I’ve been spending my time on Dwarf Fortress and Nethack…I like complex and free games, but the user interface is often poor. If only my dwarves would stop going insane and commandeering workshops to craft masterpieces while the fortress is under siege by a pack of elephants. “Powered by the Devil himself, these beasts take only eight seconds to devour an adult dwarf, spit out the teeth and make off with his car…An elephant’s main diet consists of elephant hunters.”

  5. Zee Says:

    I am addicted to civilization, even though I usually lose because I refuse to build up my military enough and spend everything on science and culture.

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I’ve always WANTED to get into video games more than I actually end up getting into video games. My son’s playing Kingdom Hearts too on his DS. I tried it but didn’t stick it out at all. One more example of commitment issues.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

