Which sitcom family would you want to live with?

At the jury trial selection last week, the asshat lawyer for the defense made the comment that Roseanne was a great mother.  That Roseanne’s kids lived in a fantastic home.  He said his own mother was a combination of Roseanne and the wife on Everyone Loves Raymond (which I have not seen much of… all I remember is that the kids were terribly behaved and Raymond was sexist and didn’t want his wife to work because he had problems with his masculinity that did not get resolved at the end of the episode).  I’m not saying that Roseanne and Tom should have had their parental rights taken away, unlike the defendant (yes, I was so convinced by the lawyer for the prosecution during jury selection that I could not give the defendant a fair hearing… those poor kids :( ), but it did get me thinking about many things.

Including a frivolous question…

If I were to have to pick a TV family I’d go with either the Huxtables or the Keatons (my parents are also kind of hippies).  Though Mr. Belvedere would be awesome to have around.  I *like* being upper middle class and growing up it was something I aspired to (and yearned for) when watching the aforementioned shows.  I like the way both parents work without question and both parents parent, also without question.  They even share chores!  I’m living the dream, baby.

If you had to pick a TV family to become a part of, which TV family would you choose, and what position would you pick?

19 Responses to “Which sitcom family would you want to live with?”

  1. Coquo ergo sum Says:

    The Collins from “Dark Shadows.” I wouldn’t be a parent but rather a (distant) cousin who lives in the time-traveling east wing. Or perhaps Angelique, but she was not a Collins in the regular timeline.

  2. First Gen American Says:

    I also gravitated to the TV personality that is most like my own mom. I think my mom is a cross between George Costanza’s mom and Forrest Gumps mom. Full of kitsch but also full of common sense and independence.

    For dads..I don’t know. Cliff Huxtable is a pretty awesome one but I can’t picture him married to Mrs. Costanza.

    I can’t think of what a single episode of growing pains was about.

  3. bogart Says:

    I don’t watch enough TV to have a clue. Of shows I’ve seen, Malcolm in the Middle’s family seems a reasonable option though I’d probably choose the role of the dad over that of the mom. Maybe not; she seems more frazzled, but also more connected to the kids.

    “he had problems with his masculinity that did not get resolved at the end of the episode…” cracks me up. This problem is far too prevalent, not just on TV.

  4. Grace Says:

    You live in a state where a jury decides parental termination cases? Now that’s a scary thought indeed! I always thought Roseanne was one of the more realistic family sitcoms. And certainly the funniest!

  5. Linda Says:

    The Jetsons. Because is life is cartoonish anway. And I’d like a flying car.

  6. sciliz Says:

    I’d totally like to be a kid- an adorable little thing like Rudy, in the Huxtable family.
    As a teenager though, Rosanne all the way. The Huxtables would have driven me crazy, with no proper outlet for snarkry.

    I’d never actually seen a full episode of Family Ties, I could never get through it. I checked a clip online after reading this post- nope, still don’t get it.

  7. Trish Says:

    I thought about this and came up with two rather opposite choices. First, the series ‘The Waltons’ is being shown quite a bit at the moment as it just came out on DVD. I would love to be a part of this family. Possibly Mary Ellen or Erin. the other family I would love to be a part of is Lorelai Gilmore’s. Lorelai is a single mother who had her baby when she was 16. I love the relationship she and her daughter have. I would like to be the kid. I was surprised by my own choices. I am the youngest of 8 kids, and I’m sure my choices reveal something, about something. It may be something like I would love to live in the mountains or New England.

  8. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    I’d wanna be on Sanford & Son, and live in a junkyard.

  9. MutantSupermodel Says:

    The Huxtables. For sure.

  10. thomas Says:

    the huxtables. nothing else!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

