Ask the Grumpies

Random Internet Marketer asks:

I loved your post on X.  May I:

1.  Provide a guest post on any topic?

2.  Pay you to add links to your previous posts?

3.  Give you a money/swag to review our company?

The answer to all of the above is, “No.”

If at any time we need guest posts, we will let you know.  And preference will go to people we’ve heard of (regular commenters, people on our blogroll, other people we read etc.) rather than random people out of the blue.

In terms of blog prostitution monetizing, one of us is concerned with her soul.  The other thinks you’re not offering enough moolah to make it worth her while to endanger the other’s soul.

Exception:  If you send us a book, we may read and review it (we may not).  Warning:  we may not give it a good review, and have been frequently known not to if the book kind of sucks.

8 Responses to “Ask the Grumpies”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    I’m pretty sure those “I loved your post on X” e-mails aren’t even generated by human beings, but rather by automated blog-spidering bots.

  2. bogart Says:

    Um, was it, “I love your post of 10/21/11″ ? Because that would be some funny.

  3. Jacq Says:

    Agree with all of the above. I’ve only ever had one guest post request that I thought was very thoughtful and truly directed to me (maybe 2). To be successful, they would have had to write the whole thing so I wasn’t wasting my time hoping it would be okay.
    There are VERY few books that I think are 5 star worthy. I won’t not say what I think just because someone’s trying to sell a few more books.
    Both times I submitted a guest article for GRS, I wrote the whole thing and sent it to J.D. as is with no request ahead of time. The first time, I was surprised because I had just written up a 15 minute email and didn’t feel it was as strong or well-written as it should have been but I thought his editing process was more rigorous and there would be some back and forth. Every time I’ve written something for traditional publishing on spec, the editors are more anal so I’m very thorough beforehand. But I’m out of practice and lazy and it showed.
    Given the turn around time, it was about 15 minutes of work for him to change a few things. I also put in all the links to topics on his site like I know he likes to see. And he took out the (very) mild swear words that I unconsciously wrote. I will write specifically for a bigger site like that if I feel it’s something more “useful” that I want to be read by a larger audience.
    My question is whether or not you bother to reply and say “thanks but no thanks”? I’m rude and don’t reply if I think they’re just pumping out boiler plate requests. I feel kind of bad about that because when I used to write for big mags, they were always courteous about their rejections. But I wasn’t running around submitting queries on menopause to Men’s Health magazine either.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Generally we just ignore the spammy ones. Maybe we can point folks to this post in the future.

      We respond to people who aren’t coming out of the blue. We’re also more likely to respond if the grammar and spelling etc. are not painful to read.

      Working with J.D. is nice. I wonder how much he pays his staff writers. Though probably much less than my going rate (currently $500/article unless it is for the NYTimes, in which case I have been known to do it for free).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

