Link love

And I thought *we* lived in the bible belt.  Apparently unbalanced reaction has it worse.  Also, I totes think a science pamphlet to hand out to these folks would be teh awesome.

Hyperbole and a half with a post that is very very true, and also sad, with a little bit of funny.  But mostly just truth.

Micro Dr. O tells us about her job search, starting with the hunt for a post-doc.

I hate politics, post #2492045 from Slate.

Late for an important pregnancy wants you to write a 5 minute get it all out post.  Also she shares hers.

How to be zen with kids?  Answer:  Have a wife.   If you’re a heterosexual female, well, you’re SOL.

This made me twitch inappropriately on the side of my mouth.  From to a green thought.

Female Computer Scientist noting that “even your mom can” is just as assholish a thing to say as “like a girl.”

Fie upon this quiet life with an interesting hypothetical question about what to do when a heterosexual friend of the opposite sex hits on you repeatedly in the workplace despite you being married to someone else and having zero interest in said friend.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

19 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

    Hellz to the motherf*cken YEAH!

    Hyperbole and a Half is so f*cken awesome. Her drawings of human beings–and especially herself–so perfectly capture emotion.

  2. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Tell those green f*ckes to jettison the motherf*cken theme!!! Bright blue text on a bright green background and bright green text on a bright blue background are completely unf*ckenreadable!

  3. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Whoah, that phone-call-late-at-night dude had my scary-weirdo-with-delusional-social-perceptions alarm bells ringing wildly.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I think the first time I read through it I didn’t catch it was pm instead of am. If anybody calls me at 10:45pm it had better be an emergency or someone I’m closely related to giving birth. That’s really just not socially acceptable even if it’s my mom calling to chat (10:45 am would be fine if it were my mom), and yes, delusional social perceptions.

      It does remind me of Dr. Crazy drunk dialing stories. Still not ok.

      • Comrade PhysioProf Says:

        It does remind me of Dr. Crazy drunk dialing stories.

        Yeah, but she was drunk-dialing people with whom she has established relationships in the context of which it would be possibly annoying, but not scary and intrusive.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I dunno, if any of my ex’s drunk dialed me, I’d find it a bit scary and intrusive.

      • Comrade PhysioProf Says:

        I wonder if there is some male-female perceptual asymmetry here: drunk-dialing d00d ex == scary and intrusive; drunk-dialing laydee ex == funny and cute. And Fatal Attraction scenarios notwithstanding, d00ds are vastly more likely to actually do shitte one ought to be scared of than laydeez.

  4. Jacq Says:

    I want to throw my computer at LB of zh sometimes.

  5. Dr. O Says:

    Thanks for the link love :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

