Who are Nicole and Maggie?

Let’s ask Google…

A girl and her dog.
Singers.
A bridal gown.
Fat ladies in space.

Youtube has some disturbing answers. I think we will not link directly.  Except this one which is not particularly disturbing and is kind of cute (in the way that other people’s small children are kind of cute).

We’re actually none of the above.  But it is interesting how all these other paired Maggie/Nicoles have popped up since we started the blog (though the singers pre-dated us).  We believe it signifies something cosmic.

We will take over the world.

Be afraid.

Very afraid.

15 Responses to “Who are Nicole and Maggie?”

  1. feMOMhist Says:

    two wild and crazy girls

    seriously, do you think people attempt to discern your identity? I’m always wondering if people do (only because I rant about my job so much and the shit could come down hard on me if they do and I’m outed :) YAY for tenure)

  2. First Gen American Says:

    So which one of you is the dog character? I never tried looking up how many times my name is searched…although there is a designer down in Mexico with my same name that comes up before I do in real life so I wouldn’t be able to tell for sure who they’re looking for. I know of at least one stalker who regularly tries to get onto my site even though I’ve blocked him multiple times and in different ways. the internet is kinda scary sometimes.

  3. bogart Says:

    Apropos of nothing relating to this post, I have been away (first) and then lurking. Congratulations on your news of 11/22; I do very much hope you’ll be able to post happy updates from time to time over the next, well, many years, I suppose. Thanks too for writing about your loss (and please accept my condolences). Ignoring a few possible chemical pregnancies (or linger hcg from treatment?) I’ve not had that particular experience, but so many women do, and so many other people seem not to “get it.” I found your writing very informative, and poignant.

    And here’s what actually prompted me to get out of lurk mode and back in the swing: I found this post interesting and thought you might too (warning, interesting may extend to annoying and I admit i haven’t read the comments yet, but I still thought it raised some interesting points): http://swistle.blogspot.com/2011/12/gifted-vs-ahead.html

    • bogart Says:

      sigh. linger*ing*

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I think that blogger is looking at the world from a fixed mindset.

      You can have a low or high iq, but whether or not you keep it depends on what you do to train your mind. With gifted kids, there are a lot of pitfalls (perfectionism, boredom, etc.) that can keep them from keeping their potential. With kids who aren’t gifted, they can work hard and train their mind to actually increase IQ. IQ isn’t static.

      Now, some kids do start out at different points, possibly because of genetics, possibly early environmental factors. And there are specific characteristics that might be correlated with having that high IQ.

      But just because someone is labeled gifted as a kid and doesn’t seem all that amazing as an adult doesn’t mean they were never gifted. Gifted kids are at risk of falling through the cracks. At some point how much work you do becomes the most important predictor of where you end up– that and luck.

      • bogart Says:

        Ah, so Nicole and Maggie are Malcolm Gladwell?

        Sure, up to a point. But I do actually think there are some underlying useful points in what she writes. I don’t think “early” in a given task or skill is always the same as “inherently gifted,” and not (just) because of effort — yet it may have similar implications for the kids/parents negotiating it at a given (early) point in time. And I do think that it’s fair (and perhaps useful) to point out that context matters (I went through K-12 not knowing I was smart, because pretty much everyone I knew was smart. Which was OK and didn’t particularly damage me I don’t think, but it turns out there are in fact stupid people in the world — quite a number actually — and being aware of their existence is useful, if only to understand/predict aggregate outcomes) and may amplify differences or make them irrelevant.

  4. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Why they’re grumpy and untenured.

    You know a while ago, I was listening to NPR and they were interviewing an academic lady and I SWEAR I thought, “That sounds like NicoleandMaggie” and I don’t mean the actual physical sound of the voice because I have no idea obviously what that would be but the way she was speaking was a lot like they way you write here. And then I was like “Ha ha I’m freaking crazy.”

  5. Foscavista Says:

    I am intrigued by the “fat ladies in space” link which led me to this:

  6. Rumpus Says:

    Obviously I’m a machine: http://vimeo.com/1872894
    For some reason this reminded me of MST3k.

  7. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    I once dreamed you were two girls I knew in grade school, grown up. Their real names were Nicole and Margaret. I don’t think they were particularly friends, and they would be older now than I think you are. But in the dream it was totally plausible and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t figured it out before.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

