Linky lovin and November challenge update

As you may remember, my November challenge was: take up some form of exercise, at least 30 min per day, at least 3 times per week.

At first I whined about it.

Dame Eleanor said:

Saline pool! OMG I am teh jealous. Use it & direct your grumpies at me: “So there, DEH, I haz it n you don’t. Nyah.”

Now after a whole month, I’m still whining.  I usually go swimming once a week in my new (purple!) lap suit.  I ride horses twice a week, and go on the gym equipment 3 times per week, hating the gym all the way (but not the horses).

My partner would like the world to know that he didn’t force me into this whole exercise-in-the-morning thing.  It is true, I am doing it of my own volition, totally voluntarily.  I still hate it, though.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

Trying to lose weight?  CNN suggests keeping it to yourself.

Its probably me post surgery.

How to talk to little girls from the huffington post.

More than just a Blazing Saddles punchline: a famous women inventor.

Pie chart from 444express.

The Odyssey in twitter.  From holy taco.

9 Responses to “Linky lovin and November challenge update”

  1. Roxie Says:

    Sorry you are still hating the exercise. It’s hard to make a trip to the gym feel like playtime, but don’t you get a nice little endorphin buzz off the experience? Maybe kick up the cardio to boost the buzz? Just a thought.

    Also, that CNN story on keeping your mouth shut about losing weight? My typist (not surprisingly) doesn’t buy it. The doctor sounds like a real fat-hater, and that whole public accountability thing can be powerfully beneficial. It’s true there are folks who will try to undermine one’s efforts, but for every one of them there’s another who will cheer and affirm and support and assist. Besides, after the first 20 pounds, people are going to know that you are trying to lose weight whether you say anything about it or not. Not convinced that keeping quiet would significantly contribute to success in weight loss.

  2. Leah Says:

    I love that Huffpo about talking to little girls — I’ve seen it before and talk about it to folks. I really think it is super important to cultivate multiple interests in kids, and that needs to be a community effort. Just focusing on one thing about a child is counterproductive. The same goes, I think, for smart kids. Research has shown that telling a kid “you did great work” or “you worked hard, and look at the awesome results” is way better than saying “oh, you’re so smart.” The two former praise the fact that the child DID work hard, always, to do things. The latter makes it seem like doing well is some sort of inborn trait. With the latter, kids tend to give up when they finally hit a wall where being smart isn’t so easy. Anyway, tangent, I know, but I think the two concepts are linked. With women, I think it is far too easy to think that beauty is innate and not something that comes through how we act, treat others, and even through how we choose to dress and present ourselves to the world.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Definitely! I was thinking the same thing while reading it.

    • Rumpus Says:

      I second talking to little people about interesting things instead of fashion. I got into a very long conversation about Legos at one adult party to which a young boy had been brought. Granted, that specific example is not fighting the patriarchy, but I do the same thing with girls. Maybe I just like to get in touch with the engineer that exists in all little kids.

  3. undinenotofgeneralinterest Says:

    Sorry you still hate the exercise, but that’s an impressive amount of it to be doing consistently, so kudos on that. I actually just bought that Hedy Lamarr & technology book for relaxation reading; it does sound really interesting.

  4. Rumpus Says:

    I’m always amazed by people (re: Hedy) who manage to do interesting work in their spare time. I can’t even seem to do it full-time. Frequency hopping is cool.

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I hate exercise too but I really need to do some of that stuff. I think it’d make me feel better.

    CNN article is pretty neat. Makes me think. Especially as a blogger who generally outlines all kinds of goals and stuff. Hmmm.

    Huffpost is bothering me a little bit. But she’s not the girl’s parents so I guess it’s not a huge deal. I actually think that giving a child positive messages about appearance is important. We’re a whole package. And we’re all beautiful creations. But, you know, there are lots of little girls who don’t hear all the time how cute they are. And that affects them too and not in the best of ways. I dunno. This kinda stuff drives me batty inside. It just feels like no matter what you do or what you say, you’re gonna f*ck up your kids one way or another.

  6. Anna Says:

    My dad never complemented us on our appearance, ever, as a matter of principle. As a result, we were hideously ugly well into adulthood. Balance, people. Balance.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

