Link love

Femomhist with her delightful rundown on Death at Pemberly.

Who says legos aren’t for girls?  Geeky mom blog’s girls are lego winners.

Speaking of Austen times, if you ever wondered what gout looks like, wonder no more.

Tiger beatdown discusses the TX abortion law.

Ianqui asks whether you call yourself a professor or a disciplinist.

A PSA from profgrrrl.

We recently discovered randsinrepose via a link off Wandering Scientist.  This post really struck a chord with both of us.  We may do a full post on it later after #2 has a conversation with her partner.  I will relate the IM conversation #1 had here:

#1: “Don’t get too comfortable because he’ll move on, and, when that happens, you’ll be wondering what happened to all the attention.”
is that TRUE???
Partner: yes. but you are always in my “relevant” filter
[pause]
you and I have already passed that before we got married
[pause]
or possibly a better way to think about it is that I don’t think I’ll ever lose that sense of wonder about you. I find you fascinating.

The first response is TOTAL NERD.  The third response is why we’ve been together for so long (SMOOOOOTH).  The second response is probably just demonstrating our midwestern pragmatism.

What was I doing with some dear student letters.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

26 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    That gout shittte looks f*cken painful!

  2. femmefrugality Says:

    Great links! And great responses by the hubby :) I like how he kept trying until he got the right answer.

  3. feMOMhist Says:

    I pass on gout. thanks, as always, for the love.

  4. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    I hope that feMOMhist post is some kind of joke that I’m not getting, because the writing style is completely f*cken unreadable.

  5. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    That nerd blogge is quite fascinating! Good find. However, the part of the particular post you linked where it is explaining how to “manage” a nerd and change their behavior I found kind of counterproductive. Basing a relationship on “changing” another person is really shitty and destined for trouble.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’m not really seeing anything about changing a person in that article.

      In any case, any long-term relationship has compromise in it. People change each other just by the act of being and sharing interests. Otherwise the relationship just doesn’t work.

      • Comrade PhysioProf Says:

        The article was explaining how to manipulate a nerd into doing things they wouldn’t otherwise do, such as exercise or go traveling.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        The nerd has agency. It’s just words, not actually changing the person. If you’re not allowed to try to convince your spouse to do something with you, then that kind of eliminates a ton of marital interaction and would lead to resentment, separate vacations, and eventually divorce.

      • Comrade PhysioProf Says:

        I agree about “convincing”, but I read it as more like “manipulating”. Maybe I’m a bit paranoid about thatte shitte.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Yeah. It’s not like, “if you don’t do this I will divorce you” its “You like new things, traveling shows you new things.” It is true that traveling shows you new things. The partner gets to choose.

        My partner changes hobbies every 1-3 months. Sometimes I suggest he go back to baking as his hobby because I like fresh bread. Is that manipulative?

      • Rumpus Says:

        I find that article interesting because it really does fit people. And there really are other people that could use that advice to so they can improve their interactions with nerds. Have you ever met someone and they reminded you so much of someone that you knew well, and then you were able to treat the new person like the old friend and it worked? How much of human behavior is basically convergent evolution during middle school?

  6. Revanche Says:

    As a partial nerd (I’d jokingly call it recovering except I embrace what nerdiness I genuinely possess) I thought it was fun and funny until the dratted post started outting my tells. Now I can’t share it with PiC, he may start paying attention to what my irrelevancy trigger word is… then again I’ve got him on skimming emails and paying attention with half an ear on most conversations. He probably already knows my irrelevancy trigger words are, he just doesn’t call them out.

    P.S. I wasn’t sure if one of you meant to enter the giveaway and if you had successfully entered entries into the Rafflecopter but if you didn’t see it, just wanted to drop you a line that the entries are taken in the Rafflecopter.

  7. feMOMhist Says:

    let your nerd flag fly, srsly if they don’t turn Geek Love into a regular reality series, I just may cry

    • Revanche Says:

      My nerdiness I flaunt regularly, to his alarm. My tells I prefer not to share because I like to win. (Feel free to empathize with him. Heh.) It makes up for the smidge of unfairness of his getting to be friends with all the sciencey-geeky-nerds that I don’t encounter and he fails to appreciate.

  8. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I honestly don’t remember reading any Austen but I know I did so in high school. I really should add her to the To-Read pile.

    The nerd manual is amusing. Thankfully I’m not fully nerd but am enough nerd that I found myself guilty as charged.

    Your husband’s convo was awesome.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

