What are we reading?

Bath Tangle isn’t very good.  The main characters are a.  unlikeable and b. not suited for each other.  Now that we’re older we know that someone you constantly fight with does not a good partner make.  At least Beatrice and Benedict stopped fighting after they fell in love. In Heyer’s later work, this couple would be the silly ingenues that the main characters of the book get exasperated over.

Read Kitty’s Big Trouble.  Number who-knows in the series.  A little more relaxed than previous books, but still a good plane read.

Read Bewitched and Betrayed, #4 in the Raine Benares series.  Something *happens* in this one!  As in various plots move forward instead of just getting more tangled.  This is another series where I wish the heroine would be able to take a vacation between books, but it’s always running and fighting for her.

Eating for Beginners nowhere near as good as Hungry Monkey.  The author says things like, “Can pregnant women have raw milk products?  Well, the dairy guy’s wife did when she was pregnant once and that pregnancy turned out ok.  That’s good enough for me.”  She’s also really neurotic about what her kid eats.  The kid will only eat healthy and exotic (spicy/sour) foods.  He refuses unhealthy processed stuff and refined grains.  He prefers things in season.  Early on he may have one of those sensory disorders that may cause kids to dislike certain textures (IIRC from my forum days, this is something a speech therapist can fix?).  But he’s eating healthy food!  Why fret that he doesn’t like hot dogs? (Also:  the kid started eating more stuff at age 2.  Two!  Most kids wait until 4 or 5.)  Much preferred Hungry Monkey’s research base and the author’s realization that he should stop worrying and just go with the flow.  Also, he was hilariously funny.

Heroes at Odds by Moira J. Moore is some number in the Heroes series.  The series started out really strong with the first couple of books Resenting the Hero and The Hero Strikes Back, with great world building and interesting character development.  Somewhere in there it lost its way and became angsty with little character change and no more character development (or conversation really) regarding the male protagonist.  Heroes at Risk was so blah that I didn’t bother looking for the next sequel.  But Heroes at Odds leaped out at me at B&N when my parents were visiting so I picked it up.  Turns out I completely skipped Heroes Return, but the online reviews for it say it’s no big loss.  Heroes at Odds is a great improvement over the last couple books.  Again, stuff happens, and the heroine actually grows a little and stops being quite so neurotic and closed mouthed.  The plot is kind of interesting too and the other, non-main characters are interesting.  So, worth the read.

Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal:  OMG fantastic.  Literally Jane Austen with magic.  I await the sequel!

Howards End is On the Landing by Susan Hill: adorable musings on books and reading. Her house sounds so cozy; I wish I had that many books!

Giggling into the Pillow by Chris Bridges: misc. humorous writing about sexual topics. Pretty male-centric but still amusing. Probably the funniest is the story “Found: One Dildo.”

Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury: Did I talk about it already? I love it! Everyone should read it and maybe the author will write a sequel.

10 Responses to “What are we reading?”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    I’ve finally picked up a couple of Heyer books based on a previous “what we’re reading” post. Read Arabella and the Quiet Gentleman. Interestingly enough she was filed under 3 different categories at my local barnes and noble..the first was romance, the second was historical fiction and the 3rd was mystery/detective. Between the two, I definitely liked the mystery book better (quiet gentleman). I’m going to hunt for some more at my local used bookstore.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Interesting– we like the mysteries least because there aren’t any likeable characters!

      • feMOMhist Says:

        I too just started Heyer mysteries as I can get the ebooks for free. There are worse ways to spend an afternoon. Light on plotting but lovely dialogue and scenery (apparently along with all of the States I’m a sucker for the country house)

  2. Comrade PhysioProffe Says:

    I just finished two awesome books (both recently published):

    (1) A book about the 1986 Tour de France, which featured an amazing intra-team battle between Bernard Hinault and Greg Lemond, and chock full of quotes from the protagonists.

    (2) A memoir of a rock journalist who spent ten days on tour with Led Zeppelin in the US in 1975.

  3. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I just finished I, Claudius and started 1984. I think it’s a re-read for me but I can’t remember.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      For some reason I remember the bad marital sex and the woman’s overalls.

      • MutantSupermodel Says:

        Yup, it’s reminiscent of “The Handmaid’s Tale” in that respect. Also “Brave New World”. I find it interesting all of these dystopian novels dismantle sex pretty dramatically. The explanation offered in 1984 about removing sex being a way to keep the people in line is so sensible, it’s scary.

  4. julier Says:

    I really liked Hungry Monkey! It was well written and has some really good recipes. I think I’ll skip Eating for Beginners based on your review.

    I’m currently reading The Best American Science Writing, 2011 which was co-edited by Rebecca Skloot. It is awesome. I highly recommend it to anyone who liked The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. Many of the selections have similar themes and are written in a similar style.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

