A Dream Come True

Something I’ve always wanted to happen just happened.

Someone delivered a giant box of random used books to my doorstep for no real reason!  WIN!

I’ve always wanted a huge load of someone else’s books from like an estate or storage or something.  Imagine the delicious hours sorting through them.  The unusual new finds.

I never want anyone I love to die, but I would love to receive an entire collection of book I wouldn’t ordinarily pick myself and spend months discovering them and deciding what to do with them, like if I got someone’s estate.  Thousands of books picked out by someone other than me, over many years… what I might find!

Maybe someone downsizing?  I just want truckfulls of books to pull up to my house and disgorge heaps of treasure.

In this instance, my partner’s dad found a bunch of books in storage and thought they were partner’s.  Some of them ARE his but some of them are random that I think they were trying to get rid of.  And some were my partner’s brother’s books, and one looks like his mom’s.
Anyway, it made my morning happy!
(Dream small.)
Also, a lot of nice things are coming out in paperback in the next few months.

#2: My parents occasionally pack boxes of books that are not mine and drive them to me at Christmas.  I have all my sister’s old teen romances, and a bunch of random Edward Lear stuff I don’t recognize.

Grumpalumpases, What would be a dream come true for you?

41 Responses to “A Dream Come True”

  1. First gen american Says:

    That’s why I love yard sales on a sat morning…nothing beats the thrill of stumbling upon a pack of great books..especially kid ones in good condition. I can’t believe how many people read crappy supermarket romances though. I like a break in the winter but I am already starting to jones for them.

  2. Belle Says:

    Walking into my office, day after day, and finding a magically clear desk and well-organized work space. Where I could still find things.

  3. profgrrrrl Says:

    At the moment I dream of a week with no student defenses (if my count is correct, I’ll have done 9 by the time we hit spring break) and a home cooked meal made just for me and served to me, with no dish responsibility after. Yeah, I dream big.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Ouch! I think I only have 3 defenses this semester…

      That second dream sounds awesome– you should let your partner know that he could make that dream come true. :)

      • profgrrrrl Says:

        Yep, 9, I counted. And just got wind of a 10th trying to schedule. I anticipate at least 2 more by the end of the semester.

        I let him know … but his cooking is a bit challenged so my expectations are not high. I know he did hear me, at least, and he says he wants to do more of the meal prep. It’s tough, because I like to cook and I like good food — I just don’t like to feel pressured to always cook.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        My DH couldn’t boil water when I married him. But with practice and a few spectacular failures, he is now a better cook than I am. That was true even before we enrolled him in a cooking class (mainly to improve his knife skills) so that he could cook faster. So, practice practice practice!

      • Debbie M Says:

        Two words for you, profgrrrrl: Teach him. Especially if he likes your cooking, too, knowing how to replicate that will be valuable to him if you’re ever out of town or sick or if a friend of his needs a good recipe, etc.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I remember teaching DH how to make my chili. :)

      • profgrrrrl Says:

        As I think about this, I realize that what I really want is for my mom to cook for me. And that happens a few times a year.

        My husband does sous-chef for me when I need it, but his native interest in cooking is pretty much zip (note that he comes from a family that doesn’t cook — never had a homemade b’day cake, etc. I think that plays into all of this a lot). I don’t think he could sustain the motivation to learn to cook well, plus he gets really hung up on the precision of it all (and while a cooking class would help there, I don’t think that’ll happen for a while — at least until he’s done with the current book — because he complains he doesn’t have enough time for his work constantly AND it would suck because then I would be stuck with solo childcare). That said, he’s really good at picking up take-out.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        The cooking class happened on a sabbatical. :) Totally worth all the solo childcare in saved time later!

        DH’s family doesn’t cook either, but he learned. The cooking class definitely helped a lot with letting go of the precision. No, chop doesn’t mean perfect cubes all of the same size.

        Now he does all sorts of weird experimental stuff like making his own vanilla. But he started out with baby steps. (Back when we couldn’t afford much take-out in graduate school…)

  4. bogart Says:

    Ha! I am not sure, but mine seems to involve some sort of travel. Maybe DH planning a surprise weekend away and taking care of all logistical details.

    I think his would involve coming home to a totally clean house Maybe I should arrange that for him sometime. It will require hiring help but that’s not inherently impossible…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Now there’s a dream that can be bought!

      I hear you on the logistical details. I’m even willing to pay for stuff if someone else will just arrange it all for me so I don’t have to think about stuff like taxis to the airport and crap like that.

  5. Cloud Says:

    Hmmm. My dream would probably involve someone giving me a big pot of money so that I could take a really long trip before kids’ school schedules get in the way. And then I’d come back and start my own company.

    No pot of money is going to show up before my daughter starts kindergarten in the fall. But I am working on a plan that will eventually let me start my own company. It will be interesting to see if I still want to do that by the time all the pieces fall into place!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      If a big pot of money showed up for me, I don’t think I would use it to start a company!

    • Rumpus Says:

      I can see starting a company as a dream come true. It’s not mine at the moment, but a lot of people I talk with are considering it.

    • Cloud Says:

      Hmmm. I guess I think of getting a pot of money big enough to live on for a few years while I made a go at my company, not a pot of money big enough to retire on. And really, I’m not sure I’m ready to retire yet- I’d probably end up doing something.

      But yes, now that I think about it, it is a bit odd that my dream is to have enough money to be able to quit my job and work really, really hard at something that may or may not succeed. But there it is.

  6. Ink Says:

    Box delivered to my house that had all the jackets worn by the women in season one of Downton Abbey.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I think that just put me over the top on Downton Abbey references for today. Just went over to Netflix to add to the queue to see what the fuss is all about!

      • Ink Says:

        Same thing happened to me…I got sick of not knowing why everyone kept talking about it. If you have Netflix streaming, you can watch all of season 1 instantly, just fyi. The first episode is rather slow but it takes off from there. :)

  7. chacha1 Says:

    A dream come true for me would be an extra week of paid vacation time and our firm offering a high-deductible health plan. Everything else I can pretty much make happen for myself. :-)

  8. femmefrugality Says:

    If a little elf came and just scrubbed the begeezus out of my house. Got it perfect. Then I could handle it from there.

    Book are awesome, too!

  9. BigLittleWolf Says:

    Any gift of books is treasure indeed. (How do people manage to live without at least some (few hundred) real books???

  10. Rumpus Says:

    I think right now a dream come true for me would be a bit more socializing…with family or friends. Heck, I’d even take colleagues at work if it didn’t involve them giving me more busywork.

  11. itsprobablyphdme Says:

    You know that scene in Beauty and the Beast, where the Beast walks Belle into the library and tells her it’s hers? Yeah, that’s mine.

  12. Lindy Mint Says:

    Personal chef. That is all.

    I have a whole garage full of unwanted books. Do you like graphic novels?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      SEND THEM TO US

      aheam, sorry. That just popped out. Yes, #1 likes graphic novels. There are a whole bunch on my wishlist and I got some great ones for Christmas. I’ve been into them more and more for the past decade or so.

  13. Leah Says:

    Paid student teaching? Total pipe dream. A solvable dream: time to use my new sewing machine. I got one for Christmas, and I still haven’t been able to find enough time to set the machine up, figure out how to work it, and sew a small project. I have all the supplies, but I’m either working, doing schoolwork, or doing side gigs to make a little cash to help get me through this semester (I am spending the bare minimum, but gas does need to be purchased, and my husband and I haven’t joined bank accounts yet. And I’d like to not dip into my savings for student teaching).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah, that particular stage is really rough with the poverty. Good luck! At least it has a finite end date.

      • Leah Says:

        Thanks! The end is near. I’m 6/16 of the way done now. I’ve got a great cushion saved up, so I’m not truly worried (thank you, GRS). And I’m glad I am doing this. I am taking some major bumps and bruises, but it is wonderful to be able to do so in the safety of another teacher’s room. My mentor can talk me through issues and provide tips for how I can do better. Definitely priceless. I am still so glad I am doing this, and I can hack poverty for another 6 months. I’ve had 7 years of living this way. What’s one more? Heck, I might make it two more and get all our student loans paid off before I get tempted to enjoy the significantly larger salary I will earn.

  14. Rogue Woman Says:

    Oh how I ADORE books. Everyone and their mother is using a kindle and I am just holding out. I will always choose a real book anyday!

  15. Funny about Money Says:

    What would be a dream come true? Other than a living wage? For someone to please come and take about 4/5 of this 50-year collection of books off my hands.

    Want books? Will share…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

