Pregnancy Exercises

The BEST thing about the Bradley Course we took when I was enciente with DC was the exercises.

I’ve been recently reminded that I need to start doing those again because they feel so good.  (And not doing them… is kind of achy.)

1.  Pelvic Tilt/Pelvic Rocking:  This is the most amazing thing ever.  You get on your hands and knees and put your back flat, then you tilt your pelvis forward and back.  It should feel amazing.

2.  Butterfly.  Sit with the flats of your feet together and try to get your knees to touch the ground.  There’s also a variant where your partner pressures your knees in the other direction.

3.  Tailor sitting.  This is sitting with your legs crossed, but they don’t overlap.

4.  Squatting.  Something one should be doing a lot whenever one needs to pick something up off the ground.

5.  Kegels.  Also helpful when you sneeze…

6.  Relaxation while cuddling.  We haven’t done this one so much, but we made it an important part every day when DC was on hir way.

Any pregnancy tips you found helpful?

5 Responses to “Pregnancy Exercises”

  1. Leah Says:

    These are great back exercises in general. I do 1, 2, and 4 as part of my regular workouts to help with back pain.

  2. Perpetua Says:

    I did a fabulous prenatal yoga video during both pregnancies that included most of these exercises and a few more – it felt great. We did one that started with a squat, then slowly rolled to standing, with arms over head, and then back again. Very simple, but it felt great. Though I have to say the best thing for me during pregnancy was walking (which is different, I know).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Walking is definitely awesome. It helps all sorts of systems! (Which is me trying to politely not say it helps one go potty in addition to helping circulation etc. Poor DH… we had to share something unpleasant or something like that in a Bradley class for the oldest and he said he was not used to my increased scatological conversation… I brought that up the other night and he noted that we’ve finally been able to cut down on such discussions with our oldest… and I said that means I get 5 more years of poo-talk with the youngest.)

  3. Cloud Says:

    I have apparently blocked all memory of this sort of thing from my mind…I know I did things to help with back pain, etc., but I can’t really remember the details. I do remember sitting on a exercise ball quite a bit, though. And I kept up with my regular yoga classes both times. Which only reminds me how much I miss having a regular yoga class. I need to work on that.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

