Link love

A fantastic introspective post by MutantSuperModel.  Cheer her on!

Another chores post, this by Cherish the Scientist.

Clio Bluestocking Tales notes that we are all pregnant now, but only in the state of Arizona.

So do happy working women exist?  This info graphic from making sense of cents suggests that yes, in fact, 70% of women are happy with their work life balance (and, of course, men are happier on almost all dimensions than women, but that doesn’t mean that happy women don’t exist.)

In attach baby mode discusses differences in childbirth between her home country and the US.  And yes, epidurals do increase c-section rate, empirically.

ZOMG DANCING CARD CATALOG.

Have you ever wanted to punch a nun in the face?  After reading this post from Fie upon this quiet life we suspect you might.

At this hectic time of the semester, what class are you struggling with, and why?

Jacq just left this awesome article on trickle down consumption in the comments– very much worth a read.

Oopsie– forgot to link to Oil and garlic’s hilarious blog reading flow chart.  Here it is!

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

14 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Spanish Prof Says:

    Thanks for the link!

  2. inbabyattachmode Says:

    Thanks for the link!

  3. Rumpus Says:

    Wil Wheaton makes me laugh. http://tabletop.geekandsundry.com/ Maybe not as much as Yahtzee http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation but funny enough.

    Also, is it odd that I think most writers get better over time, but comics peak after a year or two and then just decline? The only online comic I know that started meh, then got pretty good (to me subjectively, of course) and has apparently stayed that way for several years is Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal http://www.smbc-comics.com/

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Until very recently, I think Sheldon got better over time. I think he’s spending too much time on his other comic, Drive, these days and Sheldon is suffering.

      Gunnerkrigg Court just keeps being amazing. Oh, and xkcd is still awesome.

      • Rumpus Says:

        I like Sheldon and it’s had an amazing run, but I agree that it’s been a little rocky lately. Like, what’s up with adding a stupid cat?

        Hm, Gunnerkrigg Court’s been around since 2005…so that’s seems like a pretty solid run. It doesn’t really grab me, but I can see why people like it.

        Even if there are some comics that don’t decay into a waste of time, the majority that catch my interest don’t hold it for more than a couple of years. That could be something with me, but isn’t it much more likely that there’s a pattern followed by every webcomic?

        Heck, even Rifftrax isn’t as good as it used to be, though Unskippable has somewhat filled that need. Not that those are webcomics but they’re pretty interchangeable for me. http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/unskippable

      • Rumpus Says:

        Oh, and I like Sci Fi…but I think there’s a reason we don’t see so many sci fi webcomics. I’m unconvinced that the medium is copacetic with the typical sci-fi themes. Just like there isn’t so much going on in western-themed comics.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Another thought: questionable content did the cerebus thing rather than the crap, can’t remember what the jumping the shark comic example was…

        I can’t even remember the name of that webcomics blog…

      • Rumpus Says:

        You mean Cerebus Syndrome? Like Sluggy? http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/CerebusSyndrome
        Wow, remind me never to go to tvtropes.org again…I could lose entire months if I start clicking on all those links to comics.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Hm, that’s not what I remember the definition being by the dude who coined it. He talked about how cerebus went from being one liners to having a great story while still having the humor.

        The sluggy jumping the shark thing failed at cerebus syndrome and did something else.

        But maybe I’m misremembering.

        Websnark… was the dude called websnark? Aha: http://www.websnark.com/archives/2004/09/faq_lexicon.html
        First and Ten is apparently the sucky version.

        Man, I wonder if sluggy is still going. It was so awesome a little over a decade ago…

      • Rumpus Says:

        Wow. Websnark. That’s a blast from the past. Is it ironic or just trivial that the website from which I learned “jumping the shark” fell by the wayside and was forgotten for these many years? Apparently moved sites and continued through the end of 2011. Hm. I would ask how many websites did you previously follow religiously and now ignore, but I’m not sure I want to ponder down that road myself for too long.

  4. Rumpus Says:

    Oh, and tvtropes led me to this review (darn you internet for sucking me in!)

    http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/reviews.php?target_group=Main&target_title=KenichiTheMightiestDiscipline#2442

    That’s the anime where the guy acts like his crazy masters at the end. Cracks me up.
    Though not as cool as that anime where they make bread and have the disco theme.
    Just goes to show that if you waste enough time, eventually everything on the internet is connected and you can sound like a crazy conspiracy theorist.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I have that anime! It is hilarious!

      Can’t remember the name of the bread anime, but I watched like half of it. Which is probably 100 episodes or something. They made it to Paris… but never did make the perfect Japanese bread.

      I used to eat bread…

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Thanks for the sweet link. *hugs*

    I’m gonna entertain myself with the rest of your awesome stuff now.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

