I am so old

Ways that I know I am old:

Things are too sweet for me.  I now take my coffee black.  Even soda is awfully sweet.  Thai iced tea is right out.

Taking care of my physical body takes, it seems, ALL my time.  I get a haircut, go to the doctor, the dentist, the eye doctor, eat healthy.

Call insurance.  Go to pharmacy.  Yell at pharmacy.

Go to gym.  Go to bed early.  Buy clothes for riding.

Drink more water.

Doctor Yoda

I don’t even have time to do things except for take care of this body!  I like being in my head better.  ARGH so much time!  If only this body didn’t take so much work.

I know you feel me, grumpeteers!

40 Responses to “I am so old”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    I definitely feel like that a lot of times. One to add to the list. “If you drink too much, it knocks you on your ass for days afterwards”. Hangovers take way longer to recover from, so as a result, I drink a lot less now.

  2. Julie R Says:

    Things have always been to sweet for me, so I don’t think that’s a sign of getting old.

    I know I’m getting old because it’s getting harder to get a good night’s sleep and actually feel rested and healthy in the morning.

  3. karifur Says:

    What’s the geek rating on the fact that I know EXACTLY which scene of which episode produced that Doctor Who picture?
    It just happens that I’ve seen that episode a million times because it has one of the funniest scenes ever, in any TV show ever made. :)

  4. Linda Says:

    I started feeling this way in my mid-30’s. Ten years later I can’t say it’s any better, but it doesn’t seem much worse, either.

    I, too, feel like I am doing a lot to keep my body in decent shape, but I always feel like I could do more: increase my exercise level (which is pitiful these days), eliminate all sugar and refined flours, etc, etc. I just try to cut myself some slack, though, since it is very hard to do all of that AND work a more than full-time job AND have any type of social life at all.

    My friends know that I’m not a late night person. To me that’s my big “I’m getting old” thing: it is so rare that I am awake past 11 PM these days, and anything that messes with my sleep cycle (time changes, etc.) leaves me *wiped*right*out*

    Most stuff has seemed too sweet for me for a long time. I’ve always been more of a salty/savory-craving person.

  5. rented life Says:

    I get sore a lot faster (and for a lot longer) from things like moving, new exercises, sleeping funny, etc. I don’t do well with long car rides–I have to stop. I used to just go, go, go. Sweet things bother me–not everything, but then my husband is older than me and it doesn’t bother him at all. (What Thai tea are you having that it’s sweet btw? What I get when we’re out, you have to add your own sugar, which I never do.)

    Bring a night person still means I’m doing my better thinking at night, but being older means if I’m up past 1am I’m not in good shape the next day. And I can’t be up that late too many times in a row. I just need more real sleep than before. I love onions but they get to me if I have too many.

  6. bogart Says:

    Um, yes. And two years ago when I broke my arm very badly (no horses were implicated!) I realized the following disturbing fact: this body has to last me the rest of my life. Urgh!

  7. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    I definitely feel this way. When I was pregnant with my second daughter, I literally felt like my body was going to fall apart!

  8. chacha1 Says:

    Apologies in advance if this annoys anyone. I’m 46 and I don’t actually find that I spend any more time (or money) on keeping healthy now than I did in decades past.

    I mean … you eat at any age. Preparing food takes the time that it takes regardless of age. I’ve known a lot of older people who let their nutrition completely fall apart because they were “tired of cooking” but you know what? Those people never really cooked in the first place.

    It’s possible to buy healthy convenience food. It will cost more than cooking it yourself, but if it’s *time* that is a challenge, the trade-off is available.

    As to exercise … you should do that at any age, too. When I was younger I only worked out regularly when I was single. When I wasn’t single, the time that would have gone to working out went to dating. Since marriage, the time that would have gone to dating has quite easily and painlessly transitioned back to working out.

    Health maintenance – in most cases – only takes longer when you get older if you haven’t done a good job of it in your youth. We all have to get our eyes checked, teeth cleaned, flu shot, PAP smear, whatever, throughout our adult life.

    Anyway. Maybe worth remembering that even if it does mean you have to make an extra doctor visit or two each year, getting older is better than the alternative.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I find it is much easier to stay healthy when living in California than when living in parts of the country where going outside sucks a good portion of the year and the food doesn’t taste as good because it’s all shipped in from California, and it isn’t as healthy because red states defend their constitutional right to put mayo and sugar in everything. That could be some of what is being attributed to aging– moving from paradise to someplace that isn’t set up for making a healthy lifestyle easy. In my early 20s I could (and would) walk to work. Here there’s nothing in walking distance to work, and even if there were, I would pass out at least a quarter of the year trying to do it since triple digit temps and I don’t get along.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Yeah, I also moved to a place that made me sad, so I ate butter to deal with it. I moved away from the land of plentiful healthy fresh food, and away from the friends I used to exercise with. Getting older in a red state sucks.

      • Debbie M Says:

        Amen to “constitutional right to put mayo and sugar in everything.” Spaghetti and Chinese food (besides sweet-and-sour things) do not need any sugar.

        Not to mention the constitutional rights throughout the US to put hydrogenated oils and high-fructose corn syrup in everything.

        Mmm, stress eating. I love it. There are some nasty side-affects, though.

  9. pvcccourses Says:

    Wait, what??? Here i thot all those quirks were signs of “smart,” not “old”….

  10. Leigh Says:

    Get up. Go to work. Hang out with coworkers or work out. Go to sleep. Repeat :/

    Sitting on the couch after work is so much easier than going to the gym… Oops.

    I finally feel like a grown-up.

  11. Anandi Raman Creath (@anandi) Says:

    You know, I think the “too sweet” thing is a function of the way you’re eating while pregnant (if this was written by the Pregnant One, heh). IIRC you eliminated most simple carbs and sugar especially, right? That’ll ratchet your sweet tooth way, way down. I found even diet Coke (my poison of choice) tasted icky when I did the Whole30/Paleo thing. Which would have been great if I had stuck to it.

    Re: body “maintenance”, I feel the same way, but I think again it’s a function of having a more busy, structured life, than a result of being old (or maybe we get that kind of life when we get older). Before I had a kid, it was easy and maybe even fun to get away for a couple of hours to get a haircut, mani/pedi, etc. Now I can barely be bothered to get my nails done because I either can’t find the time to go sit there, or I’d rather do something else with that time when I have it.

    Yesterday I got my hair cut and colored, and the whole process took 2.5 hours. I was ready to crawl out of my skin by the time I was done, because I was thinking about all the other stuff I could have been doing during that time. At this point it just feels like maintenance vs/ pampering :( What does help is that I only get a haircut quarterly and color maybe 2x/year. I try to “batch up” appointments – so add on eyebrow wax, nails, etc so I’m not making a separate trip for those. I also go to the salon closest to work (at work, actually, how sad is that?!) to save time.

    So I refuse to think it’s getting old – maybe that we’re better about scheduling and going to all those “health maintenance appointments” and have so much other shizz to do, that it just seems like more work than it did in our 20s. That’s my (data-lacking) theory, and I’m sticking to it.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      No, #1 isn’t pregnant and has never been.

      But yes, #2’s sweet tooth did go away around 7 years ago when she cut out sweets and refined carbs (in response to the PCOS) and it hasn’t returned. She now appreciates dark chocolate. She is amazed at how adaptable the human body is if you just give it some time.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      (The pregnant one also did not fall off a horse the other day. :) )

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        #1 saves time by not having hair color, mani/pedi, waxing, etc. I hadn’t changed my diet at all when I noticed things being too sweet. I do love me some dark chocolate! Nom nom nom….

  12. Debbie M Says:

    And here I thought y’all were mostly all youngsters. I have very few signs of being old (at age 49.5, which I thought was older than most of you guys, but which is not old at all, in case you’re wondering).
    1) I wear mom pants. But low-waisted pants don’t feel right. They don’t actually fall down, but they sort of feel like they’re about to. Plus the pockets are too short, and things that are in my pockets are positioned so that it kind of hurts when I sit down. Also, I like to tuck in my shirts.
    2) I say, “Back in my day…” a lot, admittedly on purpose, in an accent, to be funny. But when telling a story I sometimes have to include a history lesson such as “this was before cell phones.” By the way, “Air Force One” perfectly captured that time between when cell phones were invented and when they were common. Plus it’s a good movie. Best President ever.
    3) Everything’s too loud. I wear earplugs in movie theatres! (Wait, age is associated with hearing loss. But it’s also associated with persnickitiness.)
    4) I prefer old-time spellings of things. And some old-time grammar things, though I’m glad we don’t have to care so much about not ending sentences with a preposition, because worrying about that is something up with which I will not put. (I think I stole that last quote from somebody, but I forgot who. Forgetting is not a sign of aging in me; forgetting details has always been a part of my personal style.)
    5) I can no longer see perfectly either near or far. Waaah! Glasses totally work, though, so yea!

    I do walk funny like an old person, but it’s due to some sort of heel pain that is temporary. Also, it hurts to put my arms overhead, but again, that is due to a temporary pain in one should which I am fixing and have already fixed in the other shoulder.

    I still like way too much sugar. (Except not in things that are supposed to be savory). I do remember the day (in my twenties?) when I discovered it was possible for something to be too greasy. I don’t want my fried rice to actually glisten.

    I never drank (alcohol is yucky, and I’m a picky eater), so I don’t know if my recovery period from that has changed.

    I think I get the sore the same amount as before, except I do remember it was really bad in high school. I remember complaining, “All I have to do is LOOK at a muscle and it starts aching.” If someone would have told me those were literal growing pains, I would have been ecstatic.

    I totally tripped and fell running down the sidewalk a couple of years ago and was very pleased that I suffered only some bruises and scrapes. It was just like being a kid again! None of this broken hip business that becomes the first step leading to my demise.

  13. hush Says:

    I love me some Yoda, thank you for sharing that!

  14. Rumpus Says:

    I think more about how much time courses of action will take. If I think about picking up a new hobby then I have to figure out if it’s going to fit in my schedule or if I have to change things. Also I find myself listening less than I wish and talking more. I have more friends, but fewer of them live in the same state as me.

  15. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Worrying about health is a big one for me and yeah I feel it’s a sign I’m older. It’s really hard to imagine yourself living very long when you’re young. And then you get to a certain age and it hit me– I’m going to probably be here a long time.
    And I’m sick all the time. And I don’t recover as well anymore. And sleep. Sleep is such a THING.

    Oh it’s all too much!

  16. Revanche Says:

    I bit into a dessert the other day and my teeth wanted to secede from the union. My tolerance for sweets has declined 90% but that was a huge insult.

    Every other bone and muscle in my body can (has and does) feel old but leave me the cake, f’r heaven’s sake!!

    I’ve gotten more lecture-y in the last couple of years. For an introvert, when did I forget how to shut up? Oh, when the younguns couldn’t stop screwing up. (And mind, they’re not even necessarily younger, they just lack life experience so …)

    I refuse to go out. PiC has to drag me out, weekends, so much so that when I propose outings (ok, I did that once) on my own that involve doing things he has no interest in, he jumps at it.

    My viewing should be scheduled any day now. Y’all are invited. *snrk*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

