RBObaby

  • DC1 and DC2 are very different in many ways, but they are equally perfect.
  • I either had a 3+ week labor or an hour and a bit more labor, depending on when you start counting.
  • Last time it stopped hurting when I started pushing.  This time it didn’t hurt until it was time to start pushing.
  • This time there were more interventions (they broke my water, they moved aside the cervix lip).  Interventions are unpleasant.  They make me say, “Ow.”
  • Last time the nurses were all talking the next day about what a trouper I was.  This time I was not so impressive.
  • Only one stitch this time.
  • My sister says DC2 looks like an Ann Geddes baby.  I think she’s right.
  • All that extra movement in the womb (there was lots of amniotic fluid, so lots of room) did result in super-baby-strength.
  • DC2 does not seem to mind being swaddled.  We must learn how to swaddle.
  • With DC1, I wondered why anybody would leave the hospital early to go home.  With DC2, I understand– we wanted to go home to see DC1.
  • DC2 has been nursing like a champ.  My breasts are also not just colostrum and there hasn’t been any problem with DC2 not getting enough.  In fact, DC2 did not lose any weight in the hospital, which is unusual.
  • I don’t think I’ll ever be able to call DC1 “little” again.  Ze is so big now compared to DC2 (though DC1 was a pound smaller at birth).  They’re so amazing.
48 Responses to “RBObaby”

  1. Dr. O Says:

    Congrats on baby #2!!!!!

  2. feMOMhist Says:

    congratulations

  3. mom2boy Says:

    Congratulations!!

  4. Perpetua Says:

    Congratulations! I’m 100% convinced that you were “impressive”. The whole thing is a f&*king miracle start to finish, and birthing mothers are always impressive. (But I know what you mean – I was not so impressive with #1.)

    When they put #2 in my arms, I exclaimed, “Ze is *definitely* smaller than #1 was!” Wrong on both counts, ze was bigger (two ounces and an inch and a quarter – not a dramatic difference, but it highlights how used to toddler 1; newborns are tiny!) I felt the opposite about the hospital w/ #2 – I wanted to stay longer, because I was really anxious about integrating the two and having the toddler climb all over me, and I wanted time alone w/2.

  5. NoTrustFund Says:

    Congrats! Swaddle blankets are amazing if you haven’t seen them. We’ve used the miracle blanket and then another one with Velcro, the name escapes me. If you have a strong baby ze might learn to break out of a normal blanket quickly.

    • Leah Says:

      yes, swaddle blankets make swaddling easy and effective. I used them with the twins I babysit. They would fall asleep almost instantly upon being swaddled.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We had a ton of all sorts of kinds of things for swaddling with #1, but DC1’s hatred of swaddling was only eclipsed by hir hatred of the car seat, so we never used them. (Ze did eventually get used to the car seat once it started taking hir to daycare, which ze loved.) We looked for them, but either they’re packed away someplace that doesn’t make sense or we gave them to someone with a baby who could actually use them.

  6. bogart Says:

    Congratulations!!!

  7. becca Says:

    Woo! Congrats! Sounds like everything went reasonably well. Though yeah, owie to interventions.
    Swaddling can be awesome.

  8. Cloud Says:

    Congrats!

    Get a swaddling blanket. Neither of my kids really liked to be swaddled- the first in particular fought like crazy to get her arms free. But the swaddlepotomous or whatever we had made swaddling easy.

    And yes, your oldest will forever more seem huge.

  9. gwinne Says:

    Ah, congrats!

  10. SP Says:

    Yay! Congratulations! I’m glad everyone is well and happy!

  11. bogart Says:

    … as an aside, I never found the swaddling blankets very helpful. Because, you know, there’s always someone who nay-says whatever everyone else is endorsing. But that said, I’m totally in favor of the idea of trying a swaddling blanket and seeing if it works for you because, hey, small babies: hard work.

  12. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Congratulations! When I had my first, I was sharing a hospital room with a mother who had just had her 5th child. She was treating it like a total vacation because, honestly, it was.

  13. scantee Says:

    Congrats!

    I liked the linen blankets for swaddling because they were big but not bulky. Also, my oldest like to be swaddled but only if he could have one arm out of the swaddle and I found regular blankets easier than the special swaddlers for that.

  14. Grace Says:

    AHHHHHH! (And I’m not even a baby person–I preferred getting mine walking, talking, and–mostly–toilet trained)

  15. Madwoman with a Laptop Says:

    A hearty congratulations to each and all! Do you think the super-baby strength is really attributable to the amount of amniotic fluid in the womb — Or could it be ze picked up on the whole Olympic vibe and came into the world ready to rumble? I don’t know much (anything!) about babies, but, well, I like that theory.

  16. chacha1 Says:

    Congratulations. :-) Glad to hear everyone is doing well!

  17. itsprobablyphdme Says:

    Happy news! Congratulations on the second little one!

  18. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    Congratulations on your precious new baby~! Bringing your little one home from the hospital is the best feeling in the world. Enjoy every moment!!!

  19. Leigh Says:

    Congratulations!!!

    I particularly liked your last bullet: ‘I don’t think I’ll ever be able to call DC1 “little” again. Ze is so big now compared to DC2′ :)

  20. What Now? Says:

    Congratulations on the newly extended family!

  21. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Congratulations to you and your bigger family! I am so excited for you. How is DC1 handling all the chaos? I’m super impressed you’re posting already. You’re a bad-ass.
    I LOVE the word swaddle.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      So far DC1 has been loving being the center of attention with all hir favorite relatives (most of whom came expecting the baby to be born 3 weeks before ze was). Otherwise ze’s been pretty much taking things in stride and is very gentle with the new baby.

  22. First Gen American Says:

    Life. It is such a miracle. It makes everything else seem trivial in comparison.

  23. InBabyAttachMode Says:

    Congratulations on baby #2!!

  24. Amanda@LadyScientist Says:

    Delurking to say Congratulations!

  25. Clio Bluestocking Says:

    Congratulations! Welcome to the world, D2!

  26. Julie R Says:

    Congratulations!

  27. Donna Freedman Says:

    Congratulations on your little gift.

  28. Barb - The Empty Nest Mom Says:

    Amazing they are indeed. Each one. Each time. Congratulations!

  29. hush Says:

    Mazel, mazel!!!

    “With DC1, I wondered why anybody would leave the hospital early to go home. With DC2, I understand– we wanted to go home to see DC1.” AMEN!! ;)

  30. It’s a brand new Link Love « Grumpy rumblings of the half-tenured Says:

    [...] a little light this week because #2 was busy having a baby!  [...]

  31. Linda Says:

    I missed this post somehow, but was reminded of it when I saw your Links this week. Congrats on the new baby! May your recovery involve a bit of wheat or sweets (some cake perhaps?) since you’ve been so restricted these past few months!

  32. karifur Says:

    Congratulations! So glad to hear the second birth was such a breeze!

  33. Alyssa Says:

    Congrats!! So glad the birth went relatively smoothly!

  34. Louise Says:

    Congratulations! glad to hear you are both well and happy

  35. Practical Parsimony Says:

    Congratulations! Somehow, I missed the reporting of this event. Back in the 60s, swaddling was not something I ever heard about. But, instinctively, perhaps, I knew that holding down flailing arms and legs as I held my babies, calmed them. I then taught other young mothers to hold the baby to their chests (to hear mother’s heartbeat) and hold down arms and legs ad only whisper. These women were jiggling babies who had arms and legs flailing and were inconsolable. The mothers were also being very loud. Their actions jarred me.

    My daughter swaddled hers. He looked like a sausage. I was amused but did not dare say so. Of course, she did not have to hold him to immobilize him.

  36. Allyson Says:

    Congratulations!

  37. Que Sera Says:

    Felicidades! I can identify with many of these bullets. Hope all is going well with you and your LO.

  38. GMP Says:

    I totally missed this post – belated congratulations on the new addition to your family!

  39. What makes a blog post popular? Drama or the hope of redneck jokes? | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured Says:

    […] So, I was curious to see if that held true for us.  (On that day last week, our own posting was a lengthy gripe about the lawn, which did not get so many comments as say, our more positive posts about things like getting tenure or having a baby…) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

