Things that irritate us

  1. People who don’t answer my emails
  2. Having to remember to send reminder emails after two weeks of radio silence
  3. Credit card companies screwing up
  4. Hurry up and wait and then hurry up again
  5. Being asked how the baby is sleeping.  Just.  Shut.  Up.
  6. Boomerang chores.  You finally make that call, but then you have to wait for them to call back.  You set up the appointment, which reveals that you need to make yet another appointment.  You manage to pick up that book from the library… which means you have to make another trip to return it.
  7. Booking conference travel and annoying booking sites that mess things up.
  8. Next semester’s class schedule playing musical chairs.  No, I do not want to come up with a new elective for next semester.  I swear, another section of the core course I’m teaching will have more students in it than any brand new elective I could come up with.
  9. The hospital sending more bills.  Especially incorrect bills!  Hopefully tomorrow DH will clear up their 4.5K mistake bill.  (The hospital is *in network* that means we don’t owe you what BC/BS denied.  Especially when what they denied is more than the cash cost of the delivery if we didn’t have insurance!)
  10. The physicality of my body.  This quote from Jerry Holkins of Penny Arcade pretty much sums it up:

    “I am not invested in my husk, so the idea that I should pay someone on television to elevate it somehow is preposterous.  This is the cloud of interstellar junk that happened to congregate around my consciousness; it’s functionally a waste product.  I don’t want to improve it, I want it cleaned off.”

What irritates you these days?

28 Responses to “Things that irritate us”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    Word. I don’t think I have ever had a major expense from bcbs get approved automatically like it should….even when I called before the procedure and ensured and doublecheckef all my ducks were in a row.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It sounds like what happened is they paid the bill twice, once for Baby Mylastname and once for Hirfirstname DHslastname. Then they realized that was the same baby and asked for their money back for one of the two payments. So a problem mostly with the hospital side, not totally BC/BS.

      We’ve generally had very little problem with BCBS here compared to back in Bluestate, but BCBS covers less and costs a whole ton more here, so they have less incentive to deny correct claims.

  2. feMOMhist Says:

    wait, are you living my life?
    1. email is so 20th century and when people don’t even answer it I feel mad as hell
    3. took approx. 10 emails to get hotel chain to reverse charge they made to my card even though first email contained my proof of cancellation
    6. not only the boomerang but also the Sysiphian chores (didn’t I JUST clean the kitchen counters off?)
    8. Seriously. I’m teaching like 2x the # of students in gen ed courses while my colleagues kick it in electives. So you know what, Yes I DO want to repeat a course that I taught for the first time this semester next semester!
    9. We forgot to do the asinine certification of sole coverage so ALL the doc bills from end of summer back to school physicals etc got bounced

  3. Kellen Says:

    1. Partners who blame their staff for everything. Yes, we’re all responsible adults, responsible for our own actions, but as the people making the big bucks, you are also the ultimate Responsible Person for making sure things get done right.

  4. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Negativity when it doesn’t even make sense. If our conference garnered, say 250 hotel reservations last year and this year it has garnered 400 reservations, it is apparently NOT a given that we will have more attendees.

  5. Debbie M Says:

    * People telling us to “do more with less.” Laws of physics, people.
    * People who already have higher salaries getting bigger raises (even percentage-wise) than people with lower ones.
    * A president/principal/CEO etc. can make or break an organization. But sometimes we underlings don’t want things broken–we run around with the bandaids and the splints, fixing the damage in the wake as best we can because we want things done right, even without outside support. Then we hear that because things are going fine, there obviously is no problem.
    * Automated checkout machines. “Please place the item in the bag.” I did–it’s a seed packet; of course you can’t feel that.
    * Automated toilet flushing. I should be able to tie my shoes without wasting 1.6 gallons of water (or whatever)–I don’t want a toilet training me on how I can move.
    * University who keeps forgetting about staff. Latest example: after the bomb scare, we were told that classes and activities were canceled until 5:00, but buildings would be open. So, students knew not to come to class, meetings, etc., but that they could go back to dorms and cafeterias. Faculty knew not to teach their classes but that they could get back into their labs. Staff–is what we do an activity? Turns out not, unless we have vital roles.
    * Freezing cold buildings in the summer. It can take me 30 minutes of walking in 99-degree heat to thaw out during lunch. That’s not a good use of taxpayer and tuition money.
    * Buses – it’s a love/hate relationship. Will the bus ever come?
    * Movies with great special effects but crappy writing.
    * Veronica Mars and Logan Echols (and Veronica’s dad) not communicating like they should.

  6. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Oh yes, asking about how the baby is sleeping is never good. If baby is sleeping good, you’ll hear about it from amazed new parents. If not? It’s bad enough living it, let alone talking about it.

  7. Leah Says:

    Kids who don’t want to be in class and think it’s their right to distract from the learning of others. I’ve been taking a class of kids outdoors to do hands-on stuff, hoping it would pique some interest. Yesterday, someone stuffed grass in my shoes (I was wearing waders because we were looking at pond critters and none of them would go near enough to the pond to get water out). And that was just the last straw. So, we’re now going to start doing indoors book work thanks to the 25% of the class that can’t control their behavior. This is what irritates me. At least it will be easier to plan and grade, and the textbook I was given is actually interesting and pretty well done.

    That and the idea that you can give a new teacher a class of 32 students, at least 8 of which have known behavior issues, and think that I can work magic, take them all outside (it’s environmental science), and somehow control everybody without sending too many to the office. Thanks.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It is hard keeping control of 32 *graduate* students. I can’t imagine that many kids, a quarter of whom are BD.

      • Leah Says:

        *nod* tots. Yesterday, as punishment, we did silent work in class. We’ll do the same today. And all of next week until our test on Friday. And then we’ll try something fun, and if they mess up, it’s back to boring. I have to teach them something, and I am not going to put lots of work into making interesting/fun outdoor stuff if all they do is dick around.

        My issue with public education is that I either want smaller classes or more money for dealing with what I deal with. But negotiations in our current contract are going toward less money and no less students :-(

  8. Shannon Says:

    People who won’t pull their own weight. The rest of us are all doing more than we should and you won’t pick up some dumb little thing? Insert profanities here.

  9. mom2boy Says:

    Poor to non-existant cell phone reception!

  10. Revanche Says:

    Grouchy that I’m still sick on meds (going on 2 weeks now) to deal with the flare-up caused by the crappy in-laws. Hate that it screws with my brains. I think there’s a cumulative drugs effect going on.

    Yes, Boo on boomerang chores. And emails.

    And again sure would like to be back to my usual efficient self. Where did I go?

  11. Practical Parsimony Says:

    Things that irritate me:
    *Employees at the door who tell me it is not their job to help me get the electric cart out and unplugged or the other way around. If I could yank a cart out to ride on, and twist and bend to unplug it, I would not need to ride it.

    *Kids that run in stores, churches, etc with parents’ blessing.

    *Parents who tell me to mind my own business when I tell the child to stop running, that they are in charge of their kids and they are only children.

    *Parents.

    *Waiting on repairmen who call fifteen minutes after 5 pm and tell me they will be here tomorrow. And, it will be sometime between 8 am and 4 pm….again.

    *Ordering unsweetened tea and having tea wth artifcial sweetener in it brought to me. Then, the confused friend, waitress, person tells me it is just some-brand-name artificial sweetener. I have to keep repeating I prefer unsweeted tea. “It has no sugar.” Then, I say I do not like the sweet taste. “Well, it is artificial sweetener.” I really like the taste of plain tea. “Ohhhh, you don’t like sugar?” How many ways can you tell a person you want plain tea? At any church, civic, friend function, I have to go through this. I am the one who looks ridiculous continually saying, finally, “I don’t like…” Ordering unsweetened tea should be all that is necessary. Rejecting and sending back multiple times irks me. Even when I go up and request my own tea, I am faced with pitchers, jugs, jars of tea with multiple sweeteners. Plain tea is a mystery, even when it is plainly labeled and sitting on the serving table. I try to mind my manners and never say I “don’t like” anything. I try to say “I prefer” or “No, thank you.” (Seriously, sweetened tea makes me gag.)

    *Trying to explain to people that “no, I don’t like sweets. I like chocolate.” Do not press white cake with white frosting on me, declaring that “yes, Linda, I have seen you eat chocolate, so I know you like sweets!”

    Okay, I have a food theme going here.

    This one is a biggie!
    *It irks me to go into a store to buy a flat shoe “sort of like the one I have on,” pick it out–black flats, T-strap or Mary Jane. and show it to them. Then, the person brings me a red pair of heels. Or, a strappy pair of turquoise sandals. Or, a brown boot. Finally, now I ask, “How it that black?” “It is November and you think sandals would be a timely purchase?” “Brown boots look like black shoes with straps?

    Ordering tea and buying flat, black Mary Janes or t-strap like I am wearing are my greatest trials in this life.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

