All I want for Christmas is link love (and books)

Both of us dearly love this advice from Offbeat Home about How To Throw a Solstice Party.  Keep it in mind!

FeMomHist with an academic serenity prayer.

Female Science Professor has a year end writing contest.

CNN talks about how big guns are supposed to make up for tiny penises.

Tiny Cat Pants points out that republicans need to make up their minds about teachers.

Funny about Money talks about how she deals with irregular pay.

Reach financial independence asks how much you spend on Christmas gifts.

Dean Dad points out how his savvy daughter handles holiday dilemmas.

Cnn and last minute gifting psychology.  We <3 Dan Ariely.

A delightful find:  Ask Comrade Cockroach.  In this edition, he answers the age-old question:  Pirates or Ninjas?

So… exactly how *did* we get to this video from Carol of the Bells?

7 Responses to “All I want for Christmas is link love (and books)”

  1. Rumpus Says:

    Hey, how come no one is throwing me a party with roast pig and meatballs? Do I have to do everything myself around here?

    I hadn’t looked at DeanDad’s blog before. That dilemma post was cute, but this post’s description of the many “internal” forces yanking on a University’s leads really resonated. http://suburbdad.blogspot.com/2012/12/corporate-governance-shared-governance.html My students are always confused about why professors don’t actually work for them since the students pay tuition. Meanwhile, my industry contacts are quietly consternated about how our students don’t have/know what the companies want. Finally, the management appears to act as though the only thing it cares about is grant money, even as it grows the student-teacher ratio and ignores its inefficient grants process.

  2. Pauline Says:

    Thank you so much for the link love, have a Merry Christmas!

  3. nursefrugal Says:

    Love that psychology article by CNN about last-minute gift. I think that experiences are much better gifts to give then possessions.

  4. rented life Says:

    Next year I’m having a solistic party. But I think I’ll skip ahead in age and just do the pot luck :) (I already feel older than I am, so it’s appropriate.) In my family, I could see some of my elders doing the age 70 thing, but they’d still invite people and loads of alcohol would be involved.

    Thanks for the link on the irregular pay. I’m already living off of irregular pay now, not by choice, so it’s nice to hear about others doing it.

  5. Friday recap 14 Says:

    [...] All I want for Christmas is link love – Nicole and Maggie [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

