RBOC

  • HAPPY NEW YEAR!  (sorry, you’re hungover, I’ll stop shouting)
  • Someone from #1′s university moved to #2′s university.  Ze says that #1 wins the smallest town with worst amenities battle but #2 wins the most limited resources at the university battle.  So… yay?
  • Got a call from a head-hunter today.  Bizarre.
  • Remember the bully dude?  He loudly offered me a cookie from his boxed lunch at the last faculty meeting (mine didn’t have one).  I accepted.  I’m guessing someone had a talk with him (or maybe he’s on new meds, I don’t know).  One of my junior colleagues made a comment about him offering a white flag in front of everybody to me later that day.  I agreed with hir.  I’m still keeping my documentation.
  • Update:  He seems to have moved his target to a senior full professor woman, though he’s not screaming at her… more passive-aggressive and actively blocking anything she suggests no matter what it is.
  • We’ve decided that if we start a new blog we’re going to pretend to be one guy.  And we’ll monetize the crap out of it.
  • Why do some of my colleagues talk in paragraphs full of the same statement phrased different ways over and over and over and over again for minutes?  As in, why do they have to blather on once they’ve made their point?  Is the ability to state a sentence worth of information in a sentence so rare?  Or do they get some kind of benefit from all the extra hot air?  (Too much repetition in the classroom?  But even with teaching I thought repeating a point 3x was the sweet spot.)
Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Cloud Says:

    Happy New Year!

    You should totally start the new blog, write about the same things but pretend to be a guy and see what the difference in response is. It would be an interesting experiment.

    I’m glad the bully dude is better, but too bad he’s moved on to someone else. And hooray for cookies!

  2. Revanche Says:

    My money’s on the bully just redirecting until he forgets. But I need to know why someone’s “changed” to trust that it’s a real change. After all, he’s still being a bully.

    Re: repetition: perhaps they love the sound of their voice and words. :)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah, I assume I’m just not currently being his target. Either someone told him to leave me alone or he changed his meds. He’s still being a jerk to another faculty member.

      I’m little and cute and pretty non-threatening. Not the kind of person you want to get a reputation for bullying if you have any sort of self-image.

  3. hush Says:

    Happy New Year!! Pretend to be one guy blogger = totally. I already know the results would shock and disappoint while confirming everything everyone has always suspected.

    So glad bully dude is off your back, and also that you’re keeping your documentation. Also glad that he’s probably not suffering from some awful, career-ending neurological disorder, but is, most likely, merely a total jackass alpha male who got called out.

  4. bogart Says:

    I’m assuming you’re already doing the guy blogger thing and that this is simply clever misdirection.

    Self-governance is overrated, though only if one can find a benign dictator (the blathering being, I’m assuming a part of the self-governance process).

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    I would love to see this new blog of yours. :D The rumbly grumpings of the somewhat tenured Nicholas Mage!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

