Google questions for a new year

Q:  how to pay for grad school when you were previously independent

A:  for a master’s or professional degree, subsidized federal loans if you can get them.  Maybe your employer will pay!  For a PhD, you don’t pay the school, the school pays you.

Q:  how to spell pet peeve

A:  Like that.

Q:  are scrubbers more sanitary than dish rag for washing dishes?

A:  Depends how often you clean/sanitize/dispose of each.

Q:  can they accuse anyone with lying

A:  Yes.

Q:  is yoplait discontinuing custard style

A:  Gosh I hope not, but that would explain some annoying grocery store trips recently…

Q:  why does my wife pretent everything is perfect when it is not

A:  Sounds like you guys need to talk, maybe with a counselor present.

Q:  can a school force a child to do a subject they dont want to

A:  Yes.  The child does have the option of failing, of course.

Q:  why did i choose to go to graduate studies

A:  We’re guessing masochism

Q:  why would anyone ever want another baby

A:  hormones?

Q:  is it wrong to make a child do a sport that they dont want to

A:  Why would you want to do that in the first place?  YES.  Horribly wrong.

5 Responses to “Google questions for a new year”

  1. Leah Says:

    I am not 100% sure, but I think that the feds no longer offer subsidized loans for grad school. I had subsidized loans, and I vaguely remember seeing something about how the budget changes meant only unsubsidized loans from now on. I didn’t pay too much attention because I was in my last semester, so take that with a grain of salt.

    While schools can force a kid to take a certain subject, they can’t force a kid to sit through every lesson. Again, I’m not 100% sure of the legality, but I was told that, in Minnesota, parents can sign a kid out of whatever lesson/subject they’d like. Then, an alternative assessment must be created. A kid just did that instead of watching Schindler’s list in history class. Not sure how often it happens outside of sex ed and dissection. I guess I’ll find out when I get to the evolution unit.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yes, I believe that was a recent change to subsidized federal loans. I expect that to change back at some point.

      re: kid and forcing… the parents have to get involved, and it will vary by state (and in some states it will vary by district)

  2. bogart Says:

    Well, for the last question with much eagerness from DS I have signed him up for martial arts, which he now declares he never wants to do. But he will, at least a few times; if he REALLY doesn’t want to do it after that, then I will reconsider. So I think it may depend on what is meant by “don’t want to” — is that a passing condition, or a permanent state? Also, I think it is likely OK to insist a child do SOME sport, even if they insist that the set of sports they want to do is null.

    Ask Moxie (and commenters) recently addressed the “another baby” issue (technically framed as a subset thereof, though expanded upon in the comments), here: http://www.askmoxie.org/2012/12/qa-having-a-third-baby.html .

  3. sciliz Says:

    lol I love the discrepancy in your answers for forcing kids to do academic subjects and forcing sports on kids. Although the questions aren’t quite the same (can you force vs. should you force).

    For the record- my rents didn’t make me do either, but they did make me finish a session they’d already paid for in general.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Part of it is that one of us answered each question. Also, there’s a difference between “can” and “should”. Schools can force students to take PE. And parents should be allowed to force their kids to do some physical activity so as to be healthy, but doing sports, why?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

