If you were stranded on desert island…

And you were allowed the full library of only one band, what would you choose?

Partner and I were discussing this last night…

He asked if instead of a band, it could be a composer, and we decided that yes, that is allowed (though only original arrangements– so you could have the jazz version of Rhapsody in Blue and the classical version of Rhapsody in Blue, but not the Swingle Singers version).

He then pointed out that a classical composer is probably the way to go.  I agreed.  Someone very prolific who has a wide range of style and influence across the genre.  Probably also someone who wrote for piano, orchestra, and voice.  (Maybe someone who does movie soundtracks too?)

But who?

#2 picks J. S. Bach.  I love fugues and counterpoint, and he wrote a lot.  Love it!

So, if you were stranded on a desert island and had the full library of only one band or composer, who would be a good choice and why?

27 Responses to “If you were stranded on desert island…”

  1. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    This is a tough one, but it would be between Blacke Crowes and Velvet Underground. The former because they also have a nice library of excellent Led Zeppelin covers, many done with Robert Plant himself. The latter because, well, Lou Reed.

  2. Cloud Says:

    I have no idea who I’d pick on the band front. Maybe Crowded House? Or maybe I could fudge it and say Neil FInn, and get his solo stuff, his stuff with his brother, Crowded House, and Split Enz?

    But the composer one is easy. Beethoven, hands down.

    And I think I agree with your partner- the composer is the way to go.

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    I meant with Jimmy Page.

  4. mugwump Says:

    Oh, until you started talking about composers, I was going to pick the NY Philharmonic as my band. Bach is a good choice for a composer. Reminds me of the movie 2001: a Space Odyssey, where he ends up with Bach on the space voyage.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      ooh, that’s a really good idea for a band! Or maybe the Boston Pops or BSO…

      • First Gen American Says:

        Totally BSO…I am moving down the street from Tanglewood, the summer home of the pops. Can’t wait to get more pops time in this year. That solves my problem of which composer to choose. It’s not that classical music is my favorite thing to listen to but its the one genre that I never get sick of.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Oooh, that is a very pretty area. Expensive too!

  5. Linda Says:

    Looking at my music library, I’d just have to pick someone who I obviously favor since I have so much of the person’s music: Peter Gabriel. Yeah, it’s not some classic composer, but he’s done a lot of different styles of music over the years so it should keep me going.

    P.S. Nice that our desert island has electricity! Does that mean I get to bring a blender, too? ;-)

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Yikes that’s rough. I think maybe Zeppelin. Zeppelin forever on an island doesn’t seem too bad.
    As for a composer, I think maybe Beethoven.

  7. First Gen American Says:

    My second choice would be talking heads and playing “nothing but flowers” for the irony of it all.

  8. bogart Says:

    Per @MutantSupermodel, Zeppelin would be good, but only occasionally or for awhile for me I think.

    I’m leaning toward Lyle Lovett, or if classical, Bach.

    • Debbie M Says:

      Lyle Lovett has the advantage of always reminding you that there are advantages to not being near at least some of your fellow man.

      • bogart Says:

        Good point! Though to be truly serious about that goal, Richard Thompson might be a better choice.

  9. rented life Says:

    I’d probably go with Muse for a band, since I still get something different out of the songs when I listen and I can’t say that for most bands. I don’t typically listen to one particular composer and I get burnt out on classical music fast. Maybe a comtemporary composer like Carter Burnwell? I’m of course assuming the the MP3 player can get the unpublished stuff then it will also automatically be updated with any new pieces the person writes?

  10. Dr. Koshary Says:

    Bach is a nice choice, but I think my vote would have to go to Tom Waits. He writes for piano and voice and, especially if you count all the complex arrangements, for orchestra of one sort or another. And he does soundtracks, or at least soundtrack work. And I love his work.

    But no matter the answer, it’s awfully wrenching to conceive of life with only one. I detect a whiff of tragedy in this little game.

  11. GEW Says:

    I’ve thought about this before: Lyle Lovett.

    (quite surprised someone else said the same!)

  12. JaneB Says:

    JS Bach, I agree. For modern, Maddy Prior (or just her Steeleye Span work if you insist on a single band)

  13. sarah Says:

    have to go with spoon. on a desert island you’ll need music that gets you dancing, and they have enough albums to keep you entertained.

  14. Amy Says:

    I’d have to choose the Indigo Girls, hands down my favorite (although if I could have a mix of Indigo Girls and the Red Hot Chili Peppers, I’d be thrilled). Another interesting choice would be Mark Knopfler, who has written several movie soundtracks (notably the Princess Bride) and collaborated with numerous other artists.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

