What do you have for breakfast?

The idea of getting things done (besides the standard morning ablutions, maybe getting dressed) before breakfast doesn’t really fly at Casa Grumpy.  We tend to, you know, want breakfast.  And breakfast is a good thing to do– it’s correlated with being a healthy weight, it helps start your day, etc. etc. etc.

Here’s our current routine:

#1:  These days I’m having yogurt with granola.  Sometimes Whole Foods Cheerios in milk.  When I’m in a hurry, a larabar and a banana.  Second breakfast is generally a larabar or piece of fruit, though occasionally I’ll dip into lunch and have to find something else for first lunch.

#2:  Bagels & cream cheese.  Frozen waffles.  Microwaved sausage.  Always coffee!  Sometimes cold cereal.  Sometimes instant oatmeal.  Occasionally, leftover pasta.

What else do folks have for breakfast in the grumpy nation?

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 44 Comments »

44 Responses to “What do you have for breakfast?”

  1. eemusings Says:

    Cereal or toast. Usually cereal. Sometimes oatmeal in winter. On weekends, sometimes pancakes, stuff from the bakery, or a hot cooked breakfast with eggs, bacon, hash browns, sausages.

  2. Leah Says:

    Mmmm, bagels and cream cheese. That’s my indulgence breakfast for mid-winter when I need a pick-me-up. Today, I had a smoothie because I have spinach, yogurt, and pineapple I need to use up. I also do oatmeal for breakfast, yogurt + granola, or cereal. And almost always a banana.

    Breakfast is important! Glad to see both of you get something in. I would be a much grumpier person without breakfast.

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    During the week, a Coke Zero. On weekends, a large decaf Americano.

  4. karifur Says:

    I love instant oatmeal. I keep a box of it in my desk at work so I can eat hot oatmeal while settling into my day. Also, coffee. Always coffee.

  5. plantingourpennies Says:

    Greek yogurt with fruit or homemade granola or banana smoothie with powdered peanut butter. Or both if I need second breakfast or elevenses.

  6. Michelle Says:

    I usually don’t eat breakfast. I always feel like I’m in such a rush to leave. However lately I have been trying to eat yogurt on the go.

  7. bogart Says:

    Pretty much what you list. I find if I pour about 1.25 as much boiling water into traditional (not quick) rolled oats and leave them covered for about 5 minutes, stirring once or twice, they serve as “instant oatmeal” for me, without the extra packaging, cost, or gummy texture.

    Greenish bananas are my to-go breakfast. A McDonald’s sausage biscuit is a special (and rare) treat (I know, I know!). We sometimes do bacon and eggs when we’re home and not hurried.

    There is no meal that’s not improved by a generous side (or center) of sliced fresh ripe tomatoes, as far as I’m concerned, but of course they are not in season at the moment.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      #1 used to eat a lot of oatmeal, but she’s been sort of off it since this second pregnancy. My method was half a cup rolled oats, one cup water, microwave one min 30 sec, let sit, stir. I’d put dried fruits in before microwaving and cinnamon after.

      • bogart Says:

        Dried fruit sounds like an interesting addition, haven’t tried that. I’ve tried the microwaving and agree it works but find it produces gummier results.

  8. Perpetua Says:

    I used to eat bagels and cream cheese every day, but now I’ve switched to steel cut oats, toasted pecans, and cocao nibs. With lots of coffee.

  9. Jennifer Says:

    We have a mushroom, tomato, green onion and cheese egg-white omelet. Usually with a side of turkey bacon and plain yogurt mixed with strawberries (and of course coffee!). It takes us 20 min to make and clean up but it feels like such a decadent start to the day. We eat this 7 days/week

  10. Linda Says:

    Variety! A couple days ago I had leftover cornbread and baked beans for breakfast. Yesterday it was a hard cooked egg and a cinnamon roll. Today, I was lazy and on my way to the office I picked up a breakfast “scrambler” dish with a side of potatoes. Tomorrow I’m already planning to break my fast with the last hard cooked egg and piece of leftover pita bread with some homemade jam.

    A couple months ago I was making myself smoothies with fruit (frozen and fresh, mixed), water, flax seed meal, and dehydrated greens. Now that the winter cold has really settled into me, I’m not into cold stuff for breakfast so much.

    Oatmeal is OK, but it never keeps me going through the morning so I always try to jazz it up with extras. Peanut butter is really good stirred into oatmeal, and even better with a chopped banana thrown in. (You can still add cinnamon, too.) The orthodontia really gets in the way at meal times. Bagels have been off my food list for nearly a year after I broke off a bracket while attempting to eat one. :-(

  11. Leigh Says:

    I tend to go through phases and eat the same thing several days in a row and then swap.

    Maple and brown sugar oatmeal, cereal, English muffins with strawberry jam, peanut butter toast. With orange juice. Leftover homemade waffles.

  12. NoTrustFund Says:

    Oatmeal with a little granola on top. Make a big batch of steel cut oats and then just warm up a little each morning.

    I’m trying to drink more green tea and less coffee but I still like my coffee a few times a week.

    And pancakes on the weekends if we have time.

  13. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    I totally would eat hard-boiled eggs for breakfast but I’m too lazy to actually cook them ahead of time. Occasionally I’ve put protein powder in the coffee, but it’s not very good. Black coffee, several cups.

  14. Foscavista Says:

    Protein shake with a banana blended in, or Kashi’s Cinnamon Harvest cereal with milk.

  15. Alyssa Says:

    Right now: a couple of very small home-made banana muffins, a slice of cheese, and fruit (usually oranges, grapes, strawberries, or apples). Other times, I have toast with peanut butter with the cheese and fruit. On the weekends, I sometimes have a fruit smoothy or we make waffles/pancakes. I don’t eat eggs, but DH likes to make them on the weekend as well. I also can’t have milk (apparently I’ve developed an intolerance for it), but DH has cereal every morning.

  16. becca Says:

    Most days- scrambled eggs and veggie sausages or instant oatmeal (the kind with blueberries and flax) or cold cereal, nearly always with a latte. On days I have the time- omelet with mushrooms and cheese (and sometimes spinach or broccoli or asparagus, depending on what I have around). Fresh fruit if I’ve got some. Pancakes on weekends.
    Occasionally (usually once a week or so)- tater tots, a hard boiled egg, a breakfast sandwich on garlic bread from Wegman’s or an english muffin or wheat toast, or leftovers from the night before. I love breakfast burritos too, but don’t eat them often. In season, special pumpkin breads and things. Mmmmm. On very rare occasions (because I never think of it), French toast.
    I love breakfast food.

  17. chacha1 Says:

    I have oatmeal at least four days a week. Real old-fashioned oatmeal. I assemble a Tupperware at home with a half-cup of oats, a couple of tablespoons of dry milk powder, a tablespoon (at least) of ground walnuts, a half-teaspoon of raw sugar, lavish doses of nutmeg and cinnamon, and a spoonful of dried cranberries. At the office, I dump this into a glass bowl that has a convenient molded line right where the water should go up to. Microwave for one minute twenty seconds, stir, let sit for a minute; add two Mini-Moos. Yummy, satisfying, and nutritious.

    Alternative breakfasts are a cup of nonfat plain Greek yogurt, with or without granola; or an English muffin with egg and cheese from the lunch counter downstairs. I nearly always have a piece of fruit mid-morning, and always a cup of coffee.

    To me, a good breakfast is absolutely essential for a fully-functioning brain. It also is pretty important to managing my mood and energy levels.

  18. Debbie M Says:

    Chocolate milk (skim milk + chocolate syrup made from 1 part sugar, 1 part cocoa, 1 part water). Eating more fat and/or protein actually does not keep me from getting hungry long before lunch. I’m always hungry by 10:00 no matter what (or whether) I eat.

    Second breakfast: spelt pretzels (they have some fiber).

    On weekends we usually have brunch, usually out. But I often have breakfast foods for dinner (half fibre-y cereal/half granola, cinnamon oatmeal, cheese omelet, cheese/veggie sausage/scramble, banana chocolate chip pancakes, French toast, muffin and milk, smoothie/milkshake).

  19. Dr. Koshary Says:

    Breakfast tacos, always with an egg base. I go through phases with the other ingredients: e.g., lately, I’ve been on a kick with soy chorizo. And always, always, black coffee.

    I have learned the hard way that I can’t think straight for more than a few hours if I don’t eat some protein at breakfast. I tried oatmeal last week, and I was a zombie before noon even rolled around. Took me hours after lunch to get back on track.

  20. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Breakfast is a great way to start the day. The line I use (buried deep in the text of course) is what successful people do before *most* people are eating breakfast. Not before the person themselves… but that doesn’t fit well into an easily-clicked title. Anyway, I’m trying to eat more nutritious stuff. I love cereal, but I recently did a sugar count on some of my faves and learned that my Kashi has more sugar than my kids’ Lucky Charms. Blech.

  21. Pamela Says:

    Two eggs (either fried in olive oil or scrambled/made into an omelet) and toast. Sometimes I have oatmeal. And tea. I have my double-strong British style tea.

  22. J Liedl Says:

    Hard boiled eggs, pancakes (I can make a small batch on the weekend and then nuke two for 15 seconds), oatmeal, fruit – some variation on those key items most mornings.

  23. gwinne Says:

    Lately I’ve been having a combo of oatmeal (old-fashioned or steel cut) and wheat-free granola, topped with bananas, nuts, sometimes dried fruit. OJ (my major calcium source) and coffee. I still need to eat again by 10:30. I’ve been that way since the last pregnancy…

  24. Rumpus Says:

    Usually cereal with milk or yogurt. Coffee on weekdays and some weekends (yay Tonx for mailing me interesting and yummy coffee beans!). Once every few months I’ll make my favorite, which is waffles with peanut butter and maple syrup. On weekends I’ll occasionally make eggs or bacon or pancakes.

  25. Cloud Says:

    Oatmeal on weekdays. My favorite cold cereal on weekends. The pancake-egg-bacon-hash brown combo on weekends away!

  26. rented life Says:

    95% of the time it’s cereal. Lately it’s been gluten free because too much gluten = swollen hands. Always, always coffee, made at home. Once in a great while i might have something different–a bagel, french toast, but I’m not a morning person. I want something easy, calm, not too much grease or sugar. And I want my coffee. Please don’t talk to me until I’ve been awake for 30-60 minutes. Husband needs regular change in his breakfast. Oatmeal, cereal, sweets. Also always coffee.

  27. Ltg Says:

    1 egg per person (fried or ommelette with olive oil, hard boiled eggs for kids), bread, butter and honey, cheese (goat gouda, etc.), olives and black tea every day. Sometimes I add tomatoes, cucumber, occasionally grapefuit or orange juice. I love breakfasts, and will give up an extra 15 minutes of sleep to prepare it every morning. Oatmeal for breakfast is foreign to me, my kids think cold cereal is a treat (which was what I thought when I was a kid:))

  28. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Let’s see… weekdays it’s always coffee at home. If I am kicking ass in the morning, I make myself a bowl of cereal OR a bowl of instant oatmeal OR some sort of bread with some sort of spread– peanut butter tends to be the most often used one. I discovered dark chocolate cream cheese and for a while that was my zen breakfast. But then I ran out. Now and then I’ll whip up a smoothie but I think someone lost a part to my blender because it keeps leaking out the bottom. The kids pretty much have the same options I do– cereal, oatmeal, bread with spread. Last week I was moving SO fast in the morning, I fried everyone an egg. If I’m not kicking ass in the morning, I barely manage to swallow down my coffee and throw my oatmeal in my lunch box and have it at work.
    Weekends sometimes involve donuts. We like pancakes too. And they love eggs. But they also like waking up and not waking me up and getting themselves cereal. Weirdos. But then, that pretty much guarantees a second breakfast.

  29. badacademic2 Says:

    i am a hungry grad, a frittata/omlette and a salad.

  30. Donna Freedman Says:

    Usually oatmeal, made with half water and half whey (drained from my homemade yogurt to make it all Greeky) and with some ground flax seed added.
    This usually carries me through until lunchtime. On mornings it doesn’t, I try to make mid-morning snacks healthy: a little yogurt, a hard-cooked egg, an apple.
    Some mornings my sweetheart convinces me to have a small sausage patty, an egg and an English muffin with him. That is, on the mornings he cooks; sometimes he just eats whatever leftovers he can find in the fridge.
    The other day he had a big bowl of leftover chili and three homemade biscuits. Ooof. But that was because he had to be outside in the cold for hours and hours. (“The thing about that much chili is that it’s a long time before you think about being hungry,” he said later.)

  31. EMH Says:

    I like sprouted wheat toast with peanut butter and topped with a chopped banana. I call it my “Heathy Elvis”.

  32. Rosa Says:

    I love breakfasty foods but I can’t face them first thing in the morning, So I usually have a coffee and a bowl of mixed greens, and then a few hours later think about actual food.

    My coffee is half milk, though, so it’s got a whole meal’s worth of calories, fat & protein, I think.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

