RBOChildren

  • I now understand why my parents let my sister tear up my stuff.  If tearing up the receipt that came with DC1′s library books keeps DC2 happily and safely entertained for 20 min, that’s worth the confetti and loss of a “bookmark”.
  • This early potty training is AWESOME.  Seriously guys, I cannot tell you how absolutely cool it is do to this part-time pottying with diapers the rest of the time.  DC2 prefers pooing in the potty and we prefer dumping it out of the potty to cleaning it off hir rear.  It is SO much easier getting started than it was with a 15 month old who had already been diaper-trained.  Just like the book said it would be.  Wish we’d had the book when DC1 was 6 months old.  If you have a baby who can sit-up, get a potty and just try putting your baby on it as soon as ze gets up in the morning (or after a nap).  It is addicting and totally awesome.  (Also saves diapers and lessens the ick factor.)
  • I think we discovered one of the anti-perfectionism tactics that DC1′s first grade teacher used last year.  Last year when DC1 got a problem wrong and we’d ask hir about it when the homework came home, ze would shrug and say, “Yeah, the reason I got that wrong was [this silly reason], I know it’s [correct answer] now.”  This weekend I wanted to discuss a comment hir teacher had left on a math problem, saying that DC1 should have rewritten the (Saxon math) problem and done borrowing, which DC1 had done one of the Singapore math ways in hir head instead (and gotten incorrect).  DC1 said ze had never looked at the homework and never looks at hir returned homework(!)  So ze has had no clue about what ze has gotten wrong or right or why (except on spelling tests, for some reason).  And it isn’t discussed in a growth mindset way, but is treated as a fixed mindset thing– you do the work and it’s done and that’s it.  So I guess we’re going to start going through homeworks to talk about and to demonstrate learning from mistakes.
  • DC2 waves hello and bye bye.  It is SO CUTE!  Update:  and claps!  Update:  first word [older sibling's name]  Ze also sounds like a happy little puppy when ze gets excited.  *pantpantpant*
  • DH said, “It wasn’t so much an accident as an out of potty experience.”  Then he started talking about the pottygeist.  He tried to make a joke about the excretionist, but it failed.  DC2 thought it was hilarious, but who can trust what the potty gallery thinks?
18 Responses to “RBOChildren”

  1. Mrs. Pop @ Planting Our Pennies Says:

    DC2 sounds right up my alley – I’m 30 and still tear pieces of paper up for entertainment. =) If I’m stuck in a restaurant booth and I’m done eating, don’t be surprised if a small pile of napkin confetti starts growing in front of me.

  2. Practical Parsimony Says:

    You might want to check out the BPA that is on receipts. Nope. No pun intend. Seriously, read about the cancer risks and you will never allow either child to handle receipts. If I had been awake more than five minutes, I would look it up for you.

    • Cloud Says:

      FYI: most toxicologists rate BPA as a very low risk thing. Here’s a survey of toxicologists on the risks of various high profile substances, from the Center for Media and Public Affairs: http://www.cmpa.com/pdf/media_monitor_q2_2009.pdf.

      And here is a rant from a toxicologist I know about the misinformation about BPA (among other things): http://snoozical.com/blog/?p=420

      I did some research on my own when I was deciding whether to reuse baby bottles from the first kid with the second kid- BPA had gotten huge in between. I came away thinking “gee, we took a really well-studied and probably harmless chemical out of these bottles and replaced it with things about which we have little data. Great!” And decided to reuse the baby bottles.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      The internet says we are fine, as the library gives dot-matrix receipts, not thermal receipts. As for the science on BPA, we are of the opinion that it’s something to avoid if easy to avoid, but not to get worked up about if it isn’t easy to avoid. The science isn’t there.

      • First Gen American Says:

        Ugh..not BPA again. I work in this industry and the science that led to these conclusions is completely bogus. BPA is extracted from your system within 24 hours and your exposure level in food contact containers is extremely low. Levels are usually in the Parts per Billion. In fact, until recent innovations in detection equipment, it wasn’t even measurable.

        Most of the studies that media cites used extremely high dosages to generate their data..like 1000x or more your normal daily exposure level or injected it directly into rat bloodstreams. Totally different from what humans are exposed to. That’s like saying aspirin is unsafe to use because if you eat a BJs sized pack of 1000 aspirin you may die. Well, duh. Yes, most things at high dosages are not safe but you weigh the risks against the benefits and the entire industry thinks it’s low risk. The only reason anyone in the food packaging industry switched over was fear of losing market share to people who blindly follow the hype like it was gospel.

        Before BPA in food can liners people died every year from botulism from contaminated food cans. Died. I’d say that risk is a lot higher than the risks of having food in contact with BPA. That product made a step change in the safety of food preservation unlike anything since the invention of refrigeration. And like the grumpies say, there is over 50 years of data on BPA in food service applications and very little on some of these polyesters being introduced. It amazes me that everyone’s running off and buying them going..the devil I don’t know is better than the one I do. Freakin nuts. If you’re going to switch to anything, switch to glass or stainless. At least there is ample historical data on those products. Shame on this industry for not quashing the hype before it got this far. They mistakenly thought that the data would speak for itself, but overlooked the fact that it’s a much more interesting story to believe BPA causes everything from obesity to infertility and everything in between.

        For the record, I did reuse my BPA containing baby bottles too.

        ok. End rant.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We actually bought glass for DC2, though one of them has since shattered. It did have the benefit that we could run it through the dishwasher to sterilize it.

      • Practical Parsimony Says:

        I have never read or heard one defense of BPA. I would never depend on an industry to do anything but defend their practices. At least you are aware there might be a problem.

  3. oilandgarlic Says:

    My kids like to tear up paper towels or gift wrapping. Good times!

  4. hush Says:

    I’m with you on the awesomeness of early potty training: so much less work, so much less rear-wiping of poo! Love your DH’s sense of humor.

    Thanks for sharing the anti-perfectionism tactic of discussion of mistakes we’ve made. I heard a corollary of that recently – when an adult discusses with a child some mistakes they overcame on the path to learning something, it’s supposed to inspire a growth mindset.

    • becca Says:

      I can haz growth-mindset kid brag pleaz?

      My kid chants a lot. Or ‘sings’- just not very musically. Yesterday he was doing a puzzle and sat there chanting “don’t give up!” really loudly. He is his own cheerleader. Of course, then he begged for help. But he only needed a little bit to get ‘unstuck’.
      (NB: bragging aside, I’m usually 96% sure I’m really screwing up this parenting thing. But this was a glimmer of hope.)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      @hush
      We do that a lot. Although yesterday when I was introducing analogies to DC1 (something that I started out bad at but nailed by the time it mattered for the SATs) and ze got them right away, I think that might not have been the lesson ze took away from our little discussion.

      @becca
      What a great song! And kids are pretty resilient. :)

  5. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    My parents never once “went through” my homework with me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

