What are we reading?

Sherlock Holmes short stories (free! on kindle)

The Indiscreet Letter, (also free! on kindle)

Goblin Tales series by Jim C. Hines. Here’s an omnibus.  Oh, but the omnibus doesn’t include the short stories that #1 was actually reading… hm… that’s available on amazon.

Mort. by Terry Pratchett

Sourcery, also by Terry Pratchett

(both of us have read these Discworld novels multiple times!  #1’s current project is to read these in order for the first time. :)  )

Bossypants (I think I was the last person in the world to have not read this yet. Or, if YOU are the last person, read it!)

Saga, volume 1, by Brian Vaughan — amazing! Please read it!

Freakangels vol 1 — interesting. I will read some more in this series and see how it goes.

Darkbeast — this is a YA book but I think adults might even get MORE out of it. Highly recommended. Do check this out.

Skylark — dystopia and magic

The Immortality Engine. Third in a series, and I love it!

Grumpeteers, got anything we should add to our lists?  (Like we need more!)

Also, courtesy of CPP’s request, here’s some shots of our bookshelves (only a partial shot, of course).

070a

bookshelves 001

36 Responses to “What are we reading?”

  1. plantingourpennies Says:

    I read the Death of Bees this weekend – highly recommend it!

  2. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    There’s room for a lot more books on those shelves. Just sayin’.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I put in extra shelves in my cases not very long ago. :)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Some of the room on my shelves is because we are currently reorganizing everything… #1 didn’t post the photo of my huge piles of books. :-)

    • darchole Says:

      I was going to say, only stacked 1 book deep? Mine are stacked 2-3 deep, on 7 bookcases (DH has another 2 bookcases, which is all that will fit in the room they are in).

      Hines has a recent post about reading that series to his kid, which is pretty interesting.

      Right now I’m between new books, so I’m rereading Aaron Allston’s Doc Sidhe series.

  3. Emily @ evolvingPFe Says:

    OMG you’re reading my friend’s book! Meagan Spooner!

  4. Melody Says:

    Got a pingback on your link to my Indiscreet Letter post — how are you liking it? (I, obviously, think it’s delightful.)

  5. Cloud Says:

    I am reading Spook Country by William Gibson. I always enjoy Gibson but had fallen behind on his latest series.

    I just finished a graphic novel called Giants Beware! which was a lot of fun. It is aimed at kids. I bought it wondering if my almost 6 year old would like it, but she said it looked scary. It isn’t scary. Maybe she’ll want to read it when she is a bit older. It is about a girl who wants to be a giant slayer and sets out to kill the local giant with the help of her brother (who wants to be a chef) and best friend (who wants to be a princess).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      DC1 is currently engrossed in two series from the library. The first is Ghosthunters by Cornelia Funke. It’s so adorable… ze was reading in our Great room (ze had moved a chair from the kitchen) and we asked why and ze said the introduction said to make sure you weren’t reading in a small space because the book was so scary. So ze was following instructions.

      The second is a series called Animorphs by K. A. Applegate. I think it was published in the 1990s. It seems to be about an alien invasion and people being able to turn into animals.

      ETA: And how could I forget Cam Jansen? Ze is almost out of those, and there are a lot of them at the library.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      p.s. You gonna post a shot of your bookcase(s)?

      • Cloud Says:

        Yeah, I’ll try to do it tomorrow. Since we’re space constrained, though, I’ve been buying exclusively digital, so mostly only old books, things my husband has bought, and things that were gifts on our shelves.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        A lot of my newer stuff and #2’s partner’s stuff is digital as well. (#2 is anti-Kindle. My partner has mostly been doing audible lately.)

        Terry Pratchett doesn’t translate well to my kindle– it’s a PITA to get to the footnotes. Perhaps someday I will upgrade.

  6. Linda Says:

    Last week I read David Liss’ latest novel The Twelfth Enchantment. It was not his usual historical fiction as it included magic and fairies (although not in a mystical sort of way). It was highly enjoyable.

    I’m currently DEVOURING Neal Stephenson’s newest novel Reamde. As usual for Stephenson, it is massive (around 1000 pages for the print version) but it is so engrossing for me that I have completed all but the last 2 1/2 chapters even thought I only started reading it Friday night. Let me tell you, it was hard to get any work done yesterday!

    I’ve been having great public library ebook mojo lately, and I’m enjoying it while I have it. Usually, I have to add my name to a long wait list for a recent ebook, which means it takes many months to get it. But these two books were available immediately. (!!!) I’m going to keep borrowing books while I can, although I also bought Barbara Kingsolver’s Flight Behavior on a $1.99 Nook ebook special last week, too. And I read a couple chapters of the updated Your Money or Your Life a few weeks ago. I’ll get back to it after the lure of escapist fiction is satisfied for a bit.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      mmm books

      I thought YMoYL was a good bathroom reading book.

    • Rumpus Says:

      I’m leery of trying another Stephenson book. I absolutely loved Snow Crash, was mildly interested in both Zodiac and Crytonomicon, found Quicksilver interesting only because of Newton & such, and was very underwhelmed by The Diamond Age (though now that I know it was written in 1995 it’s a touch more whelming). I’m not sure why I found Snow Crash to be interesting/novel and all of his other work less so, but I don’t want to keep getting his books and finding them unengaging.

      However, in researching this reply, I discovered CLANG, Stephenson’s kickstarter for revolutionizing sword fighting video games. That’s pretty cool. I’ve always thought that swordfighting in video games was lackluster. And he’s got a cool beard going there… He should totally get together with Patrick Rothfuss and Jim Butcher. I don’t know if Rothfuss does swordplay, but he geeked out over meeting someone who worked on Planescape Torment (seriously, who wouldn’t?), and is a contributing writer on the Kickstarter for a new Torment game (which I found out about while writing this reply) so I think he’s got the video game cred…and he’s definitely got both the beard and the awesome books.

      • Rumpus Says:

        Oh, and Jim Butcher is a fencer, amongst his other martial arts experience, http://old.jim-butcher.com/jim/ so he’s got the swordplay background.

      • Linda Says:

        I guess it’s good that Stephenson has some range in his writing because it sounds like your favorites and mine are not quite the same. I loved Snow Crash and Cryptonomicon, found Diamond Age and Zodiac pretty good, and just could not get into the Baroque Cycle books at all. Despite going to an author event a few years where I purchased a copy of Anathem and had it signed, I still haven’t cracked that book. But I was completely engaged with Reamde. So much so that my commitment to *reading the book all the time* made such an impression on my guy that he’s thinking he should try reading it, too. (And he rarely reads fiction.) If you’re on the fence, why not check it out from your local library to see if you like it? That’s pretty low commitment.

        There is a MMRPG that plays an important part in this book, but I wouldn’t say swordplay is featured in any way. There is a lot about guns and gunmanship, though. (I also thought it was kind of interesting how slight and softer-speaking Stephenson was when I saw him in person, since so many of his characters are larger than life badasses.)

        Oh, and I finished the book Tuesday night. Considering that I downloaded it from my library Friday night and barely read a chapter before bedtime, and had to work full days on Monday and Tuesday, I think I broke a personal record finishing that massive book in such a short time.

  7. oilandgarlic Says:

    Loved Bossypants! Inspired a post with a peek inside my mind:…http://oilandgarlic.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/random-thoughts-on-the-worklife-juggle/

  8. femmefrugality Says:

    I’m in the middle of Jefferson (his complete writings as published by the Library of Congress.) So dense, and I’m a slow reader, but so incredibly engrossing.

  9. JaneB Says:

    If you like graphic novels, have you read any of the Finder books yet? Carla Speed McNeil. Wonderful!

  10. Virginia Says:

    I always enjoy your book and anime suggestions. I know there are two of you but I am so jealous of how much you get to read. It makes me think I need to get better at managing my time.

  11. raluca Says:

    wow, i can see your terry prattchet area. Yours is bigger than mine :).

  12. Mutant Supermodel Says:

    Mmmmmm books. I wanna visit your house and bring a sack or two :D
    You know I just wrapped up volume one of the Belgariad. I’ waiting on volume two and am writing instead of reading at the moment.
    I loved Bossypants. I wanted to have dinner with Tina after that book.

  13. Revanche Says:

    Can I hang out with your Terry Pratchetts? I just picked up Thud!, Soul Magic, and a few others from the library but their collection is sad. Or makes me sad.

    Also would like to read Bossypants. EVERYTHING Brian K. Vaughn makes my heart sing.

    Our bookshelves (really, mine) just got expanded by one whole other one so I’m finally undoing the stacked-four-to-a-shelf thing.

  14. Sharing is caring: Dogs and problemsolving edition Says:

    [...] more on books and reading from @grumpyrumblings. I think my renewed library addiction will be the death of me. I’m reading every Terry Pratchett I can get my hands on and clocking in nearly a book a night. Good bye, sleep. [...]

  15. Leslie Beslie (@lintacious) Says:

    I read Mort last month! That and Witches Abroad are the only Discworld books I’ve read so far. They’re both fine. I still want to read others, maybe in one of the other branches, and hopefully I’ll be more excited about those.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Well, if you didn’t like Witches Abroad or Mort, you probably won’t like the others any better. See if you like Guards! Guards! and if you don’t like that, you’re lost to Terry Pratchett and might as well not try the rest.

  16. Bookshelves Says:

    [...] that being said, there are books piled in places in my home. And since Comradde and Nicole and Maggie showed us theirs, I’ll show them mine in all their chaotic [...]

  17. Bookish things | a windycitygal's Weblog Says:

    [...] of the blogs I read have been participating in a “show us your bookcases” meme. Grumpy rumblings, Mutant Supermodel, and Wandering Scientist have given a peek at their bookcases. I’m [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

