How much do sponsored guest posts pay?

We don’t actually know the answer to this question, but we’re super curious.

We get lots of offers for “free” guest posts from sketchy places, but we always delete them.  We’re guessing that “free” is less than many of these places are willing to pay for some exposure.

Save spend splurge mentioned the other day that she’d be making a lot more money if she accepted sponsored posts, and we’ve noticed that PF bloggers who post that they are making mint from the blogging tend to have bizarrely boring guest posts with links to random places. We’re guessing that’s connected, even though only a few bloggers actually put (sponsored) someplace in the title.

We did a little of the googling, and found this article from being reese discussing the question and another from babble that interviewed several bloggers about what they charge.

We’re not asking for us, of course. Our friend, um, Steve, he wants to know.

19 Responses to “How much do sponsored guest posts pay?”

  1. Practical Parsimony Says:

    I was offered and took $175 for a button on the side bar of my blog. I checked it often, but it often did not work. I even called attention to it several times during the year so the guy would get some attention from my readers.

    Oooh, I my blog ranked 3/10. I have never done anything to increase my rank, not one thing.

    One blogger asked me to write a guest post. She offered nothing, but since she had a much larger readership and had been a blogger for a long time, I was just thrilled to be asked in my first year of blogging.

    I thought those people offering to write guest posts for my blog wanted me to pay them.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Hm, $175 for a nonfunctioning link sounds good to us…. hm…

      • Practical Parsimony Says:

        I checked around and was told it was an excellent rate, so I took it. The button functioned for about 8 months, then it just did not. I notified the person who then sent me a fix, and finally, the year was over. The link was not offensive to me or my sensibilities, and was actually a good site.

  2. Mrs PoP @ Planting Our Pennies Says:

    We briefly considered accepting them. And at a PR 3, the rate we negotiated was around $150 per post. But when it came down to it, it felt like the authenticity of our blog’s voice was worth more than that to us so we ended up deciding against it.

    As a side note – the formula on Being Reese doesn’t seem to make much sense. Why would you divide by PR? The higher your PR, the more “google juice” the site on the other end of your link is getting, so the more beneficial it would be to the sponsor. Surely that should command greater cost, not less.

  3. Cloud Says:

    I’ve never been offered anywhere near enough money to tempt me to put a sponsored post up- as you say, most people write wanting to “provide me content for free!” I did get one offer to write a post about cars for $15. I told them no. The subject makes no sense for my blog, and a good blog post usually takes me about an hour to write. I make far, far more than $15 an hour! I might be tempted if an offer came in for more money and on a relevant topic. A couple of the big blogs I follow have done a decent job of doing sponsored posts without losing their voice, so I think it can be done.

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Why do people want to offer to pay you to let them write a guest post? I don’t get it.

  5. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Every time I run a guest post (pretty much always from friends) I get a bunch of emails from “people” who are really companies offering to write me guest posts. In general, they aren’t closely enough related to my general topics to bother, even if I didn’t have a no-ads-no-sponsors-no-affiliates policy on my personal blog. If a writer or blogger I’d heard of or knew offered to write a guest post, I’d probably take that person up on it, but no money would change hands.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah, that whole corporations-as-people thing is gross. And spammy “sponsorships” are awful. They have to be relevant. And also not evil. Which is a tricky combo….

  6. chacha1 Says:

    I’ve submitted a couple of unpaid guest posts when invited to (open calls from a couple of sites I was reading regularly). I have never run a guest post on my own blog. Mine is 100% non-monetized so I didn’t see the point of agreeing to put up something that might not be up to my own standards of blather. LOL

  7. First Gen American Says:

    It’s generally over $100 for a page rank 3 blog. I have done it, not often and only if it’s a link I would use myself. I also rewrite the post completely because the writing never sounds like me and who needs another post on 3 tips to save you money. My goal is to pay for my expenses, although I haven’t been posting much lately because of the move. I actually will be posting something this week. Hurray.

  8. Donna Freedman Says:

    I get offers for guest posts all the time and always reply with, “Thanks, but I do all my own writing.” Because I do.
    One guy wrote back, “I’m totally fine with you putting your own name on it.”
    Well, I’m *not* fine with that.
    Often when I see “This is a guest post” it means “This is a crappily written sponsored post and I’m getting paid so I don’t care if it’s crappily written and/or bores you to tears.”
    It’s not that I don’t accept ads et al. It’s that my name is on the site and if I accept poorly written stuff — even from people I know — it calls my judgment into question. Specifically, it might make visitors wonder how good a writer I could be if I let stuff like that on.
    That’s just the way I handle it. Other people are of course free to do what works for them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

