What are we reading with pleasure and happiness?

Patty in the city: had to interlibrary loan this one. A fun confection.

Discount Armageddon :  Excellent.  My favorites are the mice.

Also excellent is the sequel, Midnight Blue Light Special. Again, mice! (read it.)

Finally got my hands on Gunnerkrigg Court Vol 2.  Well worth it!  And it’s awesome to read through again knowing what I know now… adds new depth and meaning to some of the scenes.  These are such handsome books.  It seems like the first printing had some flaws and wasn’t as nice quality as Vol 1 or Vol 3, but the current batch is lovely (and seems only to be available from amazon).  Aaaannnnd Volume 4, just out now! The art keeps being great.



Reread Daddy Long Legs, caught some of the political commentary hidden in there this time around.

Reread Dear Enemy, picked up all the eugenics I’d missed the first time around… (must not have looked very hard, or have been very young…)

Tempest Rising.  It was ok. (#2 really likes this series)

Nice Girls Don’t [do stuff] vampire books — Enjoyable popcorn!


All Spell Breaks Loose, by Lisa Shearin– finally a conclusion to the series!  As a whole, I think the series should have had a book or two fewer, but the end book went a bit quickly.  A satisfying read.

Gave Candice Hern a second chance (with $2.99 kindle books).  She’s no Georgette Heyer, but I enjoyed  A Proper Companion and A Change of Heart.

#2’s been reading up a storm lately.  Particularly recommended:

The Rook, by Daniel O’Malley. If you like Stross’s Laundry Files books, you’ll like this, and vice versa.

The Killing Moon, by N. K. Jemisin.  Really, really good.  Can’t wait to read the next one. (Update: It was good too!)

ZOMG N. K. Jemisin is such an amazing writer. Read her!

I am Not a Serial Killer by (Dan Wells)

The Battle of Blood and Ink

What have you been reading lately?

17 Responses to “What are we reading with pleasure and happiness?”

  1. Steph Says:

    I finally got started on Song of Fire and Ice last week, and I’m almost done with the second book. Quite enjoyable, decently written, and it reads pretty fast despite the length.

    Prior to that I read an extremely long but well-written fan sequel to a Tamora Pierce series. Fanfiction gets a somewhat deserved bad rap, but this came well-recommended, was written by a talented author, and was as satisfying as a published work.

  2. Linda Says:

    I slogged through 1491 over the past two months. The topic was interesting to me and the book was well-written, but I’ve been struggling to make reading time these days. I get maybe two or three pages read at night and then pass out.

    BUT, I bought The Fault in Our Stars last Friday and blazed through it last weekend. It was only $3.99 in the Kindle store and I had heard it was good so I decided to buy it. Oh, was it ever a great story!! Yes, it is not completely entertaining and escapist and is sad in some parts, but I’m telling everyone I know how great it is and encouraging them to read it. I read a chapter or two Friday night, and quite a few Saturday night/Sunday morning when I woke up at 2:30 AM and couldn’t fall back asleep. I read until 5 AM, finally managed a couple more hours of sleep, and finished the book by 9 AM the next morning as I was downing coffee to get through the day. Wow.

    That Seanen McGuire series looks good. Candace Hern’s A Proper Companion (A Regency Romance) (The Regency Rakes Trilogy)
    is currently available for free through the Kindle store. :-)

  3. chacha1 Says:

    I love “Daddy-Long-Legs.” I must have read that thing 20 times by now.

    I’ve been reading my usual odd assortment of things, most notably two of Ben Aaronovitch’s Rivers of London books. Big fan. Jim C. Hines’ second ex libris book book is on my wish list.

  4. Donna Freedman Says:

    Wow, I remember reading “Dear Enemy” while babysitting. I enjoyed it but I also remember being puzzled.
    I didn’t yet know words like “eugenics,” but I thought her talking about the Jukes and the Kallikaks seemed mean. And I didn’t have the vocabulary to describe some other discomfort that I felt; looking back, I seem to recall that she treated the project like a lark and viewed the children like amusing little pets.
    Now I want to re-read it to see what else I missed.
    I haven’t read Seanan McGuire but I posted this on Facebook after Dana Stabenow put it out there:
    “This author was asked “when” one of her female characters was ‘finally’ going to be raped. Really??? http://seanan-mcguire.livejournal.com/470626.html

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We had that on link-love a while back (stolen from Scalzi)– it’s what I immediately thought of when Steph below mentioned Game of Thrones.

    • rented life Says:

      Oh my god I can’t believe someone asked that. I guess that means anything I write won’t be realistic either. (Seriously, how are people upset about that in sci-fy and fantasy which isn’t realistic anyway?)

    • What Now? Says:

      LOVE Daddy-Long-Legs and Dear Enemy! And yes, the politics escaped me as a child but were quite the eye-opener when I reread them both as an adult. (I actually wrote about this in my dissertation and one of my first published articles. Email me at whatnowblogger-at-yahoo.com if you want a copy of the article!)

  5. J Liedl Says:

    I picked up one of the Candice Hern books for my Kindle – they sound intriguing! I’ve spent the summer reading a lot of cozy mysteries, bits of scifi/fantasy and random romances. Term’s start is coming soon, though, and there goes all of my reading time.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Definitely get the free one! Some of them are better than others, and some are even better than a bad Georgette Heyer, though none are as good as her good stuff (at least so far). Also some of them have SEX.

  6. Sapience Says:

    Seanan McGuire, and N.K. Jemisin have both been in my reading pile of late, though I was focusing on Jemisin’s The Broken Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy) and McGuire through her alter-ego Mira Grant, especially Feed, which is the first zombie novel I’ve ever loved with my whole heart. Also, re-reading John Scalzi’s Old Man’s Warseries because I’m teaching the first one at the moment, but couldn’t stop from going on and reading the rest.

  7. Rumpus Says:

    I’m enjoying Brandon Sanderson’s stuff at the moment. He even has female characters that talk to each other, so it’s realistic if you ignore the magic and thousands of years of slavery or whatever.

    Before that more Iron Druid…the dog is still practically the coolest part, though I like the general premise a lot. It’s something like American Gods, but I find this series a lot more engaging in execution.

  8. delagar Says:

    I just read Neal Gaiman’s new book, Ocean at the End of the Lane. It’s the usual Gaiman, in that you’re not going to get any kind of depth, but it was a lot of fun. And the trio of magic women characters (Crone, Mother, Daughter) were fun.

  9. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I just wrote a post the other day recapping my summer reading. Now I am running off to add a bunch of these to my Goodreads To-Read list.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

