Delurk for us today!

I was poking around on some of our posts from a couple of years ago and noticed that some of our wonderful regular readers then, with regular blogs then, stopped their blogs sometime in 2011 or 2012, and a few of them have disappeared entirely.  (We miss you guys!)

Our blog readership has dramatically increased since those days, yet our regular commenters seem to have diminished in number.  We wonder if some of that might be because we’re established now and people who aren’t yet regulars feel like they’re outsiders and aren’t ready to join.  Our regular commenters are pretty amazing, it is true, and that might be intimidating.

So, in the interest of increasing conversation, we’re declaring this Grumpy Rumblings Delurking Day.

If you’re a reader of ours but not a regular commenter, say hi, and, if you like, tell us a little about yourself.  If that’s intimidating, then tell us what you like about our blog or what you’d like to see more of.  If that seems self-serving on our parts, then just say hi (and we’ll understand)!

If the problem is thinking up a screen name, we recommend choosing a type of cat.  Here’s a list, though you may of course choose something else.

There’s no captcha code, so delurk now!

135 Responses to “Delurk for us today!”

  1. moom Says:

    I have commented now and then. I’m an economics professor in Australia who also spent a lot of time studying and working in the US. I like this blog because it covers both personal finance and academia. I have two blogs. The personal finance/investing one is here:

    http://moominhouse.blogspot.com

    I have posted less on this blog over time as I also have a professional blog which I’m more interested in devoting time to and I’m thinking less about personal finance and investing than I was a few years ago when I started the blog. Largely, I’m just using this as intrahousehold communication on the state of our finances. There are a lot of numbers on the blog. I have been wondering whether to close the blog down on reaching a million Dollars net worth. We are now just at one million Australian Dollars. So, I’m not sure. I’m feeling more uneasy about posting the numbers as they get bigger.

  2. First Gen American Says:

    Saw this book at Newbury comics and thought of you.
    http://www.amazon.com/Grumpy-Cat-A-Book/dp/1452126577/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1378286250&sr=1-1

    I blog less because my son is sleeping through the night now and that’s when most of my posts were written…at like 4am.

  3. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    I lurk every day but only comment occasionally! Sometimes it’s too early to think of something intelligent to say =/

  4. Jinx Says:

    I’m pretty much a hate reader. But, hey, at least I’m giving you page views.

    :back to lurking:

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      H8rs gotta hate, we guess. Reading blogs we hate isn’t something we spend our time doing, other than the occasional click off a blogroll, but if that’s what you enjoy, more power to you.

  5. myscientificlife Says:

    I also lurk a lot but often don’t comment. I’m a PhD student in Evolution and Animal Behavior living (and from) the Midwest. I’ve been pretty crappy about it recently, but I hope to blog (and comment) more soon!

    PS I like the financial stuff. I don’t hear or think about it much in my biology filled world!

  6. Amanda@LadyScientist Says:

    I’m a postdoc in biochem/molecular biology. I blog (very) sporadically, because I find that I don’t always have something constructive to say. I think I’ve commented here a couple of times and will try to do that more.

    I like reading about a different perspective of academia because I read (mostly) life science type blogs, the personal finance topics, and the economics post (I’m particularly interested in the latter, but I don’t have time to learn about it… yet).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Commenting more is a great idea. :)

      I tend not to have energy to do economics posts during the school year, unless I turn comments off, but economics is definitely cool (IMHO). Any personal finance topics you’d like to see hit?

  7. mineralphys Says:

    I read your blog and occasionally leave a comment. I like reading about people’s experiences in academia. My own blog is : http://mineralphys.blogspot.com/

  8. Ewan Says:

    Sort-of* t-t asst prof, neuroscience; I think probably very occasional commenter. Trying to work out what to do with the rest of my life, in both the with-tenure and without-tenure cases..

    [*Overly complex: this academic year off the track, to permit more grant applications prior to mandatory evaluation point. 'Went up' three years ago now as per hiring agreement but that's been ignored and file has been sitting since then; the year-off-track is at the strong urging of my dean and will likely end immediately if one of the big federal grants hits.]

  9. calee Says:

    I read blogs on my phone. Commenting doesn’t really happen.

  10. Sapience Says:

    I’ve commented a few times (twice? maybe three times) but I became a regular reader a few months ago. I’m a Post-Doc at Georgia Tech (teaching all the Engineers how to write), and I blog very sporadically over at http://reformingauthorship.wordpress.com.

  11. Chelsea Says:

    I comment now and then. I’m a statistician married to a guy who is finishing his PhD in computer science. He is in the process of looking at and applying for teaching-oriented tenure track positions to start next academic year. I like your blog because I’m trying to get some insight into what life is like entering into the wild wild west of academia. Also, we have a 9-month-old and plan to have some other kids so I’m interested in the parenting/ work-life balance thing.

  12. Thisbe Says:

    I bet I’ve commented ten times, though I am a chronic drive-by commenter throughout the whole internet. I have a doctorate in a professional field, I have a partner who is an academic. I like the grump… by which I think I mean the forthrightness. Also being a regular reader of y’all’s blog got me to take way more of an interest in personal finance, for which thank you very much.

  13. oilandgarlic Says:

    I often comment but thought I would add my thoughts to this topic. I remember being a bit intimidated when I first commented. I don’t really remember why, but i felt that you and commenters could be very blunt. Now I’m over my fear and am ok with agreeing to disgree, although I think I agree with you 99% of the time.

    Also, reading blogs on mobile phones is reducing my comment/participation overall. I read tons of blogs on my phone and it’s too much of a hassle to comment. Unfortunately, I think this is true for many and I wonder if many bloggers stop doing it because they don’t feel like they’re getting a response.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re totally scary. Boo! Part of my graduate school training was in bluntness (we scare other social scientists) and playing devil’s advocate. #2 doesn’t have that excuse– she’s just snarky. Adorably so, though.

  14. EMH Says:

    I check in almost every day but rarely leave a comment. I found your site via Get Rich Slowly so the personal finance stuff is what made me click on your links but reading the stories of infertility (I went through that heartache), relationships and your general overall sassiness is what makes me check in all the time. I am not in academia so those posts I usually read and think “thank god/goddess/earth/me that I am not in academia”.

    I very much enjoy your site and always look forward to a new post.

  15. Sunflower Says:

    I’m in my 3rd year of an academic position (1st yr on the t-t) in school psychology. I enjoy reading academic (and related) blogs and read your blog almost everyday (but rarely comment). :)

  16. Edie W Says:

    I’m an academic in a TT position in social sciences. I read regularly but rarely comment unless comments / feedback are specifically requested. :)

  17. Liz Says:

    Long time reader, never really comment. I follow blogs exclusively on my phone through feedly and am mostly too lazy to comment, and kind of prefer my blog reading to be a passive activity.

    That said, your blog is one of my favourites. Nice mix of academia, PF, parenting, and randomness. Enjoy the “deliberately controversial” posts and I really like your link love posts, they always lead me to something new and interesting.

  18. siamese kitty Says:

    i read frequently and i love the budget and mortgage pay down posts. i also like reading about the academic side of things. i think i found this via Wandering Scientist.
    i’m a doctor practicing in a large research university and do clinical research.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Wandering Scientist has a really great set of readers. Glad you wandered over here!

      One of these days I’ll figure out the whole budgeting situation thing. Or we’ll make more money and I can stop thinking about it.

  19. CG Says:

    Can’t remember how I ended up here, but I read almost every day, comment every once in a while when I feel I have something worthwhile to say. I’m on the tt in social science in an urban midwestern research university. I like the parenting and the academia posts, since I do both. I especially like the idea espoused by your blog that one can do both and not be filled with existential angst all the time.

  20. MutantSupermodel Says:

    All these people commenting are uber smart. CRAZY

  21. Allyson Says:

    I just started this fall on the tt in biology, grew up in the Midwest and now live on the plains (ish). I’ve followed the blog for awhile now and really appreciate the parenting and academic posts. Need the pf posts with changing life situations. Don’t often comment because I’m blazing through blogs during lunch and often looking at things weeks late.

  22. Emily @ evolvingPF Says:

    I read all your posts but rarely surf over to contribute in the comments section. I enjoy your perspective(s) as researchers a few years ahead of me. Although I don’t plan to pursue academia (or even a postdoc), there is a possibility my husband will go that route.

  23. KeAnne Says:

    I’m a new reader. I found you first via a comment you left at Stirrup Queens but also some other rabbit hole that I can’t remember. I play w/ data at an extension program that’s part of a large university in NC. My undergrad is in English and graduate degree is in library science and while I sometimes wonder how I ended up here, I find my skills are more applicable than it may seem at first. Yay, humanities! I enjoy reading you b/c I like to read smart, occasionally grumpy blogs.

  24. L Says:

    Lurker here :) But I promised myself that this year I would comment on the blogs I follow regularly at least in reply to the “delurker” posts. I’ve been following your blog for a couple of years now and like your mix of topics. Especially the academic life ones (I’m a postdoc), links and book reviews. Just got Discount Armageddon in from the library last night and stayed up a little too late reading…

  25. Norwegian Forest Cat Says:

    I’m also a perpetual lurker. I’m a late stage PhD student in genetics/molecular biology in the Midwest, and I find myself wandering the blogosphere while I’m contemplating what I want to do when I grow up/if I ever want to grow up. And whether I want to be a rock star mom-scientist someday or a rock star one or the other (or neither). I have no idea which blog pointed me in this direction, but I found myself returning because I really enjoy the content on here!

    P.S. Thanks for the cat breed as name suggestions. I think mine is right up my alley…

  26. Ana Says:

    Not a lurker, really. I can relate to the parenting stuff, somewhat the academia stuff, and definitely the grumpiness.
    I mostly comfortable commenting here now, but I do remember being a bit intimidated initially—especially related to the PF stuff since that whole world is new to me. I’ve discovered some great PF blogs recently (and some…not so great…), and learning a lot that I wish I’d known sooner through that, so thanks for that!
    I also enjoy the grumpiness, the honesty, and the absence of tearing others down.
    I am fascinated by how clicking through comments or blog rolls can introduce you to an entire untapped world of blogs…imagine how many amazing blogs may be out there that I’ve NEVER heard of and likely never will? Its like trying to imagine all the planets and stars in the universe…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I know on that last point! I recently had that exact same thought when I discovered your blogroll. What other communities are there out there that I will never know about?

      We rarely but occasionally get quasi-gentlemen with inferiority complexes as regards their reproductive parts come on and make sexist comments… we do tend to tear them down. And occasionally someone will hit one of our pet peeves and we get all snarky. So not a complete absence of tearing of downs, though we try to limit it to tearing down ideas rather than people, unless it’s a loser being a sexist jackhat.

  27. Green Tea Says:

    I am an academic in a TT position in social sciences. I think one of you might be in my field, or they at least overlap, because of some of your wording. I’m a total lurker.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Well, one of us is definitely an economist. The other social scientist is a complete mystery!

      • Green Tea Says:

        I am definitely an economist as well. I thought I detected a kindred soul. I’m in a b-school, in the south, with mostly older male coworkers. I have appreciated your all’s (see, not a native of the south) perspectives on the issues that arise in these environments– subtle (and not-so-subtle) sexism and racism.

  28. becca Says:

    Not exactly a lurker, as I have far too low a threshold for unleashing my snark, and “deliberately controversial” posts tend to *seem* like a good place to snark at the time. Sorry!
    I am not an academic, but there have been a broad and delightful mix of Good Things I have come to from reading this blog. Am now reading my first Scalzi novel, and was wondering why it took so long.

  29. ali Says:

    total lurker. assoc prof in biology at midwest r1. not sure how i found the blog, but i enjoy it.

  30. Jennifer Says:

    Ive commented a few times but read evry day. Love the blog!

    Im an economist on the tenure track in the midwest who has been infatuated with pf since I was 10. Im part of the crazy free-market group so I only disagree with you a little on the econ views :)

  31. C Says:

    Mostly lurker (I think I’ve only commented once or twice). I generally don’t comment more because I don’t have my own blog, and I feel like I “miss the boat” because I don’t generally see posts in the hours after they’re posted and by the time I get to them… also I’m sort of shy. Even (especially?) on the Internet!

    For demographic purposes, I’m in my 2nd year on the t-t at a religiously-affiliated SLAC, humanities field. I’ve been reading academic blogs since I discovered them when I was thinking about graduate school-back in the day!- but I’ve gravitated towards other humanities people. I think I found you through Historiann? Though I’m not 100% sure on that.

  32. Ree Says:

    Regular reader but hardly ever comment here or on other blogs. I like to be anonymous because I don’t want my comments to be part of my online identity and because I have a thin skin. And wading into comments, even on a site with a generally positive bent, can be intimidating. It’s also so hard to get the tone correct. When one blogger lashed out at me in the comments section for something I wrote that I thought was supporting her post (she later apologized for misreading the comment), it felt like I had fought with a friend.

  33. grumpyscholar Says:

    hello grumpies! I’m a tt asst prof in religious studies with a degree focused on area studies, working in a lovely department at a private university in the mountain time zone. I love your blog for all the wonderful financial, family, and career information – but most of all I love it for the laugh-out-loud funny Google searches and your answers. thanks for the invitation to comment!

  34. Cleo Says:

    Hi from a regular reader in Canada. I’m an English prof. on the west coast. I particularly like when you two write about teaching, department politics, feminism, and parenting in the academe. Keep up the great work!

  35. Virginia Says:

    I’ve been reading this blog since 2011 but I don’t leave a lot of comments. I probably found you through a PF link but I also enjoy other topics you discuss. I’ve learned a lot about the patriarchy from you. I also enjoy your book and anime suggestions. I’m an engineer and a total nerd.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Man, you should totally comment more.

      Do you have anime suggestions yourself? Ever since netflix made it so I can’t review stalk my favorite reviewers, I’ve been at a loss for new series to watch. Netflix has nowhere near as good suggestions as my favorite reviewers did.

      One of us has also learned a lot about the patriarchy since starting the blog.

      • Rumpus Says:

        Netflix does a really good job of predicting what rating I will give a show. Therefore it must be pure shortsightedness that causes it to routinely suggest two-star shows. I know there are three- and four-star shows out there because I stumble on them sometimes. I assume Netflix doesn’t recommend them because they cost more.

  36. Name Under Development Says:

    I’m a lurker who does not have my own blog and rarely comments anywhere. I work at a rural community college in the Midwest in an academic staff position. Until recently I was an academic advisor but was promoted to the head of the department a few months ago. I don’t remember how I stumbled on to your blog, but the mix of topics keeps me around. Before I went into advising I taught developmental reading, so this blog is a great change of pace. The personal finance information is sometimes useful in my job–financial literacy is one of the topics we must address with the students my department serves. Thanks for being here!

  37. Inchoate Ph.D. Says:

    Regular reader and longtime lurker here. I’m on my third year on the tenure-track (humanities, teaching-focused university) and while I can justify reading awesome blog posts by people such as yourselves while gobbling down lunch, I rarely have the brain space or time to write a clever response. That is undoubtedly why my own blog has hibernated for the past year, but I have high hopes of getting back to it soon.

    Your blog is one of my favorites not only for the tales of academia, midwestern-isms (I miss those now that I’m a transplant!), and generally awesome social and financial commentary, but also because it gives me hope that other academics with PCOS have managed to have offspring and survive the experience with personal and professional lives in tact. Maybe I’ll manage to pull that off myself one day.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Responses don’t have to be clever. And it’s amazing how much we know about PCOS that we didn’t know 20 or even 10 years ago. Of the infertility diagnoses to get, it’s a pretty good one. Even if metformin makes me throw up.

  38. Adele Says:

    I’m a lurker who’s been reading for a few months. I’m a physics student in Australia, thinking of maybe going into academia so mostly reading for that. The teaching-focused posts are really interesting for me!

  39. proflikesubstance Says:

    I’m here for the academic group therapy.

  40. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    More than occasional reader; very occasional commenter. I’m a full-time contingent faculty member on a multi-year contract; teaching almost exclusively various versions of a junior-level writing-in-the-disciplines class. I enjoy all the topics, but have been probably returning here a bit more frequently lately in part because I’m trying to get my finances in better order after a recent substantial raise.

  41. Jackie Says:

    I have read every day since I started my TT job and wrote in frantically once when I didn’t know who to turn to about a faculty issue. I am still learning how I want to approach this academic life and I deeply value strong female role models to help me navigate the way. Your blog has helped me feel sane in the midst of bewildering circumstances and also grateful for having a job in academia. That is a hard balance to achieve in faculty blogs and I thank you for it!

  42. Ltg Says:

    I have been following your blog more than a year, never commented. I am a long time Ph.D. student. during this time, I moved away from my university to be with my husband, had two kids, and recently cleaned up a lot of cancer cells from my body. Trying to decide whether I should abandon all these years of work or not (your sunk cost entries were very relevant) as I am afraid of stress bringing it back. Especially because I know I have zero chance in academia. Anyway, like your posts on academia, kids and books. Not as much interested in PF.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re glad you were able to clean out those cancer cells.

      And yeah, sunk costs are important. How much time/effort etc. is left to get the degree vs. what’s the benefit of getting it. Though even having the framework to think about it doesn’t mean it’s an easy decision.

      • Rumpus Says:

        In grad school I knew one person who never stressed out, so apparently it is possible. Outside of the university I know a lot of people who never stress out, but they tend to be happy with jobs that aren’t going anywhere.

      • Rumpus Says:

        I meant to add that many people have recommended that even tenure track faculty distance themselves from their jobs enough that they don’t stress out.

  43. Rare and random Says:

    I almost never comment. I like your style :-)
    From Vilnius, Lithuania. Back to lurking.

  44. undinenotofgeneralinterest Says:

    I’m a reader but not exactly a lurker–just checking in.

  45. librarianinprogress Says:

    I’m a lurker on all the blogs I read, I’m not really into commenting online. (I also realized when I went to post this that I don’t comment because it forces me to log in and link to the wordpress blog I started and never used, whoops).

    I’m a tt academic librarian and I’m into personal finance blogs, which I think I how I found you :) I’m a new reader, and still a new librarian so I stuck around for all the insights into academia. I also am in a long distance relationship with another academic-type, so those posts have been really helpful.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      You don’t have to link if you don’t want to. We <3 librarians! And we've been in LDRs ourselves (especially #2, boy was that a hellaciously long time apart!) so we feel your pain.

      • librarianinprogress Says:

        One of these days maybe I’ll figure out how to unlink wordpress and my email address, but for now it doesn’t seem so terrible. Thanks!

  46. kaycookie Says:

    Relatively long time lurker. Love(d) personal finance blogs, but not interested in most of them lately – see stale. Except yours. And occasionally GRS. Love parenting and academic stuff. I did a PhD in EE while having two kids and mostly working on it at night. Took a couple years off (and had 3rd kiddo) while my husband finished his postdoc in science. He is now starting a TT position and surprisingly, I am teaching a class, too, and loving it. So, like 3/4 SAHM, 1/4 academic. The chair really wants me to be full time once the kids grow up a bit. We’ll see … I hated research, but if I can just do teaching and service, I will be happy.

  47. Tirzah Says:

    I lurk more than I comment on most blogs I read.

    Anyway, I like the book recommendations (The Rook was the best I’ve read in a while! Thanks!) and the finance stuff and the academic stuff and the family stuff and definitely the ranting stuff.

    I’m a just-barely-full-time nontraditional student with a couple semesters left on my bachelor’s and then planning to go on to grad school in accounting, which you may recall having played a part in answering some of my questions on that one. <3

  48. Belle Says:

    Delurking, again. 3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 birds, history prof at SLAC. Rediscovering the joys of traveling, as long as I can do it in comfort.

  49. SP Says:

    I’m not a lurker, but I have to say that i comment less because of reading on a mobile, or iPad. I think this is common.

    I recently left a comment (I think?) on why I like your blog. If I didn’t it is because:
    -you have a practical and pragmatic midwestern point of view, so I like to read and self-validate, since that is often my viewpoint as well :)
    -Sensible person raising kids sensibly (or a least portraying it as such!)
    -Glimpse into the mind of an academic (my husband is one, but different area)
    -discussions on dual careers, work – life balance, feminist views, ets.

    The personal finance stuff is actually of least interest to me, and that is my original interest!

  50. jesinalbuquerque Says:

    Delurking here, though I don’t have much to say. I enjoy your blog. I like the mix of topics, that’s how I think: obsessed by one topic today and maybe tomorrow, then another. Is that ADHD? At any rate, I’ll keep coming back.

  51. Patti Says:

    I pop over occasionally, following your link when you comment at Get Rich Slowly. Always appreciate your comments there especially as the content there is less compelling than it used to be. I work for an academic association, so I work with academics (some very grumpy ones, and some not-so-grumpy ones) but am not one myself, so I feel like I am a Super Lurker. East Coaster, non parent, self-improver/tv-watcher not necessarily in that order.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We really miss Donna Freedman and Robert Brokamp!

      Thanks for delurking. :)

      • Patti Says:

        I KNOW! ME TOO! Sometimes I read Donna other places including her own blog and am glad she is in such a Happy Place. Its also nice to see what JD is up to. I read Mr Money Moustache for his sassiness and overall framing of pf. But I’ve tackled my debt issues, am now a saver, so a lot of the basics are a bit boring.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We kind of don’t care what JD is up to anymore– the post-mid-life crisis JD isn’t particularly interesting to us (and all his soul searching seems to be doing the opposite of making him actually happy). He’s a nice guy, but… not someone we want to take life advice from.

        And the whole hypocritical judgmental stuff from MMM was seriously bugging us, plus his deleting and changing any comment that even politely disagreed with him made reading the comments section incredibly boring. (Though he gets points for finally selling the huge house– if you’re going to be judgmental about eco-footprints, you should at least live the life and not just the parts of the life that you find attractive.)

        Perhaps we are horrible people.

        Yes, totally love DF and are so happy she’s with a nice guy living a nice life.

      • Patti Says:

        With JD, maybe its that I’ve been through my own divorce, and that I am rooting for him. Could be, I’m a sucker. With MMM, I don’t comment there so wasn’t aware of his issues. Actually now that I think about it, I still read GRS comments, but rarely MMM comments. There was someone too religious and rah-rah for my taste who commented there and I just stopped. Reading MMM drilled home some important ideas about commuting which had a big impact on me reframing my financial situation and not owning a car. Some cities are very easy to be car free, some not. I felt bad I wasn’t getting a car when i moved. MMM made me stop feeling bad about that, and now I don’t ever really feel bad about opting out of spending money on things that others do. What I have noticed though is that there are a lot of male-owned and written PF sites. I’ve had a hard time becoming a regular reader of female-owned and centered PF sites. I like Manisha Thakor, but she doesn’t do content/narrative. I get the Create Worth emails, but you know, meh, too high heels and lipstick-y. I’m not into corporate female empowerment marketing.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        It’s not the divorce so much as the irresponsible Portlandia-style search for meaning instead actually doing things that are meaningful. He seems to need emotional highs that prove empty. That whole World Domination Summit mentality. A lot of these guys seem to be seduced by the cult thrill and don’t understand why it’s followed by emptiness.

        We really enjoyed MMM’s earlier stuff– read through his blog from beginning to end. There’s definitely an increase in negative judging of people for not doing everything his way (which is annoying when he say, is living in an enormous house but yells at people for driving to work… who has the larger environmental footprint?)

        Haven’t seen Manisha Thakor. Some of our favorites haven’t been posting as frequently– leightpf, notrustfund, firstgenamerican… We do read club thrifty regularly, and evolvingpf, plantingourpennies, makingsenseofcents.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        And we are horrible judgmental people. But at least we don’t trip our own pet peeves, for the most part… so that’s something, right?

      • Patti Says:

        If you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit next to me. :)

      • lessisenough Says:

        The pf blogger discussion pushed me over the delurking edge. Though I’m not sure if this reply post is going to end up in the right place.

        I ended up here originally because of the comments on GRS. I particularly remember one about impoverished people using lotteries as a savings strategy (not sure if I’m describing that right, it was a while ago) that some commenters just could not get, people who had no idea what they were talking about seemed to be trying to dispute the facts of the research. Stuff like that brought me over here for more info and to see what else there was.

        I check GRS occasionally now but not often. JD’s life was like a soap opera for me for a long time, like a tv show. I started reading his personal blog and GRS at the same time in 2007, when I first started reading blogs, and found the whole thing fascinating, the life of a blogger and how much money he was making (I had no idea you could make money blogging) and just putting your whole life out there. It was so interesting to me, in a weirdly compulsive way, that I had a lot of trouble stopping, even when I didn’t want to be reading anymore. I felt like I was addicted.

        But as you noted, the post-midlife crisis JD is not so interesting. It’s like humor writer Dave Barry, who I thought was really funny and enjoyed reading his stories about his wife and kid and their life, and then there was a tv show about his life and got divorced and married someone he worked with and had a baby and started writing about his wife and kid and their life. But with a new wife and kid. It just felt weird.

        I read through all 500+ comments on GRS about JD’s divorce, there was some fascinating stuff there, I loved seeing the range of opinions on that.

        I think I missed the good part of MMM because every time I try to read anything it just sets my teeth on edge. I’m sure he’s a good person, but the persona he has created drives me nuts. And the comments section is pointless, it’s a whole bunch of people who agree with each other. Who wants to read that. (I liked one commenter on GRS in a discussion of MMM who said they skip the articles and just read the comments, as a way to develop empathy. I thought that was pretty funny.)

        I think I might have commented here once or twice in the past but in general I’m not much of a commenter, mostly because I usually read blogs as a form of procrastination when I should be working and the whole time I’m reading I’m thinking about how I need to stop and go work, so taking the time to comment breaks the illusion that I’m just doing this for a second and am going to to work. Right now, I’m going to work.

        I’ve been reading more lately, I think because this site always has something interesting while some other sites I used to spend a lot of time on (e.g., GRS) are not so good anymore. I like that you mix it up, and that you write what you want, and are not trying to become professional bloggers.

        I love the Google answers and the link love posts. The pf stuff is interesting. The kid stuff I usually skip. The academia stuff is interesting in an anthropological/foreign culture kind of way. (Ah! That is how these people live. Fascinating!)

        Anyway, thanks for inspiring me to delurk.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Great comment! Hope there are many more to come.

        I have a hard time writing about economics during the school year because I spend so much time with it at work. But the concept you’re referring to is in an edited book called Insufficient Funds. I wonder if it’s talked about it in the new book Scarcity or not.

      • lessisenough Says:

        Thanks, I’ll try to comment more. And try to keep them concise, sometimes that’s the hardest part, I could write all day.

        Also thanks for the reference on the lottery thing, I’ll look it up. And I can totally see how you would not want to be blogging about economics when you do that all day for work. But I always like seeing your comments on other blogs, because I feel like your research gives you a different perspective than most people have, and a greater depth of information. So thanks for contributing to the blogosphere in that way too.

  52. bethh Says:

    Delurking a few days late! I read your blog regularly, though I skim over the academia and kid stuff, which is probably about half your content. I like the pf stuff but like some of your commenters above, I pretty much have my act together (in a boring retire-at-65ish kinda way), so I don’t get tons of action items, but I like to keep my hand in.

    My blog-reading in general plummeted madly when Reader went away (I am still bitter). I use Feedly now but for some reason my use patterns are not the same. I blog very lightly but am thinking of moving to WP and overhauling my content to make it more findable, if only for myself.

  53. Jenica W. Chung Says:

    I am seriously behind on my feedly reading that I just saw this now! I read you regularly ever since you commented over on my blog. Delurking now.

  54. Sara G (@sargoshoe) Says:

    Apparently I’m even more behind on my feedly!!

    I’m a postdoc in science and mother of three (third just came 6 weeks ago, hence my delay) and started following you to hear stories of other families (those with or without kids) in academia.

    I also love the money management posts (since I’m horrible at this and instead piss off my loved ones by being ridiculously cheap, except when it comes to early childhood education) and hearing how to manage the challenges of raising a gifted child. I’ll try to comment more :)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Congratulations!

      My parents were ridiculously cheap except when it came to education, and that propelled my sister and me up an economic class. So that can work out. :)

      Yay commenting more!

  55. 2013 in review: A summary from WordPress | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured Says:

    […] Your most commented on post in 2013 was Delurk for us today! […]

  56. What makes a blog post popular? Drama or the hope of redneck jokes? | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured Says:

    […] I think we must have either pretty amazing readers who aren’t attracted to us for Schadenfreude reasons or we must be filling some kind of SEO […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

