Do you ever comment on blog posts without reading the whole thing through?

Just curious…

32 Responses to “Do you ever comment on blog posts without reading the whole thing through?”

  1. First gen american Says:

    no. If a post is too long to read, then is just click off of it.

  2. monsterzero Says:

    tl;dr ;)

    No, I wouldn’t comment until I’d read the whole thing, though I’m usually tempted to skip the other comment threads if they’re really, really long (I’m looking at you Captain Awkward). Which is a dangerous game, really, so I don’t succumb often.

  3. Alyssa Says:

    Sometimes, but I only comment on what I’ve read (and will say if I didn’t read the whole thing). Like monsterzero, I will skip reading all the comments if there are too many (but again, usually will say so if I think it’s important to the context of my comment).

  4. Adam Hagerman Says:

    Personally, I always read the whole thing before commenting. I also only comment on posts that I think are worth commenting on. I guess that’s why I don’t do it much….

    I’m just tired of seeing 40 comments on these three paragraph pieces of crap that some people call writing. I would bet you $100 that most of those comments were from people that didn’t read the whole thing. I mean, it was a piece of crap. How could you honestly get through it?

    I think it has to do with these “networks” of bloggers out there. “Comment on mine and I’ll comment on yours!” Barf. Write something good and then maybe I will.

    I think I’ll end my rant there. Can you tell I have some pent-up anger on the subject? Thanks for letting me express myself!

    • Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

      What’s wrong with belonging to a blogging network?
      I work from home….and it can get boring. I’m glad I have online “friends” to talk to during the day while everyone else is at work. Barf if you must!

      As far as commenting goes, I do comment without reading the whole thing occasionally. Usually when I’m tired because I often comment first thing in the morning before I’m awake. Sometimes if something is too long or too boring I’ll just skip it altogether.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Hm… maybe we should have tagged this deliberately controversial!

      • Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

        It think that topic deserves its own post!

      • Adam Hagerman Says:

        My beef with these networks isn’t based on the friendships that come out of them. I actually think that’s great. It’s with the idea of sending traffic and quality links to people who write stuff that’s unbearable to read. I think that’s a disservice to those out there that are actually searching for that subject matter and end up at that site because it ranks well.

        Will the network help people become better writers? I’d bet in some way that it does. Do I find it odd that most of the comments on their sites are from other bloggers in their niche? You bet. Isn’t the real goal to help others that don’t already know most of this stuff?

        Holly, I’m being honest when I say that I read your blog. I just recently started, but I do. I think you write great articles which start great conversations. You also branch out into another niche (blogging for income) which helps out a lot of people in the network. I guess what I’m trying to say is that my comment wasn’t a dig at you personally.

      • Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

        Oh, I don’t think it was personal. My comment wasn’t personal either! =)

        What I’m saying is that I don’t think that there’s anything inherently wrong with bloggers commenting on each other’s blogs, no matter their intentions. Without some sort of collaboration, I think that the blogging world would be a lonely one. If someone comments on my blog, I try to comment on theirs. To me, it’s kind’ve like stopping by to say “hi” because I can’t really do that in real life. Plus, I really do enjoy reading other people’s blogs, even when we all talk about the same stuff. I tend to have a one track mind so I benefit from reading other people’s perspectives.

        But, I do see your point about giving out links. We used to do “round up posts” like that back in the day. What happens is that people link to you in their “round up” and they want you to link back. Then you just end up linking back and forth with each other every week, regardless of what either of you has written. Anyway, we don’t do round up posts anymore but I do try to link to other blogs when it makes sense.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Hey there, let’s not start something with link love posts!

    • Flavia Says:

      No. If I couldn’t bear to read the whole thing, why would I want to comment?

  5. Ana Says:

    I always read the whole thing—but I don’t always read all the comments (if there are only a handful, I absolutely will read them all before I comment…and sometimes someone HAS already said what I was planning to say, so I refrain from repeating). I also may comment on just one aspect of the post that I found interesting; that may not have been the “point” of the post.
    If you don’t find the post interesting enough to read all the way through, I don’t really see why you’d spend your time commenting.

  6. Cloud Says:

    No, I read the whole thing, and almost always read all the comments before I comment. I’ve been commenting less often these days because I’m not supposed to do so from work, and I do most of my blog reading on my lunch break right now. I also check my feeds during breakfast, so it is the posts that are up early that are most likely to get comments!

  7. KeAnne Says:

    There have been a lot of times I’ve wanted to comment after a certain statement has caught my eye, but I usually wait until I’ve reached the end of the post Sometimes, waiting until the end has prevented me from sticking my foot in my mouth in a major way..

  8. Mados Says:

    No, not if you mean the content of the post, but I rarely read all the comments except if there are just a few of them.

  9. MomWithaDot Says:

    Yes, if I am visiting the blog to return the blog owners’ courtesy.
    No, if the blog is one I choose to visit out of interest.

  10. oilandgarlic Says:

    I may skim sometimes but I skim to the end. I have read comments, usually angry ones, in which the reader obviously didn’t finish reading and often gets worked up over nothing.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      (us too! Don’t tell…)

    • rented life Says:

      I’m the same–sometimes skim, but to the end. If I skimmed, I probably don’t comment because if I’m skimming it’s because I’m less motivated in the first place. I don’t always read comments, it depends on the topic. If I find I frequently skim then I eventually stop reading because either the person writes too much per post or it’s just not enough for me to care.

  11. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Sure! Why the fucke not? If the shitte is too fucken long-winded to get through, but I have an opinion based on what I’ve read so far, then I’ll comment.

  12. Charles@gettingarichlife Says:

    Sometimes the comments are better than the articles.

  13. Jacq Says:

    Yes, I think the price of groceries has highly inflated over the last several years!
    LOL

    It’s probably hard for (some/most) writers / bloggers to re-read their stuff in the way that a reader does before they hit “publish”. More people should read “On Writing” or something similar and basically cut out the boring crap. I’m not sure if it’s the fault of the writer or the reader or a bit of both.

    Sometimes it seems so strange to me that bloggers in general don’t seem interested in the *craft* of writing. It’s partly why I stopped blogging since it seemed to make my other writing deteriorate, likely because I was just phoning it in the last while.

    PS – I start a 2 month work contract on Oct. 7. Overspending problem resolved!

  14. chacha1 Says:

    No, that would be … kind of useless. I comment on posts often without reading all the *comments* but not without reading the complete post itself.

    • Liz Says:

      Oh, and to answer the actual question: I read the full post and try to read the comments (if it’s reasonable – like fewer than 100, if I have the time) before I join the fray. Sometimes reading the comments is a disincentive to put in my own two cents, if the tone gets pissy, unintelligent, off-topic, or nagging/nit-picky. I do the same thing at the grocery store: go in with the idea to buy some ice cream, but then after getting lost among the millions of choices and the constantly re-arranged aisles, I decide to just leave with the experience rather than participating.

    • Revanche Says:

      I felt the gist of the popsci thing was: people are stupid and bringing down our science buzz. Which is true when you read the comments on most of the more newsy outlets. ;)

      But more mindful comments would be good if only not to derail or waste time on completely unrelated matters (due to reading say, half, and missing the rest of the points).

  15. Cipriano Says:

    Yes, I do.
    Like for instance, with this blog-posting, I am already replying and I had only read the word “just”!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

