Literary Link love

Mysterias notes that a few bad apples do not make a home.  Most people are decent, even if they’re not necessarily as vocal as those who aren’t.

Twanzphobic with Little Mr. Misogynist.  I “fixed” our copy of “Little Miss Bossy” and am considering just recycling the lot.

Ombailamos with a related rant from someone else.

Mike the Mad Biologist asks why we have to put up with sexist harassing jackholes when there are plenty of people to replace them.  That’s asking the right question.

Historiann reviews Raising Henry.

Very sad that Suzanne Bianchi is dead.  I think I saw her speak a few years ago.

Why we love long novels.

Science mani-monday.  Science accidental art.

Where did windy city gal put that blog?

Excelsior Bev’s grandkid continues to be objectively adorable.

Delegar discusses the dangers of living female in a fundamentalist area.

12 Responses to “Literary Link love”

  1. OMDG Says:

    Just want to say, thank you for being so outspoken on the MiM blog. I’m sorry I can’t join in right now because, a) I get the sense my perspective is not appreciated on that site, and b) I’m applying to residency right now, so I’m trying to keep a lower internet profile. I am SO TIRED of the narrative that you are a selfish woman if you don’t pour 100% of your time and energy into raising your kids. I love my daughter dearly, but I also love what I do. She’s doing great with our current arrangement, and I don’t see why I should have to sacrifice any of it at this point. I’m also tired of the “I’m sooooo busy” and the “I feel soooooo guilty all the time” narratives that are so popular these days. Why can’t we say that we are busy but happy? Or that we like the work-life balance we have, which (in my case) happens to involve working 60 hours per week and spending time with my kid in the evenings and on weekends. Or that we are proud of our own career achievements as well as the achievements of our children. I sometimes feel like this perspective is effectively silenced, even on what is supposed to be a progressive, pro-working woman blog like MiM, and it’s really quite disheartening. It’s so sad to me that it’s become taboo to call oneself a feminist.

    Anyway, sorry for the really long comment — I would have written an email instead, but I couldn’t find one on your blog. Have a great weekend!

  2. Historiann Says:

    Thanks for the link. Rachel Adams (the book’s author) left a comment on that post today. (SPOILER ALERT: she liked my review.)

  3. Mysteristas Says:

    Thanks so much for the link!

  4. Linda Says:

    Not only did I find my blog, I published another post yesterday with photos from my trip to Scotland. Two of the photos are of me on horses I rode. Whee! Horsies! :-D

  5. delagar Says:

    Thanks for the link, N&M!

  6. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Delagar’s post was absolutely horrifying. How people can do shitte like that to their own children is incomprehensible. The gross moral failure and extreme hypocrisy is staggering.

  7. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Wow, I hadn’t seen that Suzanne Bianchi died. I literally consult Changing Rhythms of American Family Life at least once per week. I never got to interview her. I’d asked, but never got through — not sure if she’d been ill for a while. I read one of her journal articles a few years ago and it was one of her statistics on the reality of how mothers and children spend their time that was the initial insight that led me to write 168 Hours. Wow. I should write about this…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

