Read these! Read these!

What have we been reading lately (that we loved)? Click the titles to see the descriptions on amazon.

The Incrementalists, by Steven Brust and Skyler White.  It reminds me of Kage Baker’s Company series, and of Charles Stross, and both of those are good things.  Not that wonderful on representations of women, but worth it nonetheless.

The Unquiet Bones: The First Chronicle of Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon. Looked interesting from the description, and I already like the Father Cadfael series.  I’m glad I started this series, and I’m several books in by now.

The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist.  It’s sweet and somewhat peaceful until it gets darker and darker… Would make for a great discussion of utopia/dystopia.  If you’d like to see a female protagonist over the age of 40, pick this one up!  Passes the Bechdel test.

Married with Zombies by Jesse Petersen.  A bickering couple arrives for their couples counseling… to find their therapist gnawing on the previous client.  The initial premise got me, and it turned out to be delightful and surprisingly moving. I will probably read the sequel.

Trial of Flowers by Jay Lake, a cool guy. Strange, wondrous, interesting.

The Lab Rat Chronicles: A Neuroscientist Reveals Life Lessons from the Planet’s Most Successful Mammals by Kelly Lambert — Makes a great gift for whoever likes nonfiction.  Fascinating! After the first few chapters I didn’t expect too much, but I actually learned a lot of cool things.

Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg is amazeballs.  I read it in one sitting, staying up way too late. Read this! It packs an emotional punch but is also funny (especially the parents) and sweet.

#2 has been slowly rereading Georgette Heyers that we’ve already talked about here the first and second time she read through them!  Poor #2.  Maybe she’ll get some brain power back over Christmas break.

What have you been reading lately?

15 Responses to “Read these! Read these!”

  1. Liz Says:

    Bird by Bird (Anne Lamott), Dies the Fire (SM Stirling), Old Man’s War (John Scalzi)… and plenty on the list to be read!

  2. Leah Says:

    Bird by Bird is great :-)

    I’m reading the old goodie of James Herriot stories right now. Any of them are good. I just only own one book, so that’s the one I’m reading. I’m a sucker for strange vet tales. I also just finished Ender’s Game for the millionth time.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      James Herriot reminds me of my grandma. :)

    • Liz Says:

      I finally read Ender’s Game, and then enjoyed making fun of the terrible movie about it. (That’s why we all went, actually – to celebrate my dad’s birthday early at a cinema-cafe, and then rant and rave good-naturedly about the production.) Great book, terrible movie!

  3. delagar Says:

    I’m reading The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes. Strange and cool and a ripping yarn. I was up until three last night because I couldn’t stop reading.

  4. OMDG Says:

    I’m reading then USMLE World step 2 CK Q-bank. Wah wah.

    (The test is this Friday, so I hope to be able to pick up a non-medical book soon.)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That sounds a little scary. Good luck!

      Right now I’m reading very bad final exams. (Or at least, it *seems* like they’re very bad final exams, because the bad ones take FOREVER to grade and the good ones don’t take much time.)

  5. Linda Says:

    I’ve just added the first three to my Wish List. Thanks!

    I’ve been re-reading (for the umpteenth time) the Outlander series. I started the first book before I went to Scotland and have gotten through only the first two so far. I don’t have a lot of time to read.

    I also made time to read the latest Captain Lacey Regency mystery by Ashley Gardner, A Disappearance in Drury Lane. I have this addiction to that series!

    Two nights ago I lucked out and found that Gone Girl was available in ebook format on the Chicago Public Library site, so that’s what I’m reading now. :-)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’ve only read the first Outlander. It was okay.

      Is Gone Girl as great as everyone says it is?

      • Linda Says:

        I was skeptical about Gone Girl, too. I have this automatic aversion to bestsellers, usually, so I don’t just assume I’ll like them. This book sucked me in right away, though. I made extra time to read last night so I could get more into it. :-)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        One of the mommy blogs said that the main character in gone girl acted in ways inconsistent with her character. Lemme see if I can dig that up. (In any case, not something warm and fuzzy for me… Maybe I should get some herriots!)

        http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2013/11/when-people-dont-act-like-themselves/.
        Contains spoilers. Also a post about how the author knows nothing about infertility treatment and stuff, which I would also find jarring.

      • Linda Says:

        Oh, yeah. These characters are NOT warm and fuzzy. I am personally OK with that. On Goodreads one reviewer said something like “the married couple included one person who is a psychopath and another who is a narcissist.”

  6. chacha1 Says:

    I read incessantly (over 170 books this year) but for me the single most noteworthy book of the year was “Wild Delicate Seconds” by Charles Finn. It is published by Oregon State University press but is available on Amazon. Highly recommended for any nature or wildlife lover on your list(s).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

