2013 in review: A summary from WordPress

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 240,000 times in 2013. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 10 days for that many people to see it.

In 2013, there were 252 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 1,091 posts. There were 14 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 4 MB. That’s about a picture per month.  (We should have more pretty pictures!)

The busiest day of the year was June 24th with 1,209 views. The most popular post that day was Expanded ramblings on extreme living.

Attractions in 2013

These are the posts that got the most views in 2013.

Some of your most popular posts were written before 2013.  Your writing has staying power!

How did they find you?

The top referring sites in 2013 were (we love you guys!):

  1. bardiac.blogspot.com
  2. scientopia.org
  3. getrichslowly.org
  4. reassignedtime.wordpress.com
  5. Google Reader

Some visitors came searching, mostly for grumpy rumblings, mr money mustache, nicole and maggie, you know you’re from the south when, and mr money moustache.

Where did they come from?

174 countries in all! Most visitors came from The United States. Canada & The United Kingdom were not far behind.

Who were they?

Your most commented on post in 2013 was Delurk for us today!

These were your 5 most active commenters:

Hm, we should send rented life something as a prize… Suggestions?

18 Responses to “2013 in review: A summary from WordPress”

  1. Chelsea Says:

    I just read the “you know you’re in the south” post and I can’t believe there was no mention of sweet tea.

  2. L Says:

    Admirably succinct! I found you through Donna Freedman’s Surviving and Thriving. I am grateful to her, and to you, for (mostly) meaty content with which to breakfast. Blog On!

  3. Rented life Says:

    Wow it’s weird to be first when I think of how many times I read only! I’ll take some sleep as a prize… Baby rented life was born Dec. 23. We came home on Christmas Day. He’s perfect but I’m biased of course. We eat a lot so not much sleep for me.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      CONGRATULATIONS!

      We can’t give you more sleep though. :(

      #2 suggested letting you pick which charity to send our $61 in Amazon earnings to. Though I could totally send you some baby stuff if there’s anything you need that we have.

      • rented life Says:

        If you want to send to charity, pick an animal shelter/charity of your choice. I wasn’t able to donate in honor of our shelter cat before the holidays like I usually do. And I won’t say no to baby stuff. :) #1, were you told to give your kids Vitamin D supplements? It’s being pushed here but I’m not crazy about it, so I’ve been asking around.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I live in the South so they don’t do vit D here. However, if you’re nursing it is too early to vit D supplement for the baby (there will be a blood test later when the baby is older) and if you are formula feeding the formula has vit D in it. Vit D supplementation used to be automatic for nursing babies in the North but now they understand it better, and it is less common. Make sure you’re still taking a prenatal. If you’re worried, take the baby outside without sunblock for I forget, 5 or 10 min a day. You can look it up online.

        If you want to email us info on your shelter, we can donate to them directly.

  4. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    I’m very excited to be part of the most-viewed post. Wonder what Mr. Money Mustache thinks?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Probably nothing at all. He also seems to have stopped censoring comments on his blog so much–the blog is back to being more interesting. I do think its funny that ppl searching for him account for a lot of our readers.

  5. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    Congrats on a great year! Here’s to keeping it controversial in 2014 =)

  6. scantee Says:

    Damn it! I wish I would have caught the MMM vs. LV post when it was first written. I think that was during a period when I was super busy with work and had no time for blog commenting.

    Anyway, there was a time when I was super drawn to MMM but over time I’ve realized that lifestyle just isn’t for me. The LV way is much more my style and I’ve accepted that.

    I find I can’t read frugality blogs anymore because: 1) the self-righteousness, and, 2) there is really only so much to be said about not spending money.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      His earlier posts are less “my way or you’re a loser,” and the comments sections were more interesting because they included actual discussion of pros and cons. There was a stretch there in which he sounded like a total “complainy-pants” (to use his terminology) and was deleting even the slightest questioning or disagreement in the comments which meant I didn’t click on his blog much because it wasn’t interesting or informative, just whiny and mean-spirited. He seems to be on the upswing a bit.

      But yeah, I don’t particularly want to be a self-employed home-contractor and professional blogger. I like my desk-job.

      In terms of frugality blogs, we still LOVE miser-mom. She’s big-hearted and highly creative. She hasn’t run out of interesting stuff to say yet. She only updates during academic-year breaks (like now!) which is why she isn’t on our blogroll of stuff we read regularly.

  7. OMDG Says:

    I found your post on gifted kids really insightful (started reading after May). Thanks for the re-post!

  8. Shout-out to Rented Life… | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured Says:

    […] in this post, we promised Rented Life a prize for being our most active commenter in 2013.  We declared that we […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

