Last link love before classes start

Have you gotten your flu shot?  And a map!

How cold is it?  Owl know.

Tech privilege.

Nice apology here.

Cloud tells us a way to start making STEM more attractive to women.  (Hint:  the color pink is not involved.)

The good men project.

18 things women shouldn’t have to justify.

#1 says duh.  #2 says but glenn beck IS an idiot and not worse listening to.  It’s not ad hominem if it’s the truth…

When work is too hard, remember.

Yes, tumbrels.

Your home might need this.

In Memoriam Juanita Moore.

6 Responses to “Last link love before classes start”

  1. Leah Says:

    Love the one about tech privilege. It’s a great extension to the recent articles circulating about white privilege.

    I do a STEM outreach thing for my school, and we do struggle to get enough girls in. We’re doing a “Sisters in Science” event soon, but we don’t want to exclude boys — our goal is to bring in women to lead the day. I waffle on all this. I broadly want to encourage kids in science, and I’m not sure if it’s better to show female leaders or do a female club. For the record, in college, I did lead an all-female science club that had only female leaders and mostly did field trips to visit labs run by females. Labs definitely had to have females working there to qualify for a visit.

    Love the one about excuses women don’t have to make. I’m good about many of those (I don’t give an F about makeup — I wear 3x a year or less, and only when I want to, and I make no apologies for that), but I can use a work on a few. The weight thing is so hard.

    Also, I so needed the cartoon about perseverance. Having a procrastination-filled week. I should probably hang this by my desk.

  2. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Fallacy Man’s slippery slope I thought was a perfectly good reductio ad absurdum.

  3. SP Says:

    Good links – I forwarded the lava protection link to my siblings :)

    The tech privilege one was interesting, but I wish everyone would read, absorb, and live by the 18 things no women (or person!) should have to justify. I especially get annoyed by food related ones, which I never noticed until living in california. I still remember one day I was having what i considered to be a normal lunch of a salad, grilled cheese, and a banana for a snack later. My coworker commented that I must have skipped breakfast. Um, no. I was training for a marathon at the time, but I think it was *still* a normal lunch. God, I hate that guy.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Do they do that in Northern CA too? It’s really prevalent in SoCal, but I hadn’t noticed it up North.

      • SP Says:

        So far, kind of. It seems to have at least spread to the youngest of the adult world. It is a little bit more of saying “omg, just eat bread” rather than being food police… but still. But maybe they aren’t from around here and/or it wears off by age 28 or so. One can hope.

  4. I’m through explaining. | Surviving and Thriving Says:

    […] I followed a link at Grumpy Rumblings of the (Formerly) Untenured to a website called Thought Catalog. The article in question is called “18 things women […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

