Link Love

We think W dodged a bullet by getting this job reneged when she tried to negotiate.  Getting that kind of a TT job might be worse than not getting it.  We agree with this comment and also this one.  Plus the number of people referring to W’s requests as “demands” is sickening.  That’s what happens when women ask, and it shouldn’t.  And here’s one from another woman in philosophy.

So how are you supposed to negotiate if you’re stuck being female?

God Damn it Texas.  WTF is wrong with you?

Stacking pennies notes that women’s week in finance shouldn’t be all about the babeez.

I like this way of understanding how interest works.  It really illustrates how debt can drag you down and keep you from spending to your potential.

I kinda want to read this book

we can’t use happiness surveys to make across group comparisons, only within group

I think my brain just exploded.   It’s apparently “News of the academic Weird” week on the internets

“The failure mode of clever is asshole” –Scalzi

Donna Freedman asks about your minor celebrity moment.

Some of our readers are interested in self-employment and aging

Am I the only one totally squee-ing about Clarice and Joshua?  #2 doesn’t read it so she has no idea what I’m talking about.  I sure hope it works out.  I think it will.  They’ll figure it out.  That’s what falling in love really is, at least the way I see it (YMMV).

11 Responses to “Link Love”

  1. Jackie Says:

    Great list!

  2. JaneB Says:

    I’m “squee”ing too, and crossing appendages that it works out – they’re so cute together, and I love how ordinary he is on the outside…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I know, right?!? And I love how they fell in love through talking about their interests as friends first. I’m sure that that whole BDSM thing is going to work out and it’s going to work out in a way that isn’t deus ex machina. It’s such a big part of her personality, but not the only part. Danielle Corsetto is such a great author. I also love what she’s been doing with the Thea and Mimi wedding story-arc– they’re so grown-up working out their misunderstandings and different wants and beliefs. It’s really nice to see story-lines that seem both realistic and mature (and I mean in the grown-up sense, though there’s plenty of the other kind of adult too!)

      Update: I think that’s kind of a theme to her work. Talking helps to work things out a lot of the time, even things that seem impossible initially. Not talking things out leads to things not working, usually.

  3. SP Says:

    While I think the PhDs as models is kind of neat, did you check out the rest of that site at all? The whole “West Coast Workwear” section of this store is amazing. I find it hilarious that Dress Pants Sweatpants exist. For the ladies, dress pants yoga pants. And don’t forget your Pinstripe Executive Hoodie! (actually, the hoodie is kind of interesting / maybe cute? I have a thing for hoodies though.)

  4. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    I didn’t wind up doing any of the topics for women’s money week this week either. I thought the topics weren’t going to work for my blog…except the financial arguments against them (staying home, and working part-time).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I have to agree that it really is a bit tiresome that women’s issues = children’s issues and children’s issues = women’s issues.

      Children’s issues = Parent’s issues = Children’s issues.

      Women’s issues = anything dealing with women’s physiology, gender discrimination (and related intersectionality problems), lack of opportunity and other cultural biases… and… I dunno. Maybe this would be a good ask the readers question. What makes an issue a woman’s issue?

      And even with the discrimination etc. issues, that’s only a woman’s issue when you’re talking about how she can navigate through those problems (the “Lean In” part), because changing the environment can be most efficiently done by the people in power (aka white men), which makes fairness and equality really a white man’s issue.

  5. kathleen Says:

    Thanks for the link! :)

  6. Revanche Says:

    I’d just been thinking I needed “fancy” sweatpants. I can hardly convince myself that it’s worth wearing JEANS anymore, forget my fancypants pants.

    Also yes, the number of times the job candidate’s requests were called “demands” had me growling. It’s a negotiation! You’re meant to ask for what you want, and decide in the back and forth if you can meet on the same page somewhere! Ugh.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

