All-new what are we loving (and not loving) to read

Three Parts Dead by Max Gladstone.  Fantastic!  New and interesting magic system.  Passes the Bechdel test.  Reminds me of other books, but only other really good books, and in a good way, too.  Will definitely read the sequel.

Flora Segunda: Being the Magickal Mishaps of a Girl of Spirit, Her Glass-Gazing Sidekick, Two Ominous Butlers (One Blue), a House with Eleven Thousand Rooms, and a Red Dog by Ysabeau S. Wilce — We have read the first and second in this series.  Both of us liked the first, #1 is intrigued by the ending of the second… hm….

Morning Glories, Vol. 1: For a Better Future: Graphic novel series.  Squick warning: extremely violent.  This thing is so messed up, I just can’t even.  I have to keep reading!  I can’t even believe what goes on here. I’m on Volume 4 or 5 by now…

Trilogy starting with The Alchemist of Souls by Anne Lyle.  Yummy. Read the whole thing! A good new author.

Midnight Blue-Light Special by Seanan McGuire.  We both love it. You can’t go wrong with this author or this series!

The Pirate Vortex (Elizabeth Latimer, Pirate Hunter) by Deborah Cannon.  Ok, actually, I didn’t love this.  The premise was great but the writing was Not.  Eminently skippable!

Developing Math Talent, 2e.  Turned out not to actually be about developing math talent, just another book on advocating for your gifted kid.  Not much different than many of the other books about advocating for your gifted kid, though it has two chapters of excruciating detail about all the different tests that you can use on your gifted kid, which might be helpful if you want to test your kid for whatever reason.  Also might be useful if you live near one of the Talent Search places.  Which we don’t.  It does recommend some textbooks and workbooks from the 1980s and 90s that may or may not be useful, but I don’t know.  The only one I had heard of was Challenge Math For the Elementary and Middle School Student (Second Edition) by Zaccaro.  The others are not available direct from Amazon except one which is a very expensive textbook.

 

What are you loving these days?

24 Responses to “All-new what are we loving (and not loving) to read”

  1. plantingourpennies Says:

    Shame about the math talent book. One of the coauthors is the director of C-MITES and that’s a great enrichment program with really challenging activities and projects for the kids to participate in.

  2. Liz Says:

    Thank you for your recommendations of John Scalzi. I’ve loved the Old Man’s War #1 and #2, so far. Also recently… Orphan Master’s Son; The Price of Freedom (a Pirates of the Caribbean book – very well done!); Cutting for Stone.

  3. Cloud Says:

    I’m reading a selection of short sci-fi from African authors (called Afro SF) and it is pretty awesome.

    Also- Crossed Genres (which is an awesome diverse sci-fi magazine and small publisher) just reached full funding on a kickstarter I backed, so I’m psyched they’re funded and psyched to get the anthologies I get as my perk.

  4. delagar Says:

    Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie, up for a Hugo this year, is just so good.

    I also just read The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion, which while not my usual thing, was a lot of fun — an undiagnosed Aspie decides to find a wife.

    And if you’re not reading Saga, by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples, what are you waiting for?

    Cloud — thanks for backing Crossed Genres!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Of COURSE we’re reading Saga, ZOMG every single thing about Lying Cat just breaks my heart. Best work of fiction being done graphically right now. Holy cow. So good. Yes.

      Also, I keep hearing lots and lots about Ancillary Justice but it seems like it might be a brain-thinky book. I’m sure I’ll read it at some point.

  5. Linda Says:

    My reading has really picked up lately because I’m doing intervals (walking/running) on the treadmill about twice a week (in addition to other exercise stuff) and I like to read during that time (well, during the walking parts, at least). Because I’m relying a lot on library e-books, the selection is mixed, though.

    I finally cleared the wait list for Life after Life and loved it. Then I moved on to Mary Reilly (an older book, but it was available) and found it engaging enough. I want to read Valerie Martin’s newest book, The Ghost of the Mary Celeste, but it is constantly checked out and I can only wait list three books at a time, so it will have to go on the wait list after one of the others clears. (Currently on the wait list: What Should We Be Worried About; Philomena; Call the Midwife, book two of three.)

    After Mary Reilly I switched to some non-fiction: Pilgrim’s Wilderness, a book about a crazy patriarchal jerk who settled his family in Alaska, and Behind the Beautiful Forevers about people living in a Mumbai slum. The latter book was less depressing than it sounds by that brief description.

    The reading goddess is now in my favor as I’ve just today found that a Gillian Flynn novel (Sharp Objects) was available through the library and I snatched it right away, AND a couple of your recommendations above that appealed to me are available for a very low cost on Kindle. Yay! :-)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re here to enable your book-love… Life After Life is another one of those that I keep hearing a million things about but haven’t gotten around to yet (like Gillian Flynn). Tell us if Philomena is good, ok?

    • Rosa Says:

      I really liked Behind the Beautiful Forevers. It’s kind of amazingly not depressing, considering. I thought the author showed great respect for her subjects, which is hard to find in that general genre.

  6. Rented life Says:

    I’ve been too tired to focus and retain anything new so I’m rereading Harry Potter. Which is full of “oh, I forgot that this happened!” So that’s fun. Husband, also tired, is only reading one book instead of 3-4. (That’s a big deal.) He is in volume whatever of the full set of Robert Lewis Stevenson books I bought him ages ago.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah, at this point in the semester it’s not time for brain-thinky books. Maybe later…

    • Rosa Says:

      this has been a hard, hard “spring” around here. I’m down to the dregs of the comfort reads, through the Heyers into Jennifer Crusie’s backlist (I’d forgotten how good Crazy For You is!) and through the Pratchetts and Bujold’s into the Liaden novels.

      There was a new Liaden novel at our library, though, and a new-to-me Hambly (the second-to-last Benjamin January book so far, The Shirt on His Back.)

  7. Edith Says:

    I also really liked Three Parts Dead and highly recommend Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells.
    When I’ve read through all my Georgette Heyer books (regencies and others) I usually start in on Mary Stewart’s Nine Coaches Waiting and The Moonspinners. Somehow they seem related even though they are totally different. I guess imagine Talisman Ring transported to the 20th century?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Oooh that sounds like a good recommendation to me! #2 has read Martha Wells but #1 hasn’t. Thanks!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        WHAT????? I had that series in high school, well, technically borrowed it from DH. You totally should have read it then!!! It is soooooo awesome. Also Death of a Necromancer is right up your alley. She’s one of my faves and that City of Bones series is SO very re readable. I can’t believe you have been missing out! Well, I know some more birthday presents you need.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Ugh. Why does the uni library have an abridged version of nine coaches waiting?

  8. darchole Says:

    If you like Midnight Blue Light Special I’d also suggest the Deacon Chalk series by James R. Tuck (who is also a well know tattoo artist) and the Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne.

    What I’m waiting to read are new books in the Alien series by Gini Koch, the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews and the next Dresden Files book by Jim Butcher.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

