Love the links you’re with

Guess who’s been avoiding grading this week?

Historiann already gives at the office

You need this tshirt.

Who has the largest vocabulary in hip-hop? (note: almost no women in there.  I spot Lil’ Kim, Nicki Minaj, and our favs, Salt-n-Pepa)

Early high quality preschool for low income kids results in better long-term health.

What could women buy if we got paid the same as men?  (DON’T read the comments.)

An insightful explanation of Why colleges mishandle sexual assault (thereby betraying the victim even further)

 this speech makes me cry (in a good way)

We continue to love The Little Professor

We’re really liking Bad Advisor’s current string of posts.  Go learn to paint or some sh*t.

Check out this site all the time: LibraryReads.org

Tabloid headlines without the sexism

“I need help. Because I’m F*CKING reading.”

girl historian’s blog is always full of fun finds

wow this cat really loves his spoon

the f-word trap: “I used to say I wasn’t a feminist, but I was in high school and I grew up.”  (#2 has *always* been a feminist.)

there’s a book called the encyclopedia of sushi

Six dating rules you should stop following

Alfred Hitchcock explains MacGuffins

Neil DeGrasse Tyson continues to be hott hott hott

Retire by 40 states that engineers should plan early retirements.  Agree?

I will not follow the herd.

SUV drivers are dickheads (that’s the scientific term) (our SUV-owning readership being notable exceptions, we’re sure)

Double standards

this page just makes me want to get even MORE books

12 Responses to “Love the links you’re with”

  1. Laura Vanderkam (@lvanderkam) Says:

    Uh oh. I drive an SUV. It was a sop to my ego vs. driving a minivan.

    After being cut off a few too many times driving on the California freeway during a trip, I thought about making a list of horrible moves by Prius drivers — driving by people who love the planet, but not their fellow humans who inhabit it…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      On the California freeway, I never had much problem with Prius drivers. They stuck to the carpool lane. The SUV drivers were the biggest jerks in my experience.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I’ve never had any problems with Prius drivers either, not in CA, or the east coast or the south. Around here the problem drivers are the BMW and the people with the really really big trucks.

    • chacha1 Says:

      I live in Los Angeles and I hate Prius drivers. :-) They seem to assume that “2 cars per stop” applies at EVERY FRICKIN’ STOP SIGN and not just at freeway on-ramps.

  2. Zenmoo Says:

    I’d say driving an SUV in New York is quite a different personality indicator to say, driving an SUV in New Zealand (where we have one for the ski field roads, boggy paddocks & earthquake damaged roads but in Australia for pure city driving we had a Honda Jazz). In NZ, the crazy drivers are often in Subarus.

  3. Zenmoo Says:

    Also, that article on engineers by retiring by 40 is a load of bollocks (at least in my civil/water) field. I’d be sunk without the expertise & history of some of the senior engineers I work with. Possibly there is amid-career low point, where you get stuck in the middle of a lot of crap – but I don’t think that is unique to engineering.

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Gee, how surprising that the author of a blogge called “Retire by 40″ thinks engineers should retire early.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    “I’m F**king reading!”
    LOL oh that was hilarious.
    Good mom. :-)

  6. becca Says:

    Here are the people who need SUVs:
    *Large animal vets in Nevada
    *Nope. That’s it. Really.

    There is OTHER evidence that driving a more expensive vehicle makes you a more dickhead driver (because of entitlement) and also that driving a vehicle with bumper stickers makes you a more dickhead driver (because you take it more personally when you inevitably get cut off, because you’ve personalized your vehicle, they assume).

    So. If you must drive an SUV, classify it as a “want” not a “need”, drive a cheap one, and get over yourself. And beware of those “coexist” bumper stickered Prius people. They’re the worst, except for BMW drivers.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

