RBOQ

Wandering Scientist (aka Cloud) has mentioned that age 7 is questioning age for her daughter.  DC1 is also in on it.  As with Cloud, we’ve had lengthy conversations about race and inequality and gay marriage and so on in the past few months.  Here’s some other random conversation starters.

  • What is gummi bear juice made of?  (Answer:  it is a secret!)  Why do gummi bears bounce?  (Answer:  Gummi berry juice!)  Yeah, but why?  For what purpose?  (Answer:  Um, maybe we should hook you up with some of the cartoon episodes on youtube…) There was a tv show?  (Answer:  Yes, that’s where the song came from.)
  • How much pee do you have?  How could we measure it?  How much water is in the pee?
  • How do people make so many cars?
  • Why do people mostly have multiple [significant others] before they get married?  Why didn’t daddy?  Why didn’t you know what love is until you met daddy?  Why is the type of love you have for your parents different than for daddy?  Is the type of love for us different? How many types of love are there?
  • Why is Boston so big?  Why do people live in cities?  Why is there more stuff in cities?
  • Do you wish you could be daddy?

16 Responses to “RBOQ”

  1. hollyatclubthrifty Says:

    Awwww……that’s so cute! I love those crazy questions! =)

    Lately my five-year-old has been asking things like, “Who made the world?” and Why are we people?” I wish we didn’t have to get so deep all the time!

    I had the gay marriage conversation with her a few months ago when we saw a same-sex couple getting married on TV. She asked “Why are those girls marrying each other?” I said “Sometimes girls marry each other and boys marry each other.” She said “Oh.”

  2. Chelsea Says:

    I think DC1’s questions about love are interesting… I don’t remember having any sense of romantic love until later in elementary school. I do remember being really into diseases at about that age, (“What happens to you if you get small pox? What happens if you get the mumps?”) and would also have been quite interested in the pee question. DH repotedly went through a heavy Greek mythology phase around that time.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      DC1 has always been really interested in love… one of the first questions we remember well was, “Daddy, where did you find mommy?” and it took a little while to realize ze wasn’t talking about how did he know where to pick me up from work the previous day.

  3. Cloud Says:

    To further test my ability to answer all manner of questions in rapid fire format, my 4.5 year old has also start asking more questions. I’ll have to write them down after one of their “gang up on Mommy and ask questions until she cracks” sessions.

  4. becky Says:

    I love these types of questions and statements. I am collecting them in a journal for each kid. My favourite almost 5 year-old observation from this week was “octopuses don’t need to wear hats to protect them from the sun, because they are underwater.” And from the almost 2 year-old “Doggie is crying because his Mommy says, ‘no more milk’.”

  5. Leigh Says:

    These are adorable! Thank you for sharing :) your posts lately have been such a bright spot!

  6. plantingourpennies Says:

    Seriously. What *is* gummi berry juice made of? =)

    On a rough day at work a couple weeks ago, a coworker of mine brought in a bag of gummi bears and I had to track down the gummi bear theme song to show them all when I started singing the theme song. Since they’re all 20+ years my senior, they thought I was insane at first.

  7. Ana Says:

    Hilarious! My 4.5 year old has had some doozies lately, mostly about death, marriage (lots of weddings/engagements recently) body/health stuff (a lot about poop, where it goes, why its brown, etc… I actually can answer those). Sometimes its not just the question, its WHERE and WHEN they pick to ask them (i.e. one about death in the showers at the Y after swimming, the old lady across the way was laughing at my stammering). The little one is definitely in the “why” phase still, too. “Mommy who is that?” I answer. “Why?”

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Man that why stage… somehow with DC1 we always ended up at reproduction no matter how they started out (answer n-1 would be, “because they were born that way”) and I would balk at that point (I am NOT ready to be having a sex talk with a 3 year old!).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

