Link love

We’re both out of town today!  Wooo!  Hopefully this’ll post in our absence.

Once again xykademiqz nails it.

I want to have this problem

I do like songs by MC Frontalot

Medieval POC under more harassment, threats, stalking

Slug solos

onoes

I just took a survey about friendship

20 signs you live with a toddler

chuckle-worthy internet

If you’ve read the second mistborn book, click here for the funniest (spoilers)

I find this amusing, perhaps more than necessary

We wish we’d been with Dr. Virago!

Why poor schools can’t win at standardized testing.

this this this!

Women fare worse at negotiations because people lie to them.

What happened after she reported harassment.

Not fine

gosh I hate gun culture

not sure if that’s a good idea or not

Another answer to the how much should people save for retirement question.  according to this, I think we’re behind

Women in science

Why in attach baby mode chose to leave academia.

hm I don’t think we’re assholes in economics, just blunt

The fuddy duddies still thrive.

8 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Leah Says:

    The retirement chart you linked says “assuming you make contributions of 5% going forward.” I assume you’re making contributions of more than 5%, so you should still be okay.

    According to that chart, we’re only slightly behind, which makes me happy. I only really started saving in earnest in the past two years (thanks, grad school and me being dumb — wish I had invested in Apple back in 2006 when I guy I was dating suggested it). I have my husband to thank for that, as he’s been saving 6 years and got in when the market was low. I should also thank our job, since their good (I think) match has spurred us to invest even more. They match 3%.

    That said, I just calculated, and it looks like I’m saving 25% for retirement. Exciting! I’m also saving at least 25% for savings — hard to say exactly, since I sometimes pull money out of savings to max out my Roth IRA. Glad I have this chance to get caught up. And, as always, thanks again for your blog that pushes me to save and invest.

    • hush Says:

      Their model has a 7% return “pre-retirement.” I think that’s a bit unrealistically high given recent market events in the last 13 years – seems like they’re not really accounting for losses. Even before the ’08 crash something like an 8% return was pretty stellar, net/net. But maybe that’s just me and I’m more bearish/conservative than they are.

  2. inbabyattachmode Says:

    Thanks for the link!

  3. bogart Says:

    That chart is very helpful, and I had actually wanted to ask about this issue (how much one should have saved, by age and income), earlier. Thanks!

  4. Tragic Sandwich Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out!

  5. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    xykademiqz does, indeed, nail it. And I like the rest of the blog, too (since I teach a writing-in-the-disciplines course, often the STEM version, I appreciate blogs in which STEM folks talk in detail about their research/writing processes).

  6. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    That is absolutely f*cken heinous what Medieval POC is experiencing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

