Motivational speaking

Whenever I’m feeling down on my job, #2 reminds me about my alternative option.

You know, the van down by the river?

Where there’s no a/c.  (Or internet!)

And there’s bugs.

And the latrine facilities are outside, with the bugs that aren’t in the van.

And it gets cold in the winter.  And hot in the summer.  And life just sucks in general.

And that is why I need to finish this @#$@# paper.

On a related note: I got nothing.

What gets you  motivated to work when you don’t wanna?

6 Responses to “Motivational speaking”

  1. Mike - Saving Money Today Says:

    What motivates me is my family. I want the freedom to spend time with my kids now while they’re little.

  2. Budgeting in the Fun Stuff Says:

    When I’m not motivated to write, I procrastinate until Saturday night or Sunday. If I haven’t written at least 5 or 6 posts by then, I make myself sit there and type up the remainder within 3 hours. I have no idea why this arbitrary deadline works, but…

    As for motivated with errands or other stuff, I suck and got nothing for you…sorry…

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    BFS– I need to stop missing my arbitrary deadlines. Once you miss one, you realize they can be missed and everything gets shot to heck.

    Mike– I need to remember during the day that if I work hard at work I won’t need to work at home. The problem is that some of my really long-term projects it isn’t so obvious that I need to work at home to make up for lost daytime work until it is close to the deadline. I should keep in mind that if I want to avoid the van by the river AND spend quality time with my family, not just now but also later, then I need to make the most of my working hours. That is very motivational.

  4. When you whine about your current lack of productivity… | Scientopia Guests' Blog Says:

    […] Sometimes all three, but usually mainly the first. (van down by the river!) Tags: […]

  5. When you whine about your lack of current productivity… « Grumpy rumblings of the untenured Says:

    […] Sometimes all three, but usually mainly the first. (van down by the river!) Tweet, SU, Reddit, Digg, +1:ShareTwitterStumbleUponFacebookRedditDiggEmailLinkedInLike […]

  6. When you whine about your current lack of productivity… | Scientopia's Guest Blog Says:

    […] #2 Sometimes all three, but usually mainly the first. (van down by the river!) […]


Leave a Reply

